We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top class hotel -customer friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Taj Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sardar Patel Marg, New Delhi 110021, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Extended Stay Offer
Ranked #8 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“top class hotel -customer friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My stay in Taj palace hotel was a last-minute decision due to flight changes, but hotel not only provided accomodation but made sure we are comfortable and trated very well in the restaurants, highly recommended

Room Tip: room overlooking Delhi city-can see large monuments from window, & lights in night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.

Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at Taj Palace and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    289
    81
    20
    15
See reviews for
140
253
119
513
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Excellent location can go to India gate for a morning jog. Beautiful lobby. Service is of Taj standard up to mark. They need to upgrade the swimming pool as it looks a tad bit old. The breakfast spread was good if not great. Can do better there. They have good vietamise restaurant worth a try. Overall up to Taj standard

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your precious time and sharing your feedback in the Trip Advisor. I have noted your kind comments with respect to the location of the hotel, services and our award winning Vietnamese restaurant - Blue Ginger. While I appreciate your kind words the same have been communicated to the team at Taj Palace. For runners/joggers, there are a couple of very interesting walking options from Taj Palace ranging from 5 kms upwards.

I have also noted your less than satisfactory experience with the breakfast spread and the swimming pool and will take necessary corrective steps to improve the same.

Thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and we look forward to your continued visits.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We have had very bad experience with this property. Actually, I am a member of Inner circle since more than 6 years. As per the plan I am supposed to get free one day stay . I booked for 15 th and 16 th August 2014 as I had two vouchers. I requested them to provide the same category room as given last time .But the lady in charge Ms. Khusvinder at Reception was very rude and talking to us like we are beggars and she is doing charity on us. She did not provided the same category and allotted us Room no 442 as per her version it is upgraded one. When we saw the room it was not up to the standard and what to talk about this so called upgraded Deluxe room it is not even worth base category. The room was dirty and seems that it was made ready hurriedly. Immediately We called the reception and requested to change the room. But she did not do the needful and than we left with no other alternative but to check out from the Hotel. This is for the first time in our life that any hotel that too Taj , let their customer go like that. The boys at Reception were ready to upgrade but again Khusvinder telephoned them and instructed not to do the same.. It is also to pertinent to mention that we had up grade vouchers also but they did not accept that and just in front of us another guest was upgraded with the same vouchers.
I strongly recommend not to become Taj Inner circle member and if you are please don' t check in from the lady Receptionist as you might again come across the same kind of lady like Khusvinder and get the same treatment as we faced.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.
I have noted your feedback and having investigating the matter personally, I have found the following:

1. That your reservation was made for a base category room which is a Deluxe room

2. That this room was upgraded by the hotel to a Luxury room but you were reluctant with this upgrade and wanted yet another upgrade to a Taj Club category.

3. An upgrade to a Taj Club category was offered at a special package price where you could have an upgrade to a Taj Club room on paying a token amount, but that was declined by you as you were very clear that you only wanted an upgrade to a Taj Club room on your reservation for a base category

4. It is also pertinent to mention that multiple vouchers cannot be combined with the package deal. In this case you were redeeming your complimentary stay for Epicure membership and hence your upgrade voucher could not be combined with your complimentary room offer already being utilized. This is the standard practice and policy not only with Taj Palace but with most companies worldwide.

Unfortunately, since you insisted on getting a two level upgrade to a Taj Club for a complimentary stay, the hotel could not accommodate that. We are happy in being flexible to accommodate requests, but in this case, it was not possible for our Front Desk to accommodate your request due to the rush for reservations for guests opting for the Independence Day package.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

i have been to Taj specially for the Cup Cakes but unfortunately it was not available but i tried their Pastry and it was so rich with taste and the person who had served it or assist us to try this pastry was well mannered and professional and quality of the pastry was good and fresh. Lobby was nice and clean, ambience was great & splendid!
Will visit again for sure!

Good Luck!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for sparing your time and sharing your feedback in the Trip Advisor. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.

