We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most central place for business travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Save Saved
You added The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 592 hotels in New Delhi
Chandigarh, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The most central place for business travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Was at The Met, Delhi with my staff for a weekend visit. Loved the ambience, the staff discipline and comfort we all enjoyed. The hotel is a close drive from all the important Delhi places due to its central location just outside the Connaught Place. The surroundings are quiet unlike other places in the city. The historic Gurudwara bangla sahib is a short 3 minutes walk away. However the food was expensive. Will go back again though .

Room Tip: The higher you go in India, the better it looks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    387
    131
    59
    36
See reviews for
140
259
114
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights on our trip to India and whilst it is not a "luxury" hotel in the mould of the genuine 5 star hotels in Delhi such as the Imperial and Claridges we found it to be a comfortable hotel (the bed was very comfortable indeed). The staff are also very helpful.

However, the rooms are not very well sound-proofed so we were woken up in the mornings by the sounds of people in the rooms around us. The restaurants also weren't very busy so we ended up heading out to restaurants elsewhere which had a bit more atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was fairly excited about this place after checking out other reviews and the photos. Overall though, the experience was just ok.

The good: restaurant and housekeeping staff were a-one. Good location close to Connaught Place and India Gate. Had a great driver, Raj, arranged through the hotel for a day trip to The Taj Mahal. Highly recommend him. Very clean, comfortable rooms.

The bad: While the room was small the window was so incredibly dirty we couldn't even see out. It was like a glass that had gone into a dishwasher too many times--very cloudy. Too bad as it probably would have been a nice view. The worst was the following though: 1. When I went to confirm our Agra day trip they couldn't find the reservation I'd made, even though I showed them the email chain. So had to go through the hassle of getting that set up again. 2.There's an elevator to the lower-level shop. My mom was on this trip and has problems navigating stairs. We were shown the stairs to that shop and were told that the elevator was broken. So she had to carefully navigate stairs. I tried the elevator and it worked, no problem 3. The night before leaving we arranged a car to take us to the airport the next day at 5 AM. On coming down with our luggage we were asked if we were expecting a car. It turns out the guest relations person did NOT reserve our car, so we had to rush around at the last minute getting that arranged. There was also a lot of late-night construction going on outside the hotel, that interrupted our sleep.

Overall it was the small things that the hotel was lacking for me. I don't think I'd stay here again, even though I'm in New Delhi a few times a year. My whole family was left unimpressed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Ii had a very comfy stay. Hotel may lack razzmatazz as you enter but it more than makes up for it in comfortable clean rooms that are very well lit.room service and cleaning. Services were superb. I did miss any drawers for parking vests,socks etc. Entry key well magnetised.never faded during my 9 nights stay. I would like to make a special mention of mr sameer behl in zing cafe incharge of breakfast service who was so caring and pandered to any need with super enthusiasm. Billing system can be a bit confusing and one has to have an accountancy background to unravel reception staff's explanations. Chutney restaurant has a big choice.staff extremely friendly but temperature wise food was not warm enough .If only kitchen staff paid more attention. Spa services were very good but they could do with new bright towels. Beware of loads of govt luxury taxes /service charges that bump up the bill by app 30%.

Room Tip: Go for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I had a great three days at this hotel.

All staff were very friendly and went that extra mile to make our stay enjoyable. Whilst most staff in Delhi hotels have been nice to us, it seemed every single member of staff in this hotel did their upmost to make us feel welcome.

We both used the spa facilities which were very good and not overly expensive for a large hotel. Both restaurants were of a high standard and worth a visit even if not staying in the hotel.

We were happy with our room which was large and clean

Only niggles were minor such as not being allowed to have beer on the pool terrace, and the pool terrace itself seemed like an area of unfulfilled potential. It would have been nice if the hotel had more outdoor table seating, rather than just the two tables on offer and more green plants too, it's rather barren.

Also, make sure you agree a price with the Met taxi drivers before you embark on a day trip or one way journey with them. Whilst this applies to all taxis in the city, we thought the affiliated hotel taxi drivers would a bit more transparent with their pricing.

Our final minor grievance was that they don't a gratuity policy like the Leela Palace does (ie where you can leave all tips at the end and staff share them), so it means the bell boys/room service staff hover in the room in the hope of getting a tip, which can be uncomfortable.

