We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly as good as the Taj Mahal Palace in Mumbhai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Mahal Hotel to your Saves list
Taj Mahal Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 635 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nearly as good as the Taj Mahal Palace in Mumbhai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were certainly pampered, excellent service. Only one blip the female concierge did not seem to be be too sympathetic when asked to help us orientate the hotel restaurants. could not fault the food in any of the restaurants. Our bedroom was very spacious and comfortable. It didn't,t quite reach the standard of theTaj Mahal Palace andTower in Mumbhai but it was not far behind.
Situated in a leafy suburb and within walking distance of Khan Market.
The paving slabs around the pool could do with a good clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    306
    56
    20
    9
See reviews for
138
243
140
565
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A lovely, luxurious, sumptuous hotel with very caring and courteous staff. Well placed for exploring the area.
Very comfortable and spacious bedrooms and the added bonus of tea and coffee making facilities.
Excellent extensive buffet breakfast with both the Indian and Chinese restaurants in the hotel being excellent (allbeit quite expensive.) Avoid Rick's Bar, drinks are ridiculously expensive.
Our only critisism of the hotel was that, despite extensive beautiful gardens, there was no outside area created to enjoy a meal, or even a drink.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Although i have usually been critical in most reviews & have spared no one, this property hardly leaves anything for me that doesn't deserve praise.
Taj Mansingh as it is popularly known, is located very close to an underground metro train station as well as the famous Khan Market which is within walking distance of about 5 - 6 mins. So location is definately an advantage.
The security being air tight like a fortress is another plus.

Upon request, i was given a Superior King room with single bed on the 5th floor which had a beautiful & unrestricted view of some historical monuments & lush greenery. I was given a complimentary dessert since i had checked in post dinner. Upon complaining about the freshness of the desert, the F & B Manager was prompt to personally meet me at the room & apologised. Infact they then served me another complimentary dessert the next night which was their super speciality.
To my surprise, i was also provided complimentary packed breakfast upon checkout at 6.30 am so that i could consume the same in my taxi on my way to the airport. They ensured me being a strict vegetarian had nothing going wrong with the packed breakfast in more than sufficient quantity. The quality & taste too was marvelous.

The checkin was not as quick as expected although i had communicated with the hotel staff on phone & email well in advance. The room was rather small as per Taj Group & other premium Delhi hotels standards.
However, do look forward to come back here again in future.

Room Tip: 5th floor & above have the best of view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I like grand hotels and the Taj is such a hotel. One arrives and the whole place has the feel of a well worn item of quality bespoke clothing. Supremely comfortable, well run in and yet timelessly elegant. The service on arrival is very good and well versed, or was when I last arrived. The public areas of the hotel are reasonably grand and the staff very courteous and conscientious. The formal Indian restaurant was good and felt more authentic than much of the Indian buffet cuisine nonsense that is served up at most of the global chains in India and overseas (with apologies for any exceptions and to the experts if I have got this wrong). The grounds are well kept and suitably in keeping with the hotel.

But the rooms..... A disgrace. These must have been renovated 20 years ago. They are functional, clean but not of a standard that is acceptable for the flagship hotel of a major brand in its own capital. I hope this is not representative of the Taj globally but I have experienced exactly the same in Mumbai in the past and this has put me off staying at Taj as a brand. When I compare this to the experience one enjoys at similar "Grand Dames" of Asia such as the Metropol in Hanoi, the Oriental in Bangkok or even the Oberoi at Agra (the latter not strictly comparable), I felt the latter were in a different universe on this not unimportant aspect.

Taj needs to fix this. Otherwise the hotel is good but would not be my first choice in Delhi for this reason.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Taj is Taj, nothing like that in India. Their service is outstanding and you feel really comfortable there. The food there is excellent as well and they care for your well being. I checked in last week for three nights and had a pool-facing 11th floor room. The room was clean and the amenities were all there. The air conditioning was chilling and the new HD LED TV was a pleasure. I would have given an excellent rating, but for the fact that the drain at the faucet was horribly slow. I had failed to alert the hotel crew about it as I was always on a rush in the morning. In fact, I had a similar experience at the Taj in Mumbai as well, and I had said then too that most of the Taj do need something more than a fresh coat of paint. I had food at the restaurant several times, Machchan and also at Varq. Once they served me a dal that had lots and lots of salt, and I couldn't even have a spoon of it. They immediately took that off the bill. At Varq, food is just amazing. They wow you with some fantastic gimmick with some dry ice and stuff like that. YOu got to see it to believe it. Loved it. Nice food, great ambience at Varq.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Taj Mahal Mansingh is just beautiful! the lobby is beautifully decorated and decadent, the service is exceptional from the check-in to the lift assistant and the Butler/Housekeeping staff. The rooms are very modern contemporary, comfortable bed with pillow choice, lovely lounge area and desk. The bathrooms are on the small side but lovely non the less. The view from the hotel room window is stunning, the beauty of the greenery and trees with the Houses of Parliament buildings and India Gate were lovely to wake up to each morning. Varq restaurant is a must! the contemporary Indian food is absolutely delicious and our waiter adjusted some of the menu choice so that we could have a taster of several different dishes. The location of the hotel is great, very close to shopping areas and tourist sights. I look forward to returning to the Taj Mahal Hotel.

Room Tip: we enjoyed the view from our room of the Houses of Parliament buildings, India Gate and Trees and Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have stayed in a couple more Taj hotels, and actually the Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi was a little disappointing. Our main gripe with the hotel is the staff attitude. We understand that working for the Taj group of hotels is cool, but too much attitude is annoying. Staying here is about us, the guests, and not about them!

One of the few locations where we felt that this hotel was about guests being pleased is at the pool. The guys here really tried to make us comfortable, getting us our water, drinks and lunch.

All in all, this is a beautiful hotel and the range of services is really good, but what usually sets the Taj hotels apart from the competition is the staff and how the staff treats the guests. This seems to have gotten lost somehow in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotels
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Mahal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.