We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 Star Service in all aspects!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Mahal Hotel to your Saves list
Taj Mahal Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
LA
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“6 Star Service in all aspects!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel exceeded expectations in all aspects - especially service. I think we paid about $300 a night including breakfast - great value. Location is in the government area of Dehli - security is very tight. They check all cars at the gait and luggage upon check-in.

Check In: Smooth + Efficient up to our room in minutes. Warm greeting from everyone on the way.

Bedroom: Probably about 350 sq. ft - 2 beds and room for a desk, small sitting area. The room has a classic look with darker wood trim, however, the electronics are all updated => lighting, drapes, heat/AC are all controlled from a bedside console. The sheets are comforter were excellent quality. Maid service was really excellent.

Bathroom. Great water pressure and tempurature + super thick towels + ample shampoo, conditioner, soaps etc. Dryer in the drawer by the sink.

Restaurants: We tried the Indian (modern), Japanese and Chinese restaurants - all had fresh, high quality food and great service. Even when we odered only a few options, the chef would always send out extra surprises - many of the dishes were innovative. Breakfast buffet was massive - choices of Indian and American/European foods - you can also order off a menu - whatever you want.

Spa /Gym: Impressive gym/workout area - treadmills, elipticals, weights - the most modern equipment. Had a 90 minute massage at the spa for about $100 - very reasonable compared to NY, LA or European rates and high quality. It had a steam room, hot tub as well.

Concierges: Fantastic service. I had a jacket made by a local tailor (reccomendey by our guide/ not the hotel) and it didn't fit quite right - the Head Concierge (Lakshay Nirule - spelling?) insisted on taking it back to the tailor himself to have corrected - and it wasn't even a store they recommended - really put my mind at ease. Take the concierges' recommendations for shops and restaurants outside the hotel before you venture on your own. The local guides (non-hotel guides) always try to take you to shops/resaurants where they get kickbacks - common in India - but annoying.

Tech Assistance: My I-phone couldn't hook up with the hotel's wifi - the hotel tech guy fixed it in a second - and then gave me free wi-fi for the day because it took a whole 5 mintues to fix.

Hotel Shop: Large selection of Sari's, Artwork, Gifts, Jewelery - at reasonable prices.

Overall: The Taj hotels rock - on par or better than Four Seasons in terms of service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    260
    47
    18
    9
See reviews for
121
201
132
480
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Almost everything about this hotel was perfect. The public areas are beautiful, the rooms very comfortable, and the food excellent. The staff were all friendly, competent and helpful, without overdoing it and becoming obsequious. The food and drinks are expensive, but they are very good quality. The nibbles provided free with drinks in the coffee bar were delicious. We only had one evening meal at the hotel, which was not in one of the standard restaurants, but in the 'club' at the top of the hotel, with a view over the city. We were the only dinner guests there that evening and had a fantastic meal with excellent service - including a fan heater provided when the staff noticed that I was shivering. (We had the misfortune to visit Delhi during the coldest time for 40 years, apparently).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have been to the Taj Mahal in December 2012. Excellent hotel with a good central location in the middle of New Delhi, a walking distance from Khan Market (good restaurants), an amazing service (they brought complementary pop corn and drinks when we asked for movies). We tried one restaurant, Varcq, which was very good despite being extremely spicy. Don't try to book a cab through the hotel (e.g. to go to Agra) as it is extremely expensive compared to what you would get outside the hotel or online. Spa is unisex. The breakfast was lacking a little bit of choice (only three kinds of cheese) and the juices, despite being fresh, didn't had much taste. Finally, rooms are a little bit old. Keep in mind you will be charged a heavy luxury tax on your room price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel locates at the diplomatic area of New Delhi which makes it relatively quiet and peaceful, this is a huge contrast with the other part of the city. It is about five minutes walk away from the Indian Gate, easy to reach other major attractions as well. The hotel room is not large but it provides everything you need with high standards. To us, the highlight is the service, the hotel staffs are professional, considerate, and most important, they will put efforts on even the most trivial details. For example, my girlfriend enjoys the fresh roses petals on the wash stand, i like my messy laptop cords carefully sorted and bundled up. I also visited the hotel gym, again not disappointed by the Taj, brand new equipments and professional and helpful staffs. Regarding the food, the breakfast is excellent, fresh fruits, tasty bakery, and the mixture between the local and continental food is perfect. We also had lunch and dinners at their restaurant, the Indian restaurant is fantastic (i had a separate review for Varq), but the Sushi/Wok and the buffet is just ok. In case we have to travel to New Delhi in future, i will definitely stay at Taj again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahr, Germany
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a Deluxe room with garden view. Everything was fine and clean. Very friendly service all over the place. Breakfast shows a broad variety and is excellent.
We found phoning table neighbors boring, but this is a problem everywhere. Our idea: Maybe introduce silent restaurant areas?!
Internet access (WIFI in room) is very expensive – should definitely be complimentary on this price level! Hotel is located in the government district.

Room Tip: Garden view has a nicer outlook and is most probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I loved the service at this property. Special mention to the lift attendant who remembers the floors at which everyone stays without even asking. It's a mystery how he remembers it all! There was once when the lift I was in was almost full and he managed to correctly press the lift buttons for us all in a flash. He's so efficient, it is almost creepy (in a good way)!

When checking in, we did not even had to wait a the counter to check in! The driver informed the hotel in advance of our arrival and a staff escorted us to our rooms right after we arrived at the property and briefed us about what's available.

We tried the food at the Japanese and Indian restaurants- both were amazing. The breakfast spread is huge- must try! Room was extremely comfortable. The housekeeping staff were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The staff is what makes the Taj a wonderful hotel. I arrived after a 30 hour trip with no luggage, jet lagged and frazzled. The person at reception was on the phone with the airline and the Taj airport rep before I had finished a beer. She harassed those people for two days, even calling on her day off. I got the luggage. And there was my request for a sim card, they even worked on a problem after I checked out, the flowers I ordered, the help with Indian menus and food, and on and on. They made my trip perfect and let me relax from the sensory overload that is India.

Room Tip: A room on the club room floor is a step up from regular rooms and includes admission to the club all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#14 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotels
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Mahal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.