We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good proximity and quiet...I won't mind going there again...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Save Saved
You added The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good proximity and quiet...I won't mind going there again...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Met is known to offer cheapest breakfast inclusive rates in Delhi region in the 5 star category, and they definitely serve with a smile.

I got a great rate from a travel agent and online @5350 including taxes, when I called at the reservation,some girl Neha tried to oversell the same room category for 7k..I told her that I was already getting a better rate online..she still kept selling me that rate!!!
I think the staff needs to be calibrated, it reflects poorly. Needless to say, I booked from the agent :-)

I did not have any high expectation, we had business at Le Meridien for a week but due to availability, we took up The Met reservation as a back up option.

We got corner room on non smoking 4th floor, it is indeed super quiet and I loved that part. The housekeeping team is great service, they respect your choice, requirements and privacy too!

Room aesthetics are different and nice, the bathroom is separated from the room by a grainy glass... which is not a good idea if you are sharing room as others have also commented previously.

Its the centre of Delhi, and walking distance from my fav. street chat outlets, so don't bother eating here at the prices they sell at and instead, go on an overdose trip of golgappas and chat at Odeon sweets.
CP is culinary heave and a quick ride away from literally any good to great eating outlet...you can even call pizza hut to deliver here, they wont mind it!

The breakfast buffet was good, the only inconsistency I saw was in the fresh lime juice, the first day it was lovely and sweet and by the sixth day, it was sour and bitter..
If you like your omelettes well seasoned, stand there and ask them to put it in front of you, they kept forgetting my seasoning every time though..

On the last day, I was still eating and they were winding up the restaurant buffet; I told them to bag me a bread or two and the response I got was that you will be charged on al a carte...
Well, I just picked a croissant and muffin in my hand and walked out and ate in the lobby as I checked out..rude, but those are the ways for them I guess!!!

Overall experience - do return for the price and proximity and convenience, and definitely share feedback to keep them on their toes!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    320
    386
    130
    59
    36
See reviews for
139
258
114
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kozhikode, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a 5 star hotel, in central Delhi, with easy access to many places of interest. Very clean hotel with good well furnished rooms, comfortable beds. Coffee/tea making facility in the room, provision of good quality toiletries in the bathroom do add to the VFM factor. There is provision for a safe locker and even an electric iron and ironing board have been provided. There are two restaurants, one a well rated Japanese restaurant, but found them a little overpriced. The check in and check out were done in the shortest possible time and I found the staff very courteous and helpful. I would recommend this hotel, as I feel it is really worth the money that you pay for.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

By mistake I booked hotel metropolitan they call themselves hotel met also now a days they call it 5star it is good but five star is to be divided in two category one is 5star deluxe or luxury and other is regular five star. This falls under regular five star. Can be defined as business hotel. It is good food is good. I requested for room upgrade they did not do. Wi fi is chargeable.they did not make it free. But overall okay for basic needs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

we stayed in this hotel from the 5 to 12th july 2013 and i can only say good things about this place. good service, great location, but: do not book any excursions with them, too overpriced. the quoted us 16,000 rupees for a trip to agra and we went direct to the international booking office at the train station, where after overcoming some very agressive tout, we booked and express train for 850rupee return including food for 2 persons. also the food on room service is way to pricey. when you stand in front of the hotel backing the entrance, turn left and walk down the road for a mere 200m until you find Balang Foods. lovely, local cuisine, fast food style. very cheap and very popular with locals. also has an amazing bakery. you find everything you want, they are open until, 11pm.

Room Tip: breakfast is buffett style and very good value and should be possible to be included when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was on a business trip to Delhi and was recommended this hotel by one of my friend. When I reached the hotel, i was mesmerized by the lobby and luxurious look of the hotel. Really worth visiting and staying there. I give this 4 out of 5 points for a family / business stay.

Room Tip: a must visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is not a 5 star hotel compared to many of the other 5 star hotels in Delhi however the lower price tends to reflect this. I had 2 rooms here one for myself and one for the driver. Both were classed 'superior' rooms and were identical.

The rooms are faily small but modern and clean. The lamps above the bed look more like bird cages - an interesting feature!

Good points about this hotel were:
1. Good location
2. Reasonable price for room
3. Friendly staff

Bad points were:
1. Internet is expensive
2. Breakfast quality was poor.
3. Only 1 small bar for the whole hotel.
4. The rooms smelled and felt damp (maybe this is normal for Delhi in July)
5. The finish in the rooms was poor, for example, the tiling is very unprofessional with lots of cement filling the gaps.
6. The Television is very small.

Overall it is an average, clean business hotel.

Room Tip: If booking on the hotel website then check the small print - some rooms appear to offer breakfast an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed here with my husband for several days in June 2013. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are very nicely appointed, and the hotel gives a complimentary bottle of water daily. Toiletries provided include lotion, shampoo, shower gel, soap, a comb, shaving kit, and dental kit. I found the bed to be very comfortable, but Indian mattresses tend to be harder than many American mattresses (for those who like soft mattresses). The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from Connaught Place, where there is a lot of shopping and restaurants. Internet service is expensive at the hotel, and they also charge for use of the business center. The breakfast buffet was excellent, with a variety of Indian and western food. The hotel's coffee was so-so, but I am admittedly a coffee snob. We drank tea with our breakfasts. The service of all employees, including the front desk, restaurant staff, housekeeping, and the concierge was impeccable. I was disappointed that the pool was not in use- it was very hot while we stayed and I would have enjoyed a swim.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Address: Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#28 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#29 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#35 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#50 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE METROPOLITAN HOTEL & SPA, New Delhi, a newly renovated Five Star Deluxe full service hotel, is located in the heart of the business and commercial hub of New Delhi, and provides easy access to most of the corporate and financial centres, ministries, embassies and the International Trade Fair grounds. THE MET is the perfect destination for an international traveler looking for easy access to doing business in New Delhi. This urban oasis in its New Avatar with its luxurious ambiance and lush landscaping is an experience in itself. THE MET, a fine blend of style and substance, is a member of Luxury Collection of Great Hotels of The World, an international hotel marketing brand. Each of the meticulously designed guest rooms and suites at the hotel features personalized comfort, luxury and all the necessary amenities to satisfy the modern discerning traveler. The Met houses renowned restaurants to mesmerize guests with eclectic options to choose from distinctive dining and wining experiences. To the global gourmet, The Met offers the award winning Sakura, India's first Japanese restaurant, Chutney, Bar + Tandoor, offering dinners an indigenous fusion of pan–Indian cuisine, Zing, the all-day world cuisine restaurant featuring an international platter set to tantalize the taste buds. The Met has been awarded with Certificate of Excellence 2012 by Tripadvisor, Best Hotel India by International Hotel Awards Asia Pacific and Luxury City Hotel 2012 by World Luxury Hotel Awards.In addition, The Met has a full service Business Center, Club Lounge, stylish Banquet Halls and Meeting Venues, Neoveda Health Spa with Swimming Pool to provide the extras that our corporate business traveler expects. The hotel is home to Craft House a luxury lifestyle store, with its exclusive range of Indian handicrafts, pashmina, jewelry, Ayurvedic spa products and the most unusual and unique Indian tea selections. The Met’s passion for excellence endeavors not only to satisfy, but also to surpass all the needs of its guests to ensure that they LIVE MET SMART. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel And Spa New Delhi
Metropolitan New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel Nikko Delhi
Hotel Metropolitan Nikko New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.