We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good if you get a discount price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi to your Saves list
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 610 Hotels in New Delhi
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good if you get a discount price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

With all honesty, from the rooms point of view it does not seem a five star hotel, but the price we paid was for a four star, so good value for money. At the end and we would definitely come back. Very clean room, spacious shower is a plus. Position is not too close to Connaught Place Metro, around 15 minutes walk, but the street is secure so we had no problems to walk to the metro during night time. The hair dryer is connected in a low position with a short cable, so I had to bend myself to dry my hair. Suggestion: please provide a longer cable. Good Indian restaurant and very nice breakfast with lot of choice. The business center was supposed to be open up to 22:30. At 22:10 nobody was there, they told me go to different offices to catch the guy but I did not find him: at the end I renounced to print five pages, not so important issue reason for which I did not insist trying.…

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    330
    91
    18
    11
See reviews for
120
192
60
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is basically your average European 'motorway hotel' or Travelodge with bigger rooms.

It made me giggle, in all honesty, to watch the moronic staff preen about the place in their best mimicry of old-fashioned European pomposity....whilst simultaneously managing to be entirely oblivious to the standards of service one must provide to pull this off, or indeed, one expects at a hotel advertising itself as 'top end'. This hotel and staff are an absolute joke - if you're looking for a 5* experience in Delhi, spend the extra and go to the ShangriLa.

This is a budget hotel masquerading as top-end:

The windows are not properly double glazed so very noise (and even draughty)
The TV did not work properly (bad signal)
The room staff were not discrete in making clear they wanted a tip (which I don't mind but, have some class about it, for God's sake)
The breakfast staff insisted on charging me for breakfast, despite the fact it was included in my room price. I then had to go to the front desk and explain.
They charge £12 per 24 hours for wifi - and that's from the time you log on, not the actual hours you use online (which they don't make clear). Don't even get me started on the idiotic system of signing up and using it, as well as the poor support service.
The attitude of the front desk was pompous and unhelpful.
They purport to speak English but many staff have only a rudimentary grasp (I don't mind not speaking the language, as I am the one in another country. However, if you purport to speak English, then do so).

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spoleto, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Let's start saying that the hotel is in a very central area and this was the 1st reason why i booked it, then they have a spa and that was a big plus, then the rate was good (not very good but good enough).
Until i checked in ...

0. The hotel furniture and the all setup smell at dust and is extremely old fashion, tastes? Not really, carpets and sofas had been renewed right after the indian independence and then left there collecting dust.

1. People at the desk had welcome me with a big smile, just to start few seconds later to list all services that i had to pay, everything besides sleeping was on a chargeable basis (but that's ok, just not very polite).

2. They gave me a room on the 7th floor so that i could have a view, i took the elevator and when the concierge pressed the button a very creepy sound came from the top and the bottom of the elevator which started shaking but it finally took us to the floor. We got out and there were cracks in the walls at every corner, at every door. Finally, i get in the room and this is what i see: towels in the bathroom were dirty and i mean grey, courtesy set was visibly opened and resealed, the bed was not just small but poorly made and the curtains smelled at dust. Not to mention the stains on the little sofa. I turned to the concierge and said, this is not a 5 stars hotel room, can i have another room? And they agreed to give me another room.

3. We came back downstairs and i had to wait 15 to 20 minutes before they finally came to me with another key, apologizing for the problem, but the room was on a lower level ... Fine i said ... And we went to the room. Same elevator, same creepy noise, same corridor conditions, we arrive at the room and there were 6 people cleaning the room and making sure everything was good enough for a 5***** . We get in and i find a small room made, slightly better then the previous one, then i turn around and i see a pencil on the carpet and a big stain on it, right next to the bed. I get close to the bed to turn on the full lights and as soon as i touch the electric plug, it comes off the wall exposing live wires ... So ... I turn around again and i say ... Guys are you kidding me?
Ps: i had been traveling for 16 hours.

The manager comes into the scene after almost an hour, he excuses himself and ask me if i wanted to see any other room and i politely said that there was no need to ask such a question.

4. We get back again to the lobby and again they made me wait for 20 minutes before the manager came and asked me if i wanted to have a shower in a standard room ( i had booked a superior) and that was the very limit ... I thought ... So i lightly raised my tone and i asked to cancel my reservation and to find me another hotel same level at the same rate or i would have called booking.com and managed that directly. Now he tells me to wait few more minutes and he comes back to me with a big smile ...

Sir, we have upgraded you to a suite, but there is a little charge to pay for it ...
I mean ... Can you believe it ? 1st room was dirty and messed up, 2nd room was even dangerous as you can get hurt with electricity ... And you want me to pay for an upgrade to the next available room? Unbelievable !

So i said, i won't pay a penny and either you rebook me to a different hotel or give me that room.

He took me to the room and said ... Sir, just to excuse ourselves please accept this room at the same rate ... And i did thank him for it ...

So they deliver my luggage, i pull out my laptop and ... Wifi doesn't work !!! Holly molly !!!

