We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, excellent service. will definitely go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Taj Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sardar Patel Marg, New Delhi 110021, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Extended Stay Offer
Ranked #8 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fantastic Hotel, excellent service. will definitely go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

Stayed at the Taj Palace Hotel for a week with my wife and 3 kids. Perhaps one of the best hotels that I have stayed at in all my travels. The rooms were comfortable and the hotel lobby is very impressive. The Taj hotels are known for their service and this hotel is no exception. The service at the restaurants was spectacular. We had the chef stop by every day asking us if the food was good and the waiters were exceptionally attentive.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    290
    81
    20
    15
See reviews for
141
254
119
513
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London/ Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

I stayed at the Taj Palace hotel as part of a tour for two nights- once at the start of my trip and once at the end. The hotel was not quite as grand as the Taj hotels in Mumbai where I live, but it was still very nice. It was very quiet when I was there and both times we were all upgraded to club rooms, which was fantastic. The rooms were very plush with great views- the only thing was that it was so high tech it took me a while to work out how to use the lights and the bath etc!! The private club breakfast room was superb, the business lounge was excellent, the room service excellent and I loved the little touches like being brought chocolate cake and straberries in the afternoon! Also, Molten Brown toiletries... lovely.
The restaurant was fine but better than the food was the service- very friendly.
Recommended for a stopover or business trip in Delhi.

  • Liked — small touches, luxury of the club rooms, friendly service
  • Disliked — slightly lacking in character
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

This has to be one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The room was fantastic, the staff were great. The hotel is spotlessly clean.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

Stayed here for one night only and that was enough.

Strong and overpowering smell of fragrant oil everywhere. Exterior gaudy facade design and old paintwork make it look tired and unappealing. Entrance lobby is good but elevators leading to rooms, gaudy carpets in corridors and tackily painted walls and doors require a major upgrading job and more emphasis on detail. Rooms are no more than 3.5 to 4 star level. Room entrance door and cabinet work is gloomy and need replacement. Colour coordination of furniture, floor carpet, curtains is not to my taste.

Breakfast is okay but not lavish in a bright red floored dining area as if designed by team from 'Changing Rooms' TV programme.

Acceptable place to stay if price was say £100 a night.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — poor quality room furniture and paintwork
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

We stayed at the Taj Palace for 2 nights. This was our first stop on our 11 day tour of India as part of our honeymoon. The hotel is in New Delhi and resides within a residential area. We felt very safe at the hotel, there are guards at the main gate and even security staff at the reception area. We were told that the hotel gets a lot of Government officials staying there.

The lobby is lovely and looks rather impressive with a large Chandelier. The rooms were pretty average and what you would expect from the standard hotel. We felt that the room we stayed in (3rd floor) was a little tired and could do with sprucing up. I am quite allergic and sneezed a lot in our room- my sure sign of dust lurking. They did give us a bunch of red roses and also a cake to congratulate us on our wedding- which was nice.

Service was good and the food in the restaurants was of a good standard- though as is the case in most Indian hotels you pay a lot for such standards.

Overall pleaseant stay- not bad a a stop over hotel.

  • Disliked — The dusty outdated room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

Room Amenities: The hotel has round 100 villa rooms in Portuguese-Goanese design all air conditioned and set in beautifully landscaped gardens. All the villas are elegantly appointed, have international direct dial facility,music, cable TV, Room service and laundry service

Dining: For the foodie there is The Banyan Tree serving Thai and Chinese cuisine; The Beach House for Continental, Indian and Goan cuisine and Caravela the bar.

Hotel Facilities: Other facilities provided by the hotel includes a fitness centre, swimming pool, indoor and outdoor games, travel desk, car rental, shopping arcade, currency exchange, doctor-on-call and baby sitting. Meeting and banquet facilities are also available

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

Took a club room, a very good buy. Newly renovated, beautyfull bathrooms, seperate shaower and tub, shower with rainforrest shower head. All in black marbel. Beds nice , duveets and pillows wonderfull. The butlerservice comes with the room, check in in the room, and fresh juice at arrival. The club lounge ok, free drinks and internet.
The service in the italian restaurant not always that good, but as clubbenefit, you can take breakfast in the lounge. But in the restaurant the service was sometimes grumpy, sometimes very sloppy- and at times very good. The food fine.
The poolarea ok, the beautysalon with good service.
If we hadn't had a club room , we had no reason to come back - but its closer to the airport than some of the others..

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Address: Sardar Patel Marg, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#10 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.