We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit of paradise in Delhi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Taj Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sardar Patel Marg, New Delhi 110021, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Extended Stay Offer
Ranked #8 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a bit of paradise in Delhi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I stay in a lot of hotels around the world for business. The Taja in Delhi ranks as one of the best I have stayed in. It is clean and tidy and all the staff whether cleaners through to front of office were excellent. Customer service is just 100% without being over the top or intrusive. They just know what to do at the right time with no hesitation.

The rooms were modern, clean and comfortable. A place to relax or work.

Will definately stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Taj Palace.I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were up to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and has been communicated to all the members of our team.

It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and services which he recently experienced and more so from regular global travelers like you.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at Taj Palace and look forward to your next visit wherein we will get another opportunity to delight you with our true Taj hospitality.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    290
    81
    20
    15
See reviews for
141
253
119
513
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

My stay at the hotel was on twin sharing as per a corporate arrangement between my office and the hotel.
What struck me first was the huge cracks on the exterior walls of the hotel which wears a jaded look on the outside.
The staff was either
diffident or indifferent, but certainly lacking warmth.
The room was at best, adequate. The beds were small and not the most comfortable. There was a complete lack of privacy since the other bed was open to occupancy, akin to a dormitory.
The meal served in the room was an apology of a menu, even though it was allegedly the chef's special. No self respecting chef can ever serve apple gourd as a delicacy. The plates were cleared 4 hours after the meal was served. We had to call for the room bearer twice before he ultimately appeared at quarter past 12 at night.
The front office was not prepared to take a feedback, claiming it to be an automated online survey.
The entire experience was an apology. The hotel reeks in a self deluding
understanding of hospitality in the name
of luxury. I am never returning to this highfalutin, pretentious place. Their lack of understanding of hospitality guarantees them permanent loss of a many more customers. I strongly dissuade anyone who is yet to make a booking at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your kind feedback and your comments with respect to the cracks that have been noted on the building façade and assure you of the corrective action that has been initiated.

Having been through the details of the reservation, it is evident that the hotel has honoured the terms of the contract with your organization. The contract clearly states that the rate paid per person is on a twin sharing basis and rooms are to be paired of the arriving personnel, who have already been informed of this arrangement, through the organization’s intranet. It may be pertinent to say that the rate enjoyed by the organization are highly preferential and we unfortunately, are not in a position to accord single rooms on a rate which essentially is a per person rate on a twin sharing basis.

We completely understand that this may make you uncomfortable to be in twin share accommodation as a guest, but it is your organization that needs to authorize officers / personnel of your rank rates that are applicable for single occupancy rooms.

We therefore, request you not to directly equate hospitality or the lack of it, with the constraint of twin sharing rates. We continue to be dedicated to ensuring the comfort of guests from your organization and in our association of several years, have had the privilege and pleasure of receiving numerous compliments and praise from the officers who have stayed with us under exactly the same set of terms.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward welcoming you back.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Conveniently located from the airport hence a natural choice for business meetings. The highlight of any Taj property is the food. Taj palace reinforces that belief. The rooms are fit for kings. You almost feel like one. Since my visits are for business I feel that the only glitch is the conference rooms which could have better approach than being midway between escalators. Signages need to be worked upon. Grand experience but falls a tad short of royal.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

We thank you for sparing your valuable time and sharing with us your feedback.

Thank you for your kind comments for the food and the rooms. We have also noted your feedback with respect to the location of the conference rooms and the signage's and thank you for the same. I have conveyed your feedback with regard to the signage's to the concerned department and assure you that corrective measure will be taken.

We thank you for choosing the Taj Palace and look for your continued visits.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

First i must say that my experience did not start well with room # 274 located close to the service lift of the hotel. But when i asked for a change, my experience changed. I had the chance to move to the room 611 and i entered a different world. The level of service is incredible, the level of kindness of the staff is amazing. The spa, the barber, the restaurants, all is made to make your stay a dream. You feel pampered and it is as the entire hotel is there for you only.
A great place, a must go if you stay in Delhi.

Room Tip: Room 611 with view on the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor.

I have noted that, to begin with you had a less than satisfactory experience with the room initially allocated to you. However, I am glad to know about your pleasant experience with the new room and the service experienced thereafter and thank you for the same. Your kind comments with regard to the spa, the barber and the restaurants have been noted and passed on to all concerned.

Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service which we are well known for.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at Taj Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Have stayed in various hotels in New Delhi during my visits from London. This one is my favourite (a close winner over Le Meridian). The staff are amazing as always and the two times I've stayed here I have automatically been upgraded to the suite (from Taj Club room). It's also is a very decent location and makes travel easy. My favourite spot in the hotel is probably the private Taj Club bar. lol

Room Tip: You should automatically get an upgrade to a room up to the next level (if available). Also make sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and sharing with us your feedback.

I am delighted to know that Taj Palace is one of your favourite hotels in Delhi. Your specific comments with regard to our most valuable asset - our staff is highly motivating and the same have been shared with our staff.

Thank you for choosing Taj Palace and look forward to your next visit wherein we can get another opportunity to delight you once again with our true Taj Hospitality.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

It's called the Taj Palace and it lived up to its name. The staff are very professional and lovely. The service is fantastic in keeping with Taj traditions. I prefer Taj hotels because of the above reasons and the Palace exceeded my expectations. The breakfast was fantastic. The room was comfortable and very well put together. We had an event at the Taj and everything went very smoothly. The food was great. My room was on the Club floor and I could check out there. I found it very helpful.

Room Tip: A room on the Taj Club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi !

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and sharing your excellent feedback in the Trip Advisor.

At the outset, I would like to thank you for patronizing the Taj Group of hotels and Taj Palace in particular. It is indeed great to read that you found our staff very professional and the service to be fantastic. I have also noted your compliments for the breakfast, room and the food and great to know that you found Taj Palace exceeded your expectations. Thank you for all these words and please be rest assured that the same has been communicated to all in the team.

Please do come back to stay with us again, we will love to see you again and help you create some unforgettable memories of the Taj Palace experience.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed at the Taj Palace on our recent tour of India. The service at the hotel was excellent, the room was roomy and spacious and the meals at the hotel were first class. On arrival at the hotel we were offered a cold drink while the formalities of booking in were done which was welcome after a long flight from Australia.Security was tight which was reassuring. I would recommend this hotel.The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your feedback complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again for choosing Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back wherein we can get an opportunity to delight you once again with our true Taj hospitality which we are well known for.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Address: Sardar Patel Marg, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#10 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.