Fine ... I'm going to relax ... And get a bath ... Wow the bathroom is huge !!! I aim at the jacuzzi bath tab ... Open the water and ... The water comes out orangy brown ... I close the water and called the desk asking for the manager, the handyman and the technician for internet.

Now i have 6 people in my room still trying to solve things after two hours from my arrival .

Fine, they solve everything ... I tell the manager that i need to sleep and i'm getting very frustrated ... So i take my shower ... Go to bed ... 30 minutes later ... The spa called me and woke me up !

Didn't i tell the manager i wanted to rest ??? Anyway !!!

Finally i get to sleep and woke up this morning freezing as the air conditioning didn't stop all night even if i had set it at 23 degrees celsius.

I went downstairs to have breakfast and...

a. Noone to say good morning
b. Poor food in quantity and in quality
c. Staff poorly trained 15 minutes to have an espresso
d. People sitting at my table on staff advise
e. I had to ask the staff to clean my table as there was still bread from the previous person and spills on the table
f. No linen or anything on the table
g. Juices were 90% preserved, almost nothing fresh
h. The big crystal pot the waiter had for serving coffee was stained like my grandma tea pot ( but that one is 75 years old) so i think there is another reason for it.

Overall ?
I will never in my life come back to this place and i hope you won't after reading my comment.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed two nights at this hotel. We've generally stayed in guesthouses in India, so this was a splurge. The room and bathroom were large, comfortable and spotless. The pool was great - large and the water was refreshing. Comfortable sun loungers. The breakfast buffet was good and had lots of variety. The only drawbacks for us were the high prices (relatively speaking) in the restaurant and additional charges for WIFI, which we didn't pay for. Charging for WIFI in a high-end hotel is crazy - every guesthouse and resort we've stayed in (no matter how remote the location) provides WIFI at no additional charge and their nightly rates are a fraction of the Metropolitan's.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff went above and beyond! Food was great, great location, great food, comfortable rooms and very quiet, didn't have time for the spa but we will be back and will take advantage of their services. Again, staff went above and beyond to make us happy!

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for only two nights, but the hotel managed to exceed my expectations. Their rooms were nice and spacious, with a great view. I was impressed by their styles and designs, especially their light switches which was a little fun to play with. The included breakfast buffet was amazingly delicious and full of variety. I would definitely recommend tryinf their lassi. Finally the most unexpected surprise came on my birthday. I was greeted in the morning with a happy birthday greetings from the staff. And to top it off, the kitchen even delivered a fancy chocolate cake which said "happy birthday" to my door. Great hotel, great service period. Reasonable price for a five star but maybe could improve just a little on the excellent service. Definitely consider this as your accommodation when in Dehli.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this was second time i visited to The Metropolitan hotel as for my business location was good and friendly staff and very cooperative specially Asst front Manager Mr Saurabh Srivastava who made sure i was comfortable. Room charges for food and beverages is the only minus point as charges were too high compare other hotels which should be considered by management . Overall it was good and will continue to stay in future.

Room Tip: pls make sure to stay pool side as no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Address: Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#29 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#42 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#55 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE METROPOLITAN HOTEL & SPA, New Delhi, a newly renovated Five Star Deluxe full service hotel, is located in the heart of the business and commercial hub of New Delhi, and provides easy access to most of the corporate and financial centres, ministries, embassies and the International Trade Fair grounds. THE MET is the perfect destination for an international traveler looking for easy access to doing business in New Delhi. This urban oasis in its New Avatar with its luxurious ambiance and lush landscaping is an experience in itself. THE MET, a fine blend of style and substance, is a member of Luxury Collection of Great Hotels of The World, an international hotel marketing brand. Each of the meticulously designed guest rooms and suites at the hotel features personalized comfort, luxury and all the necessary amenities to satisfy the modern discerning traveler. The Met houses renowned restaurants to mesmerize guests with eclectic options to choose from distinctive dining and wining experiences. To the global gourmet, The Met offers the award winning Sakura, India's first Japanese restaurant, Chutney, Bar + Tandoor, offering dinners an indigenous fusion of pan–Indian cuisine, Zing, the all-day world cuisine restaurant featuring an international platter set to tantalize the taste buds. The Met has been awarded with Certificate of Excellence 2012 by Tripadvisor, Best Hotel India by International Hotel Awards Asia Pacific and Luxury City Hotel 2012 by World Luxury Hotel Awards.In addition, The Met has a full service Business Center, Club Lounge, stylish Banquet Halls and Meeting Venues, Neoveda Health Spa with Swimming Pool to provide the extras that our corporate business traveler expects. The hotel is home to Craft House a luxury lifestyle store, with its exclusive range of Indian handicrafts, pashmina, jewelry, Ayurvedic spa products and the most unusual and unique Indian tea selections. The Met’s passion for excellence endeavors not only to satisfy, but also to surpass all the needs of its guests to ensure that they LIVE MET SMART. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel And Spa New Delhi
Metropolitan New Delhi
Hotel Metropolitan Nikko New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel Nikko Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.