We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made my India Trip Memorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Taj Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sardar Patel Marg, New Delhi 110021, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Extended Stay Offer
Ranked #8 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Made my India Trip Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

My wife and I stayed for three nights at the hotel. It was a memorable and wonderful stay as we were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary. The hotel is beautiful, and it's so wonderful with the convenience of the pool and is directly in town within walking distance of everything-- shops, restaurants, and a beautiful view. Our golden triangle tour was organized by Classic Taj Tours (classictajtours.com). We had a grand time in New delhi and wouldn't hesitate to return!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    288
    81
    20
    15
See reviews for
140
252
119
512
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

The Taj Palace is a fabulous hotel for visitors and casual diners. As a regular visitor to Delhi, I can without reservation say that Taj has some of the best restaurants in Delhi. Blue Ginger with its fabulous Vietnamese food and service along with the adjoining Blue bar, run very efficiently by Mr. Ashutosh are outstanding new additions. Orient Express (French), Masala Art (Indian), the tea lounge and the coffee shop are all excelent. Infact, Orient Express has consistently delivered some of the best French food in the country for 15-20 years now. The food and service at their banqueting area is outstanding - kudos to Mr. Dilpreet and his team.

Alas, this is where the good news ends. The rooms are very very small (smaller than many budget hotels) and lack character. The decor is outdated. Frankly, I've had much larger bathrooms aboard cruise ships. Some of our traveling party were on the club level. Their room size was the same, although the decor was far more contemporary.

I also had a problem with the house keeping. One afternoon, I returned at 4pm to find that the room had not be made up despite hanging the green rope (their indicator for wanting the room to be made up) at 11am. I called to complain and aked them to do the room at 6:30 when I was to leave the hotel again. Depite switching on the privacy lamp and hanging the red rope (their indicator for do not disturb) before taking a nap, I was disturbed no less than 4 times by house keeping personel knocking on the door. They were going overboard trying to make ammends and landed up irritating me by continously inturupting my nap.

i only wish Taj Palace learns a thing or two about customer service from their restaurant staff or for that matter from their other properties like the Taj Mahal Delhi or the Taj Bombay. In its current state, I would not recommend the hotel to others but I will go out of my way to recomend the restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

I went there as my wife took me to a surprise birthday present, I always wanted to go to a taj and loved being there. Great, neat, india style ambience and rooms, love the pool side and lobby area. Rooms was comfortable and elegant. Nice and neat /clean toilets. Excellent service and hospitality.
they gave me a cake once they got to know its my bday. The cafe Fontana was great place lovely pasta and food..
Be there to experience Taj hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

The Taj Palace hotel ,New Delhi is service epitomised ..The moment you alight out of your car in the porch of this hotel , you are welcomed with folded hands , a traditional Indian welcome mode and then accosted by a series of executives till your room. The handover and takeover of relation executives are as smooth as butter and gives you the confidence that you are in safe hands in this hotel..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Booked this hotel for a business meeting at Delhi. In short the experience was quite nice and left me hopeful for another visit to the hotel.

I have seen lots of 5 star hotels over the course of my career and this one is quite good and lives up to the "Taj" brand name.

There are food for all types of palate, good gym facilities, high class ambience and rooms, combined with a competitive price.

The only thing that can be managed better is the quality of room service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

What could have been an excellent stay was over-shadowed by renovations being conducted close to guest rooms. I needed to work in my room at some times during the day. The constant banging and drilling from the floor below was unacceptable. Staff were too slow to take complaints seriously. Rooms otherwise are excellent. Gym is adequate - not comparable to some other hotels. Club lounge service is adequate and food mediocre. Main area better for food than the "luxury" club lounge. The Taj is a great brand and hopefully post renovation the hotel will get service and noise levels right again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

If you expect friendly service all round the hotel never choose this one! None of your wishes will be fullfilled in proper way. Just relax and wait till your stay will be over.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Address: Sardar Patel Marg, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.