We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be ready to be 'Pampered'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Mahal Hotel to your Saves list
Taj Mahal Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Be ready to be 'Pampered'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Although i have usually been critical in most reviews & have spared no one, this property hardly leaves anything for me that doesn't deserve praise.
Taj Mansingh as it is popularly known, is located very close to an underground metro train station as well as the famous Khan Market which is within walking distance of about 5 - 6 mins. So location is definately an advantage.
The security being air tight like a fortress is another plus.

Upon request, i was given a Superior King room with single bed on the 5th floor which had a beautiful & unrestricted view of some historical monuments & lush greenery. I was given a complimentary dessert since i had checked in post dinner. Upon complaining about the freshness of the desert, the F & B Manager was prompt to personally meet me at the room & apologised. Infact they then served me another complimentary dessert the next night which was their super speciality.
To my surprise, i was also provided complimentary packed breakfast upon checkout at 6.30 am so that i could consume the same in my taxi on my way to the airport. They ensured me being a strict vegetarian had nothing going wrong with the packed breakfast in more than sufficient quantity. The quality & taste too was marvelous.

The checkin was not as quick as expected although i had communicated with the hotel staff on phone & email well in advance. The room was rather small as per Taj Group & other premium Delhi hotels standards.
However, do look forward to come back here again in future.

Room Tip: 5th floor & above have the best of view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    263
    47
    18
    9
See reviews for
121
203
132
481
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I like grand hotels and the Taj is such a hotel. One arrives and the whole place has the feel of a well worn item of quality bespoke clothing. Supremely comfortable, well run in and yet timelessly elegant. The service on arrival is very good and well versed, or was when I last arrived. The public areas of the hotel are reasonably grand and the staff very courteous and conscientious. The formal Indian restaurant was good and felt more authentic than much of the Indian buffet cuisine nonsense that is served up at most of the global chains in India and overseas (with apologies for any exceptions and to the experts if I have got this wrong). The grounds are well kept and suitably in keeping with the hotel.

But the rooms..... A disgrace. These must have been renovated 20 years ago. They are functional, clean but not of a standard that is acceptable for the flagship hotel of a major brand in its own capital. I hope this is not representative of the Taj globally but I have experienced exactly the same in Mumbai in the past and this has put me off staying at Taj as a brand. When I compare this to the experience one enjoys at similar "Grand Dames" of Asia such as the Metropol in Hanoi, the Oriental in Bangkok or even the Oberoi at Agra (the latter not strictly comparable), I felt the latter were in a different universe on this not unimportant aspect.

Taj needs to fix this. Otherwise the hotel is good but would not be my first choice in Delhi for this reason.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Taj is Taj, nothing like that in India. Their service is outstanding and you feel really comfortable there. The food there is excellent as well and they care for your well being. I checked in last week for three nights and had a pool-facing 11th floor room. The room was clean and the amenities were all there. The air conditioning was chilling and the new HD LED TV was a pleasure. I would have given an excellent rating, but for the fact that the drain at the faucet was horribly slow. I had failed to alert the hotel crew about it as I was always on a rush in the morning. In fact, I had a similar experience at the Taj in Mumbai as well, and I had said then too that most of the Taj do need something more than a fresh coat of paint. I had food at the restaurant several times, Machchan and also at Varq. Once they served me a dal that had lots and lots of salt, and I couldn't even have a spoon of it. They immediately took that off the bill. At Varq, food is just amazing. They wow you with some fantastic gimmick with some dry ice and stuff like that. YOu got to see it to believe it. Loved it. Nice food, great ambience at Varq.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Taj Mahal Mansingh is just beautiful! the lobby is beautifully decorated and decadent, the service is exceptional from the check-in to the lift assistant and the Butler/Housekeeping staff. The rooms are very modern contemporary, comfortable bed with pillow choice, lovely lounge area and desk. The bathrooms are on the small side but lovely non the less. The view from the hotel room window is stunning, the beauty of the greenery and trees with the Houses of Parliament buildings and India Gate were lovely to wake up to each morning. Varq restaurant is a must! the contemporary Indian food is absolutely delicious and our waiter adjusted some of the menu choice so that we could have a taster of several different dishes. The location of the hotel is great, very close to shopping areas and tourist sights. I look forward to returning to the Taj Mahal Hotel.

Room Tip: we enjoyed the view from our room of the Houses of Parliament buildings, India Gate and Trees and Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have stayed in a couple more Taj hotels, and actually the Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi was a little disappointing. Our main gripe with the hotel is the staff attitude. We understand that working for the Taj group of hotels is cool, but too much attitude is annoying. Staying here is about us, the guests, and not about them!

One of the few locations where we felt that this hotel was about guests being pleased is at the pool. The guys here really tried to make us comfortable, getting us our water, drinks and lunch.

All in all, this is a beautiful hotel and the range of services is really good, but what usually sets the Taj hotels apart from the competition is the staff and how the staff treats the guests. This seems to have gotten lost somehow in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hey i would like to annunciate you guys that tj is the best hotel i ever seen in my whole life. i m just 25 years old and till now i haven't seen this kind of fabulous hotel.
out of box services.
I have booked a room in this hotel in advance and after getting the approval of booking i confirmed bout the checkin dates.We have booked a flight to there and we flew for our destination. After reaching there we have decided to checkin the hotel and then to enjoy the city.
we went to our hotel and then we were surprised to see the beauty of the surrounding.
It was an awesome trip just because of Taj hotel.
Hotel Taj Rocks

Room Tip: Corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love Taj Mansingh. long before ricks existed, machan used to be our favorite hangout. I had my first cold coffee at Machan with my parents- My dad met my mom at Machan- it dates back years and has managed retaining its original charm. I love the Ricks, the restaurants esp wasabi, the house of ming. But besides the great food and the ambiance, taj mansingh has the most classic ambiance, their rooms are plusher than the plushest, the service is fabulous. the staff gives you no time to complain-they are always waiting there, ready to resolve. I stayed here recently for a day on work and couldn't be happier. besides the spot on location- right next to khan market, middle of delhi. it has all the right boxes checked.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#14 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotels
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Mahal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.