We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Taj Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sardar Patel Marg, New Delhi 110021, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Extended Stay Offer
Ranked #8 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, quite under rated in many ways. I really like the restaurants, and the lobby coffee lounge. Placed in front of the garden, it is a fantastic place to meet people for casual discussions.

I like the rooms a lot, however, I stayed in the Taj Club Rooms. These are very nice. They should renovate the elevators, and make it easier to take your luggage up. It is not such great fun to arrive at a fancy hotel, and drag your suitcases up the flight of stairs to the lobby.

The rooms I stayed in were very well designed for work, and this is a huge bonus.

Room Tip: I stayed at the Taj Club Rooms! These are great, but expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    289
    81
    20
    15
See reviews for
141
253
119
513
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a premium hotel in every sense. It is fully remodeled, with modern rooms with all the high tech features. We appreciated universal electrical outlets that eliminate the need for plug adapters. Perfect A/C, excellent wi-fi, luxurious baths, and most important impeccable service. They even have someone to push the lobby elevator button for you. Security is tight but unobtrusive. They have restaurants for every taste, from classic Indian to Continental to Vietnamese. One area that could still use an update is the swimming pool, which is a large tank with ladders for entry. Pool service was great, of course, though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulf shores
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed her in May 2013 on our last nights after three weeks in India and one week in Bhutan. We wanted to leave India on a high note. The Taj did the trick. The common areas and the grounds are beautiful. The room was good exactly what you would expect in a five star hotel. The people were all friendly and very helpful. We drank champagne in the bar to celebrate one month on the road. It was all very nice. Thank you Taj Hotel and thank you India. It is truly Incredible India.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Needless to say that the rooms and facility are excellent. But most of all there is so much staff that cares fro you at any time that you Forget about having to organise your own life - all is thought of and for you in advance. Excellent and very nice staff - discreet but most friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Brilliant hotel for a stop over. The rooms we stayed in were excellent except on our last visit when we seemed to have been put in a disabled room. After a very long journey we were looking forward to a bath and there was only a shower with a plastic chair and plastic jug to welcome us. The excuse was that the day before they had a lot of very important people saying - no excuse! But apart from that the other rooms we had were luxurious. The breakfast buffet was very good. The restaurants were very expensive and not a good introduction to how much eating in India would cost when just arriving in Delhi after a long flight - though it was very nice but not worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

we stayed here for one night three times on a touring holiday,each time we had very different rooms,all were of a good standard but one was lovely.That room was in the Taj Club on the 8th floor.It was just a better standard all round.But all the time the beds were very comfortable and clean.The pool staff were very attentive , making up your bed putting it where ever you wanted to be, bringing cold water and face cloths, bit of fresh fruit.Major bug bare the huge TV screen in the buffet resturant,dreadful.That and the jobs worth staff who would only serve you a particular drink if you sat in a particular spot really anoying!!!
Well situated you could belive you were not in a major city

Room Tip: get in the Taj Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed the first and last nights of a tour of the Golden Triangle, as other reviewers. We had a lovely, big, comfortable room both times, though the glass screen between the bathroom and the main room was unexpected - you could watch TV from the bath! (There was a blind to use for privacy). Staff were friendly, polite and efficient. Breakfast was good, with a wide choice of Indian and Western food. We ate in the same restaurant in the evening as the heat had robbed us of our appetite for a big meal - main courses started from around 600 rupees, which was good, but the beer at 500 rupees was expensive. A taxi to Connaught Circle would have cost around 200 rupees for waiting and the return journey. The swimming pool was stunning, with spa and jacuzzi.
Only gripe in otherwise excellent stays was paying for wi-fi.

Room Tip: We could see but not hear planes taking off. None of our group had complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Address: Sardar Patel Marg, New Delhi 110021, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.