We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our intro to Taj - our home in India” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Mahal Hotel to your Saves list
Taj Mahal Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Our intro to Taj - our home in India”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Night 1 India and the arrival ans service here was great.
The lady who manages the club floor check in was superb - a real professional and the benchmark for service in TAj - she set the standard high.
The doormen look like well caricatures but were wonderful and I can only say - great hotel
My only regret was not purchasing a printing I saw for sale , I thought no its only night one but it was good and good value
Next time :-)

Room Tip: Club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    260
    47
    18
    9
See reviews for
121
201
132
479
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I and my husband stayed in this hotel for 1 night in Dec 2012. We had booked a Club Room which came with add-on services.The hotel had arranged complimentary limousine pickup from the airport and it was right on time. As soon as we stepped out of the airport, there was a person to receive us and usher us in the car. Needless to say, the ride was comfortable. At the hotel,we were directly guided to our rooms instead of waiting for any check-in formalities. The Club rooms are on a separate floor with its own reception desk and a private lounge. With Club room, you also get a 24 hr butler service which we found to be really good and prompt.
The concierge came to our room to complete check-in formalities and we were offered fresh juice. When the staff got to know that we had just married, they quickly got cake and bouquet.
The room was very clean, nice and pool facing with a beautiful bathroom. Since we arrived late night, they had already completed the turn-down service. We later ordered in-room-dining, and again service was quick. We had ordered North Indian Veg food - which was very good.
Next morning, we had breakfast buffet in the restaurant on the Club Floor itself. The spread was good. The checkout was also very smooth. Overall, we had a very nice experience. The staff is excellent, courteous and considerate. Service is quick and the hotel itself is very beautiful. A must stay for anyone in Delhi.

Room Tip: With such amazing service, Club rooms are definitely worth the premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Very nice hotel good service a place of silence and luxury in the haotic India.
Good breakfast with a lot of choises,very good and helpful staff n the restaurant and lobby.
I was there for the New Year Eve and we have a nice dinner.
the room,the facilities of the hotel,the SPA are all very good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed at the Taj Mahal in Delhi for work in Jan/Feb 2013. The stay was split into two parts due to a whistle stop tour of one of the other states. The first half of the trip were great, the room is clean and very comfortable, the staff are incredibly helpful and the in room dining was great. The restaurants are a little pricey, but the food was fantastic. Gym and Spa access is perfect and means you can fit in your usual work out routine around work hours. Internet connection was also great, if not a little pricey.

The second half of the trip we were upgraded to a suite, this was incredible. I have no complaints whatsoever apart from sustaining an electric shock from the mains plug on the desk, this was possible as much my fault as it was the hotels.

Had a great stay, would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a great hotel to stay it. After a long 14 hour flight from New York to Delhi, the hotel set expectations for the remainder of my trip to Agra, Mumbai, Dubai and Abu Dhabi to quite high. I booked this hotel through AMEX platinum and received a complimentary airport transfer from the airport. If you haven't been to India before, please do this (get an airport transfer), it will take a load of stress of of you. Upon arrival I was greeted by a hotel employee and escorted up to my room. No waiting at a front desk, and they went over all of the paperwork with you in the room The room was a little dated, but good none the less. It had 220V and 110V electric sockets, a comfortable bed, TV, great bathroom, and a safe. My view was good. The hotel lobby is out of a storybook it is so nice.

The hotel restaurants were good, though I only ate at two of them. The concierges were beyond helpful. I will say that arranging for a driver through them was helpful. Delhi is such a large city and I don't think there is a central place to stay to see everything by walking, so wherever you stay, you will likely need to taxi or rickshaw it. The rickshaw drivers are very tiring and they are very on the take from local shops to get you to shop at their stores. While the rates at the hotel for a driver (per hour) may be high by Indian standards, it was still far below what I would normally pay in the US. For me, well worth the money.

The location was good. I happened to be in Delhi on the day of Republic Day, so all streets were closed by the hotel. I could walk around with zero traffic. I was a 10 minute walk to the parade route.

The service was beyond anything I could have asked for. Every employee knew who you were, and the elevator guy even knew what floor you were on before you walked in the elevator. There were a lot of important people staying at the hotel as it was Republic Day weekend, so the hotel may have been extra friendly, but still, it was a great experience. There may be nicer hotels in India in terms of looks, but in terms of service, this has to be hard to beat.

Room Tip: Just stay here - all rooms should be great. I was on the 11th floor overlooking Rajpath and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay here and I absolutely LOVE it. There is not a single thing I can ask the hotel to improve on. Everything from the rooms, to facilities to location to food to service to staff is impeccable. The variety of restaurants and choice at breakfast is perfect. You must also try out the high tea and wide choices of tea. If they don't have what you want then simply ask and the staff will do their best to accommodate. You will be made to feel like a VIP. I really look forward to my next stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Am currently staying at the Taj. Plan to check out tomorrow and move to another hotel. The room allocated to me is not only dated but also very dirty. Taj is not a five star hotel by international standards. Staff at the reception are rude, they discriminate people and quite arrogant. The ' service oriented culture' is just not there. The duty manager could not care less. Upgrades are not always hinired even when promised. The only positive thing about Taj is the location!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#14 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotels
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Mahal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.