We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable first stop in India” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Save Saved
You added The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A very comfortable first stop in India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent one night in the Metropolitan which is modern. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, the service in the Chutney restaurant was very good as was the food (although we felt it was overpriced but you could always eat in the Zing restaurant as an alternative).

The breakfast in Zing was excellent and served probably the best omelette I had in India; they were all good! A special thanks goes to Sameer Behl who without us asking very kindly packed us a lunch for the journey to Jaipur and did not want a tip.

I can't really comment on the location as we didn't leave the hotel.

Thank you for making our first night in India such a good one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    394
    132
    59
    36
See reviews for
145
262
115
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We used this hotel as our base for a recent holiday in India and stayed there on 3 separate occasions.

Each of the stays , much to our delight was wonderful. The staff in all the areas.eg.restaurants, front desk, travel desk as well as room maintenance took great pride in their work and were keen to ensure that we had an enjoyable stay. Particular recognition goes to Rubina, Deepak and Imran who made our stay a memorable one.
The hotel is well located for the airport and is in a lovely part of New delhi, close to a number of shopping malls and places of Interest, such as India Gate.

The rooms are well appointed and well maintained.
The food, particularly breakfast is excellent ,with a wide range of choices.
I would happily return to this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Good things: well locates near Conaught Place (shopping, food, etc) the room is very new western standards. Very clean. Bad things: wifi is VERY expensive. There is a japanese restaurant looks nice but also expensive but looks really nice. There is a bar but i did not like the food. They have a tour desk with trust drivers and very new cars.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I last stayed in Delhi in 1988 so things had changed a bit. This hotel known as The Met is very much a business hotel worth its 5 stars. The room was a good size with a big bed. The layout of the bathroom poses a few questions but nothing to worry about. Both were clean and stocked with nice quality products. The Staff were friendly and helpful . Although we were given a 10% discount voucher on arrival for The Chutney restaurant it was a bit pricey after all the additional taxes had been added on. However the food in both theChutney restaurant and Zing were very good. We didn’t get chance to try Sakura. The gym is quite small but functional whilst the outdoor pool is a good size and is in a nice paved garden area that is overlooked by the diners in the Zing restaurant. A bit more privacy would have been nice.
The gift shop prices were not too out of this world compared with other parts of India that we stayed.
The prices for the spa were a bit steep side compared with parts of Europe that’s maybe why it did not look busy at all. A well located hotel perfect for spending a few days whilst exploring Delhi or as a stopover.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

everything form quaility of staff and food was top class. Only negative was the room. We had a superior room and expected better for the price. Location was good for metro and connaught place as well. Tuc tuc s easy to get and hotel taxis value for money

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setagaya-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The room we stayed was very clean though threre was not a bath tub. The hotel staff were all very kind and friendly. When I became ill, reception desk staff called hotel doctor immediately to our room . Thanks to the hotel and the doctor, I could fly back to my home the next day. The exchange rate was not bad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights on buisness and have to say it was a great choice. The service was very good and friendly, rather than feeling a little forced as it may in some other hotels.

The food was also good, albeit the menu could be refined in areas.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Delhi.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Address: Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#28 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#51 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE METROPOLITAN HOTEL & SPA, New Delhi, a newly renovated Five Star Deluxe full service hotel, is located in the heart of the business and commercial hub of New Delhi, and provides easy access to most of the corporate and financial centres, ministries, embassies and the International Trade Fair grounds. THE MET is the perfect destination for an international traveler looking for easy access to doing business in New Delhi. This urban oasis in its New Avatar with its luxurious ambiance and lush landscaping is an experience in itself. THE MET, a fine blend of style and substance, is a member of Luxury Collection of Great Hotels of The World, an international hotel marketing brand. Each of the meticulously designed guest rooms and suites at the hotel features personalized comfort, luxury and all the necessary amenities to satisfy the modern discerning traveler. The Met houses renowned restaurants to mesmerize guests with eclectic options to choose from distinctive dining and wining experiences. To the global gourmet, The Met offers the award winning Sakura, India's first Japanese restaurant, Chutney, Bar + Tandoor, offering dinners an indigenous fusion of pan–Indian cuisine, Zing, the all-day world cuisine restaurant featuring an international platter set to tantalize the taste buds. The Met has been awarded with Certificate of Excellence 2012 by Tripadvisor, Best Hotel India by International Hotel Awards Asia Pacific and Luxury City Hotel 2012 by World Luxury Hotel Awards.In addition, The Met has a full service Business Center, Club Lounge, stylish Banquet Halls and Meeting Venues, Neoveda Health Spa with Swimming Pool to provide the extras that our corporate business traveler expects. The hotel is home to Craft House a luxury lifestyle store, with its exclusive range of Indian handicrafts, pashmina, jewelry, Ayurvedic spa products and the most unusual and unique Indian tea selections. The Met’s passion for excellence endeavors not only to satisfy, but also to surpass all the needs of its guests to ensure that they LIVE MET SMART. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel And Spa New Delhi
Metropolitan New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel Nikko Delhi
Hotel Metropolitan Nikko New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.