We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,friendly and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi to your Saves list
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 612 Hotels in New Delhi
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great location,friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for the first time and was most impressed with the staff. Upon arrival to the day we left they went out of their way to help. Location was excellent. Only an improvement on breakfast would be great. Keeping pork and chicken separate should be a priority.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    340
    93
    18
    12
See reviews for
125
195
63
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Pick up from the airport after a red eye flight could not have been slicker. Big welcome and a bottle of water waiting. Check-in took nearly an hour waiting for the room to be ready but it was 11am so we were happy to wait. The travel desk organised a driver for a 4 hour tour of Delhi and next day a driver to take us to Agra and the Taj Mahal. Unfortunately a wedding with live band was taking place so it was noisy but stopped at 10.30pm. The b'fast was average to good. Staff service was exceptional from everyone working at the hotel. I would return if ever I were to return to Delhi (unlikely). This hotel is more a good 4+ star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Before the review itself:we arrived at the airport and had to wait more than one hour till we passed the passport control. Do not stay in line if you see students or tourists from pakistan.It takes a lot of time till they are allowed to enter India.Next: you can get from the airport to the hotel by taxi from the airport.The fare was low and you pay by the meter.We asked how much should cost and we got the correct answer.So there is no need to order a taxi from abroad.All along our trip we realized that the locals do not understand well English.When we asked "where is the exit" they answered YES,YES !!Make sure they got what you want.Their English is also not the best and many times we just did not understand the explanations of the guide.Back to the hotel :impresive entrance with bell boys taking your luggage immediate the taxi stopped.The doorman was present all the times and a security check is is present before you enter the hotel.The check in was ok and the receptionists were kind.The room was ok although with old furniture but that did not bother us.We received complementary mineral water every day and free wi-fi and a newspaper in the morning.The breakfast was good and we had enough choices for our taste which does not eat spicy food.The service of the concierge was very professional.In the hotel you can find a nice craft shop where you are intitled to 10% discount as well to the spa.A big pool is just outdoor where you can have even your breakfast.
The amenities in the bathroom were nice.
I have to mention the Sacura restaurant which we enjoyed a lot.The next day we ate the buffet dinner which was also very good . My sole complaint was that they still have those metal (nerosta) sugar holders and other out dated items on the table.
As about the location: we did not find the location as important as the online booking companies ask.We took a taxi and that's it.Nowhere in India we traveled did we enjoy a quiet walk in a clean city center .The hotel might be close to some places and on the other hand far from others.With this hotel this was note the case of "good or less good" location.
We enjoyed a lot our stay and we recommend warmly the hotel.

Room Tip: we asked for a room with pool view and it was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANGALORE
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

stayed for one night, got a good deal by direct booking with the Hotel. The reception part was good. Check-in was smooth. The rooms are not of 5 star standards. The overhead shower in the bath room did not work properly, only warm water-not hot water in the morning. Deluxe room is only the name but it was a standard room. While booking I had insisted on a single king bed, but I was given a twin bed room. Restaurant food was not appealing but overpriced. Morning breakfast was ok but did not have much choice. I can summarise that this is a 4 star property( earlier known as Nikko hotel) and needs renovation.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hotel is definitely not a 5 star hotel. It had stained carpets and water in the bathroom when turned on was brown(gross). Very outdated and renovations completed are to the lowest of the standards. Breakfast was not upto the standards of 5 star hotel. Orbitz needs to change their star ratings on this hotel for sure.

Room Tip: No please don't stay in this hotel...very disappointing. I would say its 1 star hotel in america...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved the hotel and staff! Although this is rated as a 4 star hotel, the staff made us feel 5 star. We booked this hotel on line before we started our tour of India and not sure what to expect-not disappointed! We opted for club level option with complimentary wi-if and evening snacks. Fresh made omelets every morning with a number of quality options. Convenient locations to markets.
We stayed at a 5 star hotel that was included in our tour and the rooms may have been more spacious and newer, but the staff left us very disappointed.

Room Tip: We opted for club level and felt that the extra amenities were worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel although claims to be a 5 star, is over rated! interiors are run down, furnishings in the room are minimal and sub standard. They charge for wifi which is a crime today! After negotiating they offered us a free wifi access for one devise.
Staff are just wonderful and they cover all shortcomings of this hotel. Breakfast is nice and fresh. Reception team, Restaurant team, Concierge team, Housekeeping team are all wonderful and they do add a lot of value to this hotel's shortcomings.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Address: Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#29 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#30 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#45 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#53 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE METROPOLITAN HOTEL & SPA, New Delhi, a newly renovated Five Star Deluxe full service hotel, is located in the heart of the business and commercial hub of New Delhi, and provides easy access to most of the corporate and financial centres, ministries, embassies and the International Trade Fair grounds. THE MET is the perfect destination for an international traveler looking for easy access to doing business in New Delhi. This urban oasis in its New Avatar with its luxurious ambiance and lush landscaping is an experience in itself. THE MET, a fine blend of style and substance, is a member of Luxury Collection of Great Hotels of The World, an international hotel marketing brand. Each of the meticulously designed guest rooms and suites at the hotel features personalized comfort, luxury and all the necessary amenities to satisfy the modern discerning traveler. The Met houses renowned restaurants to mesmerize guests with eclectic options to choose from distinctive dining and wining experiences. To the global gourmet, The Met offers the award winning Sakura, India's first Japanese restaurant, Chutney, Bar + Tandoor, offering dinners an indigenous fusion of pan–Indian cuisine, Zing, the all-day world cuisine restaurant featuring an international platter set to tantalize the taste buds. The Met has been awarded with Certificate of Excellence 2012 by Tripadvisor, Best Hotel India by International Hotel Awards Asia Pacific and Luxury City Hotel 2012 by World Luxury Hotel Awards.In addition, The Met has a full service Business Center, Club Lounge, stylish Banquet Halls and Meeting Venues, Neoveda Health Spa with Swimming Pool to provide the extras that our corporate business traveler expects. The hotel is home to Craft House a luxury lifestyle store, with its exclusive range of Indian handicrafts, pashmina, jewelry, Ayurvedic spa products and the most unusual and unique Indian tea selections. The Met’s passion for excellence endeavors not only to satisfy, but also to surpass all the needs of its guests to ensure that they LIVE MET SMART. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel And Spa New Delhi
Metropolitan New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel Nikko Delhi
Hotel Metropolitan Nikko New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.