We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Taj Mahal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 597 Hotels in New Delhi
Sospel, France
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Impeccable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

One would really have to scrape the dissatisfaction barrel to find something less than complementary about this large, but oddly intimate establishment. Service is exemplary at every level, with an attention to detail and personal consideration of the highest order. Dinner at the Varq restaurant is a must. Extraordinary food and wonderful service, with a very comprehensive wine list.

How many hotels do you know where a very busy breakfast area is still a haven of impeccable, individualized service? This is a really well managed hotel.

My deluxe room was rather small, and the bathroom rather too small to be comfortable, but very well appointed and well maintained. Room servicing was state of the art.

The spa is limited - basically an extended gym, but I had one of the best massages of my life. Chose carefully - and go for a robust deep tissue treatment with one of the gentleman masseurs. I came out of that massage room feeling an inch taller than when I hobbled in - and I slept like a baby for 9 hours straight. Bliss.

The building is a bit of an eyesore from the outside, but once inside it is all style, taste and attentive calm. Screaming kids seemed rather more absent than present. They seem to have this under control. I even saw an Indian waiter ask a couple of negligent parents to calm their obnoxious little raja. Wow.

Laundry service - perfect.

I'm a merciless reviewer about crummy hotels, so a complement from me is hard to extract. If you are looking for style, calm, considerable comfort and world class service, look no further. Plus, I got a very attractive deal.

Internet access was a bit patchy. Otherwise - faultless.

Room Tip: Take a room on the 8th floor for the additional goodies and service. Or go higher for a wonderful vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTMD, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this review, today
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Regards

Satyajeet Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    252
    46
    17
    9
See reviews for
117
191
126
457
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Taj Mansingh has been a Delhi landmark, positioned at the edge of Lutyen's Delhi, surrounded by elegant whitewashed bungalows for civil servants with the Presidential Palace and parliament looming in the distance. The lobby is grand, with inlaid marble, granite fountains, carved screens and a sprawling lobby. The rooms are everything you can expect in a five star, with a choice of views of the garden and the bungalows or the government complex near the Presidential palace. The higher up you go the better the views are.

Breakfast was elaborate and generous with various cuisines that were represented and service was unfailing polite and good. My only grouse is the ridiculousness of having to pay for wifi, and for wifi being limited to one/two connections. It seems to be standard policy at the Taj, but is annoying to travellers. The wifi that is available is also of poor quality

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTMD, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this review, today
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Regards

Satyajeet Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When you think of the Taj Mansingh, you think Colonial design, grand lobby, elegant designs and amazing customer service. There is one more thing that you always notice - loyal customers.

Growing up, when we were in school, Mum and Dad would take us kids to Machan for dinner every Sunday and the highlight used to be the Bulls Eye Sundae and we would have to wait for dessert for that. So when i stayed here for work, abet only for one night, that was the first thing I wanted to order and I did, but it didn't taste the same, maybe i had built it up in my head a bit too much, but I wasn't impressed any more. Again, same as Machan, a different part of growing up, this time in college, revolved around saving a bit of cash for that special date to Ricks and raving about the cocktails then, fortunately that hasn't changed much - the cocktails still are the best around even though the key people obviously have changed. Ricks has the capability to call me back every time I feel like have a having a leisurely drink and reminisce about my college days with what's left of the gang.

Anywho, with that bit of nostalgia out of the way, I can safely say, smaller size of rooms notwithstanding, this is by far one of the best Taj properties I've had the pleasure to stay at. The staff, the décor, the view, the food, the overall experience - there is nothing I can fault.

Room Tip: Ask to be allocated rooms away from the elevators and ask for rooms on higher floors - the view is e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTMD, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this review, today
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

We thank you for the valuable feedback.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi and we look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Regards

Satyajeet Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very good hotel, very cordial staff. I didn't stay at the place but i was there for an International conference. The conference facilities were very good. Tea and snacks wee excellent. Food was good. Good Decor. I feel its a very very nice choice for international conferences.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTMD, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this review, today
Dear Guest,

Greeting from The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback with regards to your visit to the Hotel.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction.

It will be a pleasure to have you at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

Warm regards,

Satyajeet Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The staff were wonderful, I have never come across such pleasant helpful people. The rooms are fabulous, really well appointed,everything perfectly clean and new. The breakfast, buffet, is extensive and caters to all tastes. This has to be one of the best hotels I have ever staed in. The north american hotel industry could learn a tremendous amount from this hotel's management. Absolutely five star.

Room Tip: I can't think that you could find a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTMD, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this review, today
Dear Guest,

Greeting from The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Satyajeet Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It was a most pleasurable stay and i have come to expect this quality from Taj across their properties .... the service levels and attention to detail is exceptional and makes you feel right at home ... this is what makes Taj a exceptional property chain and a MUST visit

My recommendation include
1. Centrally Located in Delhi and makes travel easier
2. Checkin was smooth and efficient
3. Rooms are quite large and extremely clean with all the bells & whistles you expect from a premium property
4. they have 4 extremely good eating options inside the Property and this is a unique opportunity to try quality food. Machan, Varq, House of Ming and Wasabi by Morimoto are all exceeding good places to eat :-) :-) .... Be ready for a culinary delight when you stay here
5. I stayed at Corporate rates and so was assured of great rates ... However the rack rate is quite high from a individual travellers outlook !

Overall a GREAT place and worth every paisa that you spend here :-) :-)

Room Tip: Try for the 5th floor as it gives you a good view of the greenery around
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTMD, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this review, today
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi!

It is really great to know that you liked our hotel so much. I am really thankful to you for expressing your positive sentiments about our hotel.

It will be our pleasure to have you stay with us again.

Kindly do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Regards

Satyajeet Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

One of the finest Indian Hotels.
Well Located for those who wish to see Delhi . Its Taj at its best.
Expert Staff , quiet rooms with best amneties.
Nice food , esp breakfast. Though they take quiet sometime to serve you a la carte , but nevermind ;)

Room Tip: All rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTMD, General Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, responded to this review, today
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your sharing your positive comments on your overall experience at The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

We value your patronage and the entire team at the hotel looks forward to being of continued service to you and welcoming you back to The Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi.

Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance at any time.

Warm Regards,

Satyajeet Krishnan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#10 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotels
The Taj Mahal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Mahal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.