We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service 10 out 10” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Taj Mahal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 594 hotels in New Delhi
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Service 10 out 10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

As soon as we landed they had a car at the airport to pick up. When we landed ms Kirti was waiting and ascorted us to our suite on the 8 th floor. Check in less than one minute. Wow. The room was just superb. They had a gift and welcome drink. Two night stay was worth it. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    611
    243
    45
    17
    9
See reviews for
112
183
126
445
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I got in to Indira Gandhi close to midnight on Christmas day. A car from the hotel was waiting. I was whisked away to the property and, after the requisite security checks (that you have to suffer every time you enter any decent hotel in New Delhi, yes every time!), was escorted straight to my Taj Club room.

Everything was quality (even the Christmas cake, chocolates, bottle of Dutch jam ...). Great bathroom. Very comfortable bed. Excellent service. Outstanding breakfast buffet. Exquisite tea service in the Club lounge. And eating in the Varq was quite an experience as well.

Wifi was reliable, though you have to pay extra for it (as you will wherever you stay in India).

This was a delightful stay. Certainly worth a return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My third time to Delhi and first time at Taj mansingh and I regret not staying here on all the previous occasions.
The hospitality and service of the hotel is what makes it worth staying. From door man to security to front desk to concierge, everyone greets you with a genuine smile and helps you out in whatever way possible.
My husband and i spent five days in the hotel and were upgraded to club room. The room is of a very comfortable size with fantastic view of the city and its magnificent trees in all shades of green and red too. The bathroom is slightly small, but the extra toiletries especially the way my personal items were placed on a crisp white mat with three rose petals made up for the size of the bathroom.
The buffet breakfastat machan is a good spread, though the tea needs to be improved as it wasnt strong enough for my taste.
the gym is very well equipped though the music needs to be gym specific, not the one they play at their bar. The salon services are worth a try and reasonable.
A highly recommended hotel to stay, with perfect location and fantastic people helping us round the clock.
special thanks to Lakshay, Promod, Narinder, Surrender, Ajith, Aayush and Bhawna and above all to the GM Mr. Krishnan.

Room Tip: opt for the club room, and do have a evening tea at their coffee shop, you ll love the crockery if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here on business before and eaten in Varq (the Specialist Indian cuisine restaurant) and met friends in Rick's bar when staying in sister hotel the Taj Palace, in Chanakyapuri. So this obviously isn't going to be a bad review as I chose to stay this time. For spotters of Indian politicians it's a must, but the staff never let you feel you're second best. It has a real feel of being at the centre of things, which it is, geographically as well as in terms of it clientele. The public space is striking, the staff well trained and restaurants, pool etc up to the expected standard. The door staff look at you with wonder if you leave the hotel on foot and with pity when you come back a bit bedraggled. Despite a huge amount of affection for the place, it's probably time to freshen up the pool and changing facilities a bit (the Palace shows them up as rather tired) and possibly the rooms are nearing that point to. Ask for one on the North side, looking over the heart of Lutyens Delhi - you'l be amazed at the sheer greenness of it. I wasn't sure how they'd treat the kids. They were great with them. Not quite my favourite hotel in India, but on balance, my favourite in New Delhi.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I recently visited Hotel Taj Mansingh to conduct a training session of 7 hours. Of-course the location was definitely selected after prior review. we decided to conduct the session in one of their banquet halls Diwan-I-Khas.

The hotel took care of the complete setup for us, right from arranging the sound and the visual needs to helping out the delegates with find their way to the training room.

The food was just amazing, though i can go on and on about how the cheese just melted inside the mouth and how delicious and heavenly the dessert was.. But what I would like to do here is really appreciate how they took care of all my needs so I could run the session as smoothly as possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Check in was easy and the rooms were nice, the staff was very helpful and pleasant. It was only a short walk to the market, to find shops and restaurant. One problem we did have was with the internet connection, but when we talked to them at checkout they removed the charge with no hassle. Mid morning there were some loud construction noises that were a bit bothersome, but did not last long. Extra services are over overpriced,I have stayed at much cheaper hotels with newer rooms and offer many of the same extras at half the cost.

Room Tip: Watch out for added fees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and it was really an absolutetly amazing stay. The hotel is very well situated near the Presidential Palace, the Parliament and Indian Gate .
It is magnificent ,extremely well decorated with a magnificent lobby.
The staff can't be better . They are always present and ready to attend any desire you may express.
The rooms and bathrooms are very confortable, spacious and very well appointed.All toiletries you may need are there and if you need something else just ask.
Concierge service is perfect .They organize all my visits in delhi with a hotel car with driver and guide and my car trip to Agra also with a hotel car.
There are several bars and restaurants ,all of very good quality. I especially enjoyed Varq ,an indian gourmet with fabulous Karachi prawns and delicious scallops and Wasabi by Morimoto that i don't think needs any introduction ( evebody knows it ) ,with marvelous sushi and sake and a nice Teppanyaki station.
At the lobby level there is a fantastic shop,Khazana, with many indian products like silver,rugs even clothes .Very good price and very good quality.Don't expect to find the same products cheaper outside the hotel .
A special word for the pool and the pool staff . Very nice pool with crystal clear water with outstanding service.
Price : expensive but really worth it
I'll always stay at this hotel if back to delhi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#10 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
Taj Mahal Hotels
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi
Taj Hotels New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Mahal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.