We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oriental luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Taj Mahal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Lahr, Germany
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Oriental luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a Deluxe room with garden view. Everything was fine and clean. Very friendly service all over the place. Breakfast shows a broad variety and is excellent.
We found phoning table neighbors boring, but this is a problem everywhere. Our idea: Maybe introduce silent restaurant areas?!
Internet access (WIFI in room) is very expensive – should definitely be complimentary on this price level! Hotel is located in the government district.

Room Tip: Garden view has a nicer outlook and is most probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    623
    248
    46
    17
    9
See reviews for
115
188
126
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I loved the service at this property. Special mention to the lift attendant who remembers the floors at which everyone stays without even asking. It's a mystery how he remembers it all! There was once when the lift I was in was almost full and he managed to correctly press the lift buttons for us all in a flash. He's so efficient, it is almost creepy (in a good way)!

When checking in, we did not even had to wait a the counter to check in! The driver informed the hotel in advance of our arrival and a staff escorted us to our rooms right after we arrived at the property and briefed us about what's available.

We tried the food at the Japanese and Indian restaurants- both were amazing. The breakfast spread is huge- must try! Room was extremely comfortable. The housekeeping staff were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The staff is what makes the Taj a wonderful hotel. I arrived after a 30 hour trip with no luggage, jet lagged and frazzled. The person at reception was on the phone with the airline and the Taj airport rep before I had finished a beer. She harassed those people for two days, even calling on her day off. I got the luggage. And there was my request for a sim card, they even worked on a problem after I checked out, the flowers I ordered, the help with Indian menus and food, and on and on. They made my trip perfect and let me relax from the sensory overload that is India.

Room Tip: A room on the club room floor is a step up from regular rooms and includes admission to the club all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The location of the hotel is too good which makes it a perfect place to stay in Delhi. It is close to market - Khan Market and must watch places in Delhi - India gate, President House etc. The checkin and the checkout was flawless.The hospitality is top - class.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

As a business traveler, there is hardly very few things to dislike about Taj, Mansingh, Delhi. Overall, though a little dated, it is a very nice hotel which provides its excellent services all the times. Amazing Restaurants will keep on serving you delightful dishes through out the day

What I disliked about the rooms are its decor, dated furniture, worn out carpet. I think the time has come for the Taj Group to take a serious review of one of its trophy assets in India

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

There's a clear difference between being nice and confusing it with excellent service. 95% of the hotels in Dubai, for example fit this description. No so with the Taj. An unbelievably well-trained staff is combined with the traditional bias towards hospitality to make this hotel experience one of the best I've had.

As an example, many hotel restaurants serving breakfast is a mixture of bored staff with tired food amidst sheer chaos. Not at the Taj...no, sir. An attentive waiter noticed that I was trying some spicy Indian food. He smiled and said, "Just wait. I'll be right back." And there my culinary adventure continued for the next ten days. Every day, something unique and pleasing to my palate was prepared.

But what was really amazing wasn't merely that the waiter noticed, but that he communicated the preference not only of the food, where I liked to sit, the fact that I took care of phone calls in the morning, and that I liked really spicy food. And, to take it one step further, his colleagues listened and executed.

One more short anecdote. I travel with my Brompton bicycle (and if you're interested, New Delhi is a great place to cycle in my opinion) and needed batteries for my head lamp. Late one evening, I approached the Concierge desk to ask where I could find a shop that sold batteries. The answer was, "What size and how many? We'll have them sent to your room." Great! Save me a trip.

Like any good morning cyclist, I prepped for it by going to the bar. Of course, the Concierge noticed. Next thing I know, my batteries are hand-delivered to me as I was enjoying a night cap.

And on it goes. The gorgeous doily the housekeeper used for my travel Crucifix; my penchant for French Press coffee (extra coffee showed up); or the fact that my travel toothpaste was almost gone -- yes, a fresh tube magically appeared.

Room service was simply exceptional. I couldn't find the menu -- it was in plain sight, but hey, I'm a guy -- but it didn't matter. The person who took my order listened to what I liked and recommended something not even on the menu (I eventually found it, by the way). Promptly delivered and just as tasty as the Varq, the Indian Fine Dining hotel in the restaurant (which I would highly recommend).

The room itself was spacious, well appointed, and functional, although accessible plugs around the bed would be nice. The bathroom was roomy and the shower water pressure and temperature (very responsive) was excellent. The rooms were mercifully quiet and dark with solid ventilation.

All this was so very impressive. And the level of service never waned for my entire stay. This doesn't even begin to address the great location of the place -- just a quick bike ride to India Gate and other sites -- or the excellent restaurants, or the very capable therapists at the spa, or the invitation to the polo match and high tea.

A delightful experience that indeed has set a very high standard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We recently had two nights at the Taj Mahal Hotel in Delhi and although the hotel itself looks ever so slightly tired all in all it was a wonderful experience.
After an exhausting flight, we arrived at 5am in the morning and whilst check in is not until 2pm the reception staff found us a room to have a rest and shower in until our room was available. When we returned from our days sightseeing they had transferred all out cases to the new room and unpacked for us.
The room was very clean and comfortable, service outstanding and food very good. Breakfast was great and if something was not on the menu the kitchen staff went out of their way to satisfy our requests. We ate one evening in the Chinese restaurant on site "House of Ming" and the food and service was truly exceptional. The second night we were more casual and just had a snack in "Ricks". Again the food and service was great. When we walked in the staff greeted us by name and made sure we were very well looked after.
If I have to pick any gripes is it this: a) charges for WIFI which drives me mad b) the hotel appeared very business oriented with very few non-business people or families staying (but that may just be Delhi). Overall, for a business trip - definitely, for a holiday - a little bit less so, but for the overall experience - it gets my vote any day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#14 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotels
The Taj Mahal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Mahal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.