We would definately stay here again, whilst it's not cheap it offers a great alternative between budget accomodation and very expensive luxury accomodation.

Room Tip: Club Floors 6+7 are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here for only a couple of nights when visiting Delhi. I was expecting a radison/marriott style hotel, but this was definitely a step up. The hotel is spotless and lofty - a welcome change from small bed and breakfasts. The rooms were clean and luxurious. The staff was incredibly helpful, spoke flawless English, and gave us an extra late check out. It's also really nice that the hotel offers multiple restaurants (we tried three, and were happy at all) and a beautiful pool, in case you feel like relaxing instead of facing Delhi's busy streets. The location was convenient for everything we did. The spa was ok, not the highlight of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to share your experience with rest of the world. We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us and thank you very much for rating our hotel as spotless & lofty, rooms very clean & luxurious, staff incredibly helpful,beautiful swimming pool, location as convenient, good choice of three restaurants- Indian restaurant Chutney Bar + Tandoor, World cuisine restaurant Zing and authentic Japanese restaurant Sakura.

We strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quatre Bornes, Plaines Wilhems, Mauritius
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My spouse and myself stayed at the hotel for one month. Staff very well trained and always helpful
Clean room and well serviced. Good location as not far from Airport, 5 minutes from Connaught Place by Richshaw and can even reach there by foot. Security check very strict at entrance which gives a feeling of security while on Hotel premises. The breakfast buffet which is complimentary is well set everyday with a variety of food to meet the expectation of everyone. For anyone staying at the hotel do know that at buffet there are food items that are on request also. The personnel is very helpful. Usually we have to wait some time before the tea arrives; this is an item which should be served readily. However we believe that the dinner buffet or any food item on the menu card is not value for money. could not enjoy the pool as it was not a heated one. On the overall we would recommend this hotel. Please convey our special thanks to Mr Kapil from the Zing , Miss Rubeena and Mr Rakesh of the reception desk who have been very helpful and generous in their attitude towards my spouse on the two occasions that she stayed alone at the hotel while i was on business trips.

Room Tip: choose a room which gives on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to share your experience with rest of the world. We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us.We also thank you for special mention about few of my colleagues.

We strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Address: Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#26 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#26 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#40 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#51 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE METROPOLITAN HOTEL & SPA, New Delhi, a newly renovated Five Star Deluxe full service hotel, is located in the heart of the business and commercial hub of New Delhi, and provides easy access to most of the corporate and financial centres, ministries, embassies and the International Trade Fair grounds. THE MET is the perfect destination for an international traveler looking for easy access to doing business in New Delhi. This urban oasis in its New Avatar with its luxurious ambiance and lush landscaping is an experience in itself. THE MET, a fine blend of style and substance, is a member of Luxury Collection of Great Hotels of The World, an international hotel marketing brand. Each of the meticulously designed guest rooms and suites at the hotel features personalized comfort, luxury and all the necessary amenities to satisfy the modern discerning traveler. The Met houses renowned restaurants to mesmerize guests with eclectic options to choose from distinctive dining and wining experiences. To the global gourmet, The Met offers the award winning Sakura, India's first Japanese restaurant, Chutney, Bar + Tandoor, offering dinners an indigenous fusion of pan–Indian cuisine, Zing, the all-day world cuisine restaurant featuring an international platter set to tantalize the taste buds. The Met has been awarded with Certificate of Excellence 2012 by Tripadvisor, Best Hotel India by International Hotel Awards Asia Pacific and Luxury City Hotel 2012 by World Luxury Hotel Awards.In addition, The Met has a full service Business Center, Club Lounge, stylish Banquet Halls and Meeting Venues, Neoveda Health Spa with Swimming Pool to provide the extras that our corporate business traveler expects. The hotel is home to Craft House a luxury lifestyle store, with its exclusive range of Indian handicrafts, pashmina, jewelry, Ayurvedic spa products and the most unusual and unique Indian tea selections. The Met’s passion for excellence endeavors not only to satisfy, but also to surpass all the needs of its guests to ensure that they LIVE MET SMART. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel And Spa New Delhi
Metropolitan New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel Nikko Delhi
Hotel Metropolitan Nikko New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.