We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Taj Mahal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 594 hotels in New Delhi
Huddersfield
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“fabulous stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A rather late review, but unfortunately just never got round to writing it earlier.
Stayed in early April of 2012 - myself, partner, my friend and her two adult children at the start of our 2 weeks in India tour to celebrate her 60th birthday.
This was booked for us by our independent travel agent, whom we have used for years and totally trust his judgement. He could not have chosen a better hotel. It was absolutely fabulous from the moment we arrived until our departure 5 days later, only wish we could have stayed for longer - but there is always a next time. We were fortunate to be able to stay on the executive floor where we enjoyed afternoon tea and early evening snacks and cocktails, always served with a smile and nothing was too much trouble. We had three breakfasts in the club lounge and everything we wanted was cooked to order and well served. For the last two mornings we chose to eat in the restaurant from the breakfast buffet, this was also excellent with a great variety of choice.
We ate two evening meals in the hotel and both were of very good value and not too overly priced as I had been led to believe.
One member of our group was not too well one day and the hotel could not do enough for us, they organised the doctor who came within the hour and they even went to collect the prescription for us as well as delivering a bouquet of flowers to the room the following day with a very nice get well message - how thoughtful.
All 5 of us would recommend this hotel and hope it won't be too long before we are able to return, in fact we are looking towards Easter 2014.
Thank you to the Manager and all his staff for making this a most memorable stay. Well done.

Room Tip: Choose an executive room if you are able, for the difference in price it is well worth the extra - a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    611
    243
    45
    17
    9
See reviews for
112
183
126
445
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great place for business, centre of town.
Lovely rooms, and an enjoyable stay.
Good food. Especially the laid out lunches and dinners.
Worth the stay. Again and again.
This is the second time Im coming back here.

Room Tip: All rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

For a Taj sited so centrally in Lutyens Delhi, the Taj Mahal wears its age on its sleeve -- from the lobby to the room and bathroom, you get the feeling of a tiring property. A request for a fruit platter/basket (yes it's no longer de rigueur mebbe because of cost cuts) elicits the same weary set of fruits day-after-day. Also had to make several calls to reach room service for the sole meal I ordered in. Something overall about this Taj that says ``functional yes, grand no.''

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is very close to the India Gate and I understand that it is also where VVIPs come to
stay. My colleagues looked up to me as being fortunate to have stayed in this hotel! The lighting, the aroma and the very rich ambience can easily make one feel the difference when compared to other 5 star hotels. The price charged is proportionately high. I would not have stayed here if it were not a business trip. Despite many guests around, Taj Mahal hotel try to personalize their hospitality and I think that is their USP. They were very courteous to all the people. The room that I got was on the 5th floor and non-smoking area. It was a spacious room with all standard amenities. One day, when the cab that I had booked to take me to Noida did not turn up, the security personnel immediately arranged for a safe private cab which helped me reach my office on time. I appreciate their gesture of finding me a private cab and not insisting me to use the expensive hotel cab. Though the address of this hotel is Mansingh road 1, one needs to enter thru' Motilal Nehru Marg. The first day I went to Mansingh road, but found only the exit gate. I then had to come back, circle around and enter thru' Motilal Nehru Marg. The breakfast was complimentary as part of the package. The spread at the breakfast restaurant was just ok though I expected much more for the amount being charged. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for business, but not for a vacation with family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a top shelf hotel with excellent service, comfortable rooms with lots of amenities, very good restaurants, and high prices. Expect to pay for everything you use (e.g. - Wi-Fi, breakfast).

Located in the wealthiest section of town. If you want to mingle with the rich and famous in Delhi, this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel has a distinct smell (sandalwood probably). The service was as expected and the rooms were cozy. The design is very intricate and somehow feels homy. The staff were nice and i had a restful sleep. Overall, the stay was ok.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvin Village, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Taj twice during a month long trip throughout India, which was organized by Greaves Travel [who are outstanding]. The Taj is centrally located and nicely appointed. We stayed in one of their Club Rooms, which gets you personalized service and use of a room where breakfast is served for floor guests and complimentary drinks are available in the evenings. Service is the Taj's strong point. Simply flawless. The hotel rooms are well appointed but tend to be smaller that one would expect. We recommend this hotel. The only reason it does not merit 5 stars is that the public rooms, while refined, lack pizazz.

Room Tip: Go for a Taj Club Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#10 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
Taj Mahal Hotels
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi
Taj Hotels New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Mahal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.