We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Taj Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sardar Patel Marg, New Delhi 110021, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 594 hotels in New Delhi
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stay here quite often as part of my business trips here. Initially used to hate it because I found the butlers on the executive floors acting high handed and boorish. But over the years, I have discovered that staff at other levels are very friendly and that's waht distinguishes it as a Taj property.
The hotel's grand entrance is a wonderful sight and the choice of restraunts is quite good here. If you are not staying in the executive floors, ask for rooms on 4th and 5th floors. They are renovated and look just like the ones on the 6th to 8th floor minus the butler service. The 1st and 3rd floor rooms are the oldest and need renovation. You can still see old unadjustable shower heads and cracked tiles in the bathroom.
For a regular guest, I find that the in room dining menu has been the same over the past 5 years. It's time they change it according to the season. The vietnamese food they have here is great!!!

Room Tip: Choose 2nd floor if you are put up in the standard rooms, 4th and 5th floors for deluxe rooms and as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    616
    273
    77
    19
    12
See reviews for
120
234
113
463
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

When you book in at the Taj you expect excellent service and excellent quality
that exactly what you get from the time you get out of your car or taxi to the memento you leave.
We had two fantastic days at the Taj and it was a super way to finish a budget holiday as we stayed at some great 3 and 4 start hotels in India for half the price but here we got the super luxury that you can get only in India for what in the price in UK you would only get average service .

Keep up your standard Taj and keep your staff they were all superb in providing helpful advice when it was needed.
The VIP lounge staff on the 7th floor also need a special mention as they were also super

Room Tip: try the VIP lounge and ask if you need help as to how to travel in Delhi and which shops to visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Whilst the building structure reflects the architecture of the seventies, this is exceptionally well appointed inside and out, with a superb garden and pool. The interior decorative standards are particularly high. Guests enter via steps into a tea lounge decorated with local art and overlooking the garden. Rooms are pleasantly laid out and many overlook the garden.

The hotel offers 4 separate restaurant areas each with its own focus and budget level. The quality in the three I tried was exceptional, though on the days I was only a little peckish it proved challenging to find a small dish, though the tea lounge did make sandwiches and rolls.

Staff were always helpful and the hotel was efficiently run. The concierge service was helpful and supportive, particularly in arranging transport. Transport is essential because the hotel is situated some way from New Delhi and public transport is either unavailable or unsuitable. The metro line near the hotel was closed for refurbishment.

The overall experience of two weeks was very pleasant.

Room Tip: A higher floor facing the garden was very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Taj Palace in Jan 2013 and found it to be an excellent accommodation. This was our first trip to India and we appreciated a fine hotel as our first night. It exceeded a four star in my opinion, but not quite a five star by US standards. The room was excellent for us, especially after we figured out how to close the blind on the glass wall of the bathroom!
We ate a number of meals at their buffet and found them to be good. I'm not crazy about Indian food, but found enough European food to keep me alive.
The property is part of the Taj chain across India, apparently owned by the Tata Group. We mostly stayed in them during our Odysseys Unlimited tour.
We would definitely stay there if we go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel was a part of our UCLA Alumni/Odyssey Tour. We knew we would be staying in five-star hotels, but did not really know how to interpret that. Even though we arrived after 4:00 in the morning, a full staff was ready and available to serve us. The lobby is spacious and impressive, with a giant marble staircase, brass chandeliers and hundreds of colorful flower arrangements. Our room was nicely decorated and comfortable with a modern glass wall between the bedroom and the bathroom. We were a bit put off by the lack of privacy, until we noticed the remote control for a rolled shade. The breakfast buffet satisfied our American palates, and the Masala Art Restaurant serving Indian cuisine was excellent. We really enjoyed the view of the pool, although the weather did not encourage its use. We were quite comfortable here and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

It is a very nice property in a nice and safe surrounding. The bar is very good and the staff is very friendly and helpful! Nevertheless it is not a new property, so for example the pool is not the newest standard, but it is still a huge and nice pool. I would absolutely go there again!
Just opposite the hotel is a beauty spa, where we went for getting our hair done, because we had to attend a wedding. this place is also very nice and much cheaper than the hair spa in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was the first hotel that we stayed at during our week long stay in India for our 10th wedding anniversary. We booked a Taj Club room, which was awesome.

Our entire 3 day experience, from being picked up at the airport in a Jaguar, to check-out was very good.

They had a cake waiting for us in our room as it was our 10th wedding anniversary. Check in was quick and in the room.

We ate at the Orient Express, where the food quality was of a very high standard. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

Being in a Taj Club room, we had breakfast in the lounge room. Breakfast was very good and the staff were very attentive. We also went to the lounge for happy hour, where they have a very good choice of complementary drinks and nibbles. Mr Mukherjee and his team are exceptional, and we had conversations with them on many occasions. They also have the ability to remember your name, and preferences! Mr Mukherjee arranged for breakfast in our room on the day of our departure, as it was very early.

Interestingly, we stayed at the Leela Palace on our return leg from our tour of the golden triangle, which we also thoroughly enjoyed (the Leela is newer).

I would not hesitate to stay here again, or to recommend to others.

Thanks Taj for our memorable stay.

Room Tip: Pool facing and at Taj Club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taj Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Palace Hotel

Address: Sardar Patel Marg, New Delhi 110021, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Palace Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern crescent-shaped hotel situated on 6 acres in the diplomatic enclave, 15 minutes from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Taj Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Palace New Delhi
Hotel Taj Palace
The Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi
The Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Mahal Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.