We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good food, on the extreme costly side” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Taj Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sardar Patel Marg, New Delhi 110021, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Extended Stay Offer
Ranked #8 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel, good food, on the extreme costly side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed here for office meeting and work purposes, Good hotel, Good rooms, good restaurant, choices are also good, food is nice, service is good. crowd is of course good and on the flip side it is on the extreme costly side. so if your budget permits then you can go for this one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.

We have noted your kind compliments for the hotel, room and restaurants and thank you for the same.

We have also noted your comments with respect to pricing. May I also take this opportunity to introduce to you our three highly successful value meal options specifically designed for single diners:

At the Kafe Fontana under this section you can have a pre set three course meal at an all inclusive rate of INR 1975, which includes full bottle of house wine for four guests and half bottle of wine for two guests. Taxes extra.

At Masala Art, you can order a tiffin meal- Veg Tiffin – INR 1400 Non- Veg Tiffin -INR 1600 and Seafood Tiffin - INR 1900. Taxes extra

At Blue Ginger, Business meal at an all inclusive rate of INR 1600 with a glass Indian Red or White wine or a glass of beer. Taxes would be applicable on all the rates .I assure you that this is something which no other Luxury Hotel in Delhi is doing at the moment and would be grateful if you can spread the word.

We have always endeavored to create trust in our guests rather than look at the short term aspect of just money making and I hope that with the above examples you will agree with me.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    290
    81
    20
    15
See reviews for
141
254
119
513
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Taj is always quite royal and this one is no exception too. As the name suggest, there is a little bit of a palacial touch to this hotel. This is an old hotel and quite visible while looking at some of the lifts and rooms. But very well maintained. Some of the rooms are renovated. Staff at Taj, as usual, are always best and provides excellent service with a personal touch. Very well located hotel. The Bar has a Happy hour till 8PM and that's a good offer. The Oriental Express is great, bit expensive though. Looking at the name I thought of getting Indian/Moghali food. But its continental.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.

While we thank you for your kind compliments for the hotel, the same has been communicated to our team members. We have noted your comments with regard to the hotel looking old and would like to inform you that 85% of the rooms have been renovated and the remaining rooms are slated to be renovated in the summer of 2014.

We have also noted your comments with regard to your perception of the Orient Express being expensive. However, for the pricing of the Orient Express, we have kept the following conditions in mind:

1.Quality of ambience, style is unparalleled in India which has also resulted in Orient Express receiving numerous awards and accolades globally.

2.As a result of our endeavour to keep the highest quality, there is absolutely no compromise of ingredients and hence each ingredient is imported, fresh from it’s origin. Understandably, this is an expensive affair though we do also recognize the impact of the carbon foot print this entails. Unfortunately, the repertoire of the European dishes of the menu cannot simply be made to the highest quality with ingredients sourced locally. This in turn pushes our input cost.

3.Though Michelin stars have not come to India yet, we have been praised by many discerning global travelers for having a Michelin quality restaurant in our establishment. If we therefore compare the prices of some Michelin restaurants in London, then three course offering there could easily be priced upwards of 90 – 120 pounds per person and is not uncommon. We are considerably cheaper than that average check.

Nevertheless, we take your feedback and critique on board whole heartedly and will endeavour to always ensure that the pricing is not unreasonable in comparison to the quality and ambience that we provide as compared to anywhere else in the world.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,


Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Amazing hotel. perfect view from hotel room........... value for money!! hotel has good food and perfect menu. it is good option if you are in Delhi and want to have a perfect stay, be it business or personal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset we would like to thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.

We have noted your appreciation for the hotel and I am glad to know that you had a perfect stay. While we thank you for your kind compliments the same has been communicated to all the concerned.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Well when it comes to hotels the name " Taj" by itself says a lot. So when we planned our North India trip we traveled to many places and stayed in hotels like sheraton & Le Meridian . In delhi we had booked The Taj vivanta . We were a group of 6 and had 2 rooms for 4 nights . When we checked in we were extremely disappointed by the lobby and the service. The rooms were outdated and the elevator and the corridors smelled of moth balls. We couldn't stay there for a minute . We spoke to the front desk manager and asked him to change our booking to another property since this property did not meet the standards of a TAJ. He shifted us to the Taj Palace . The lobby was grand clean and the service was excellent. The staff was courteous. But the rooms given to us were terrible. They were very small and outdated. The bathroom was old and small. It didn't have an exhaust system and also there wasn't a shower . It was having a tub which looked like from the 70"s
The TAJ was a big disappointment . I would rather stay at a Radisson. So next time don't just go for the name.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor.

I have noted your comments and have passed on the same to my colleague - the General Manager of Vivanta by Taj, Ambassador to respond to your experience during your stay there.

While I thank you for your appreciation of the Lobby public areas and staff of Taj Palace, please allow me to respond to your concerns of quality of room. As per our records, you had booked a base category room which is located on the first floor of the hotel which are refurbished, but not renovated. This is slated to be renovated this summer. You therefore found this design to be a bit outdated and an opinion that we respect. However, kindly note that the remaining 85% of the hotels’ room inventory are only a couple of years old with a cutting edge design and fit. To experience this you would need to book our Luxury or Taj Club accommodations.

We thank you for your kind patronage of Taj Palace and look forward to welcoming you back soon

With best regards

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

my last stay at Taj palace was quite a very good desigion !!
The rooms are excellent and very clein.
exelent staff !!
fill like a king - evrebody tring to make you happy !!!
the brekfast was emaizing !!

Room Tip: take a pool side and high floor room - very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, we would like to thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor with respect to your recent stay with us. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.

We are delighted to note your feedback with regard the rooms, service and the breakfast and have communicated the same to all the concerned.

We thank you for your kind patronage and look forward to welcoming you back.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

No one can beat TAJ when it comes to hospitality. The staff at taj palace is so good and warm from the moment you enter the hotel. The rooms are excellent i was in taj club room the bose music system is cherry on the top. On the whole it was nice experience to stay at taj palace.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

At the outset, thank you very much for taking time off from your schedule and giving us your feedback.

It is really heartening to get your acknowledgement about the hospitality and services extended to you during your stay at our hotel and especially that of the Taj Club rooms and the Bose music system. It is certainly very encouraging to get this feedback from you, which indeed goes a long way to improve and exceed our services to meet the expectations of our esteemed guests

Thanking you once again and looking forward to your continued patronage of the Taj Palace Hotel.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Well when it comes to hospitality, I guess no one can beat TAJ!!

Normally I used to avoid Taj properties for the sheer reason that what lacked was modern amenities... But my last stay at Taj palace was quite a good surprise, upgraded and modernized rooms. It was a great experience.

Room Tip: Try and get the upgraded rooms, the entry level rooms are not quite that good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tphgm_del, General Manager at Taj Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Palace, New Delhi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your last stay at Taj Palace.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction during your last stay with us. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

With best regards,

Taljinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Address: Sardar Patel Marg, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#10 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.