I am delighted to read your appreciation for the Cup cakes which unfortunately was not available when you visited. Also, thank you for your wonderful comments for the Pastry and the mannerisms of the staff. These comments are highly encouraging and have been communicated to all the concerned. All this truly makes our effort worth it.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is a five star hotel in the diplomatic enclave, which is far and away the cleanest and safest part of Delhi for foreign travelers. We got very reasonable rates for the quality of the hotel--under $200 USD/night and free late checkout--much cheaper than the Leela as a comparable hotel. It is 30-45 minutes from the airport, but Taj drivers meet you at the arrival gate and whisk you right to the car--which is quite nice. Don't forget to buy a SIM card for your phone in the airport--difficult for foreigners to do so on the economy because of some weird bureaucratic restriction--welcome to India.
If you enjoy being pampered, Taj is the place for you. The rooms are very well-appointed with comfy beds, deep baths, western amenities in the restroom, fast internet, and very luxurious decor. Gym is well appointed also, and the in-house dining and restaurants are satisfactory-excellent. That said, it does put you in sort of a gilded cage, so if you really want to experience the grit, you'll have to step out of the hotel.
For runners willing to brave the Delhi smog, Nehru park is an easy jog from the hotel where all the locals go for exercise. The park itself has a well-maintained dirt track loop, and it is fun to run with the Indian youth (I got smoked), and see the different groups doing yoga, martial arts, or just enjoying a day in the park. Morning is best because the heat will BEAT YOU DOWN later in the day.
Agra and the Taj Mahal are about a 3 hour drive if you leave EARLY (we left at 5am). You can use a hotel driver, which is spendy but fast and comfortable, or the concierge will be happy to arrange you a taxi. Taj can also arrange a guide from their hotel in Agra for about $30 USD all day. The guide is good, but clearly takes a commission from the shops he will try to lure you into afterward--particularly the the photographer at the Taj and the very expensive inlayed marble shop. If you're not looking for glamour shots or high-end souvenirs, I would make that clear with him up front.

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a 'bad room' in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.

I have noted your kind compliments for the hotel in terms of cleanliness, safety, courtesy shown by our Airport representative on arrival, the well appointed rooms, restaurants etc. and I am grateful to you for the same. Your appreciation is much appreciated and has been communicated to all the concerned.

For runners/joggers, there are a couple of very interesting walking options from Taj Palace ranging from 5 kms upwards. A 2 km pleasant walk through the Embassy areas would reach you to Nehru Park which is an oasis in the heart of Diplomatic Enclave. This would be a 6 ½ kms walk to and from the Taj Palace including the full round of the Nehru Gardens. Similarly, a 3 kms walk one way through the manicured drive way to Shanti Path would reach you to Teen Murti House which houses a Museum library and which is also memorabilia of India’s pre independent days and a memorial to our First Prime Minister Pundit Jawaharlal Nehru. Yet another short and pleasant walk of 3-4 kms, would take you to the historic monument of Gyarah Murti which is the memorial of Mahatma Gandhi’s historic Salt March, that catapulted India in her struggle for Independence or then to the most quaint and interesting Railway museum which houses the world’s oldest steam engine amongst other Railway memorabilia. In effect, our concierges would be happy to help you optimize the unique location of Taj Palace vis a vis of this and much much more.

Thank you for your detailed feedback and for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and we look forward to your continued visits.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Our first visit to a Taj hotel, nothing is too much trouble for the welcoming saga and charming staff. Breakfast was excellent, dinner fell a bit short of expectations, but can't fault the service.Our room was very comfortable, with excellent quality toiletries, plumcious pillows. We had call to adjust the aircon this was done quickly and efficiently by two very helpful engineers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful feedback in the Trip Advisor with regard to our welcoming staff, breakfast, room etc. Your kind words have been communicated to all the concerned associated. Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service.

At the same time, we have also noted your less than satisfactory feedback with regard to the food during your dinner. While we apologize to you for the same, your feedback has been communicated to the Executive Chef to take necessary corrective steps.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at Taj Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed at taj for our first trip to India. What a great choice we made. The staff very friendly and attentive right up to the elevator staff. The room service and food in the hotel was of excellent standard. The hotel is placed centrally to all attractions president place lotus temple jantar mantar all a taxi ride away. The bedrooms are very comfortable and the hotel has a great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.

We have noted your compliments with regard to the staff being friendly and attentive and positive feedback about the room service, the food, the location etc. and would like to thank you for the same.

Additionally, we are only fifteen minutes from the international airport, ten minutes from the Ministries, Presidential Palace and within Lutyens Delhi (city’s heritage quarter.)

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Address: Sardar Patel Marg, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.