We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last few days in India” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi to your Saves list
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Last few days in India”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here during our last few days in India as a treat. It's a pretty nice hotel, the rooms are comfortable, bathroom nice and the staff helpful. We had a kettle that was broken in our room which I asked to be replaced and it was not, apart from that the room cleaning was excellent with tea being restocked, etc. the breakfast was ok, a buffet style and big but a few times I had to ask them to bring us tea, coffee, etc as we'd been waiting for a while. Which is not what I'd expect when paying top prices. The wifi is also extortionate at 750 rupees, still it's a good connection but very expensive. we used the steam room also, staff were attentive, too much so at times to the point I had to ask them to leave the changing room so I could change as there was about 3 members of staff in there and I was also asked to fill out my room details mid-changing privacy needs to be thought of more, especially as I had already given details on reception! Also, the pool is not heated, which is surprising seeing as its outside and a top hotel!

Generally it was a good stay, but a few changes could make it even better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback here. We are happy to note that you found our hotel pretty nice, rooms comfortable, bathroom nice and staff helpful.

Regarding your experience at our coffee shop & spa, we have briefed the entire team so that none of future guests experience the same. We regret the inconvenience caused to you. We are offering free wifi in summer months with deluxe room to all our guests booking through our website so you can avail this special offer for your next visit.

We will look forward to your return visit to our hotel in the near future

With Warm regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    315
    85
    17
    10
See reviews for
115
183
56
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Was very pleased by the helpful staff, the pleasant room, and the location, close to the Cottage industries emporiums.
Breakfast buffet was very good, but the buffet dinner could be better. The meals in Spice restaurant are good value for money.
The staff was very helpful in providing a doctor when I needed one.

Room Tip: Choose the front rooms, facing the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to share your experience with rest of the world. We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us and thank you very much for rating our staff as helpful, rooms as pleasant, location central, breakfast buffet very good.We also thank you for special mention about our Zing restaurant where we serve international cuisine.

We strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban North, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location with 5mins drive to Connaugt circle where one can drop dead shopping. Easy access to Akshardam Temple and Kingdom of Dreams..a must to be seen if time permits.Stunning in house restaurant and pasterie shop to tantalise your taste buds.Again its another hotel where you feel at home when you are away from home.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

“The MET is your best BET.” Wow, what a compliment, thank you! We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us.

We at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa, the winner of Best Hotel India 2012-13 award from International Hotel awards asia pacific and Luxury City Hotel 2012 award from World Luxury Hotel awards, Certificate of Excellence for the year of 2012 from Trip Advisor, strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beit-Shemesh, Yerushalayim, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a really beautiful and luxurious hotel, very centrally situated.
The rooms are exquisitely furnished and very comfortable.
The staff are extremely friendly, courteous, helpful and eager to please.
I'll ding it half a point for the weirdness factor of having the bathroom separated from the bedroom by a frosted glass wall. Call me a prude, but I find it a little disconcerting using the toilet in full view of my roommate, even if she is my wife. And frankly, I don't need a mirror in front of me while I'm taking a pee, either.
WARNING: do not forget to bring your passport! Some hotels are happy to look the other way about this regulation, but the Metropolitan is very particular about it, which led to an awkward few minutes while I thought I had forgotten mine.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north-east side have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

“Luxury at a very reasonable price” Wow, what a compliment, thank you! We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us.

We at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa, the winner of Best Hotel India 2012-13 award from International Hotel awards asia pacific and Luxury City Hotel 2012 award from World Luxury Hotel awards, Certificate of Excellence for the year of 2012 from Trip Advisor, strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I knew about the hotel because a friend recommended it to me. The experience and the attention were very good as well as the food.The check in was very fast and also the check out.
The rooms are very comfortable. I would like to visit you again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to share your experience with rest of the world. We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us.

We strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

There are alot of hotels in this city, everyone should do some solid research when staying in this Delhi, because most hotels are very expensive -I consider "The Met" an international friendly hotel at a super good price. The staff was friendly upon checkin -& during breakfast employees helping serve are even more friendly, i had no issues with the staff, these hotels have just enough employee turnover where people will have different experiences with staff, but mine was pleasant. During my multi day stay coming in from an international flight from the states, this was my recovery spot, along with seeing just a few sites nearby the hotel. It is located well & comparable to some $200+ hotels/rooms. I was really comfortable in the nicely designed hotel corridor, it was close to a low 5star property. The room itself is designed ok...colors are a bit heavy on the eyes...bathroom is very nice and modern -just not a fan of the frosted glass that separates the room from the bathroom. Enough charging stations, & simple to operate most lighting from a central console. If you have been to most 3-4 star hotels in india this is similar & a little above average. If you are from the states and are thinking of staying here & never heard the name & you don't know if its up to American standard -Well it is -its great- Stay here. Hotel has the ability to arrange everything -but Delhi overall is pricey so be prepared.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to share your experience with rest of the world. We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us and thank you very much for rating us as Nice Hotel nice location, international friendly hotel at a super good price, staff as friendly, hotel corridors as nice designed, bathroom very nice & modern .

If you are not comfortable with transparent glass wall in the bathroom We do have rooms with non transparent glass walls also so will request you to ask for such room during your next visit with us.

We strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel itself is good..excellent japanese restaurant and great spa..the problem are the employees in the lobby...they are always looking for ways to make a buck...its too much ..when we left the bellman came to get our luggage ..to call the taxi and put the bags in the car they were I Kid u not 6...all of them waiting for a tip...honestly I would have given them a better score if it wssn t for the scavengers .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback here. We are happy to note that you found our hotel good, Japanese restaurant excellent and our Neoveda Spa great.

Regarding your observation about the bell desk staff , we have briefed the entire team so that none of future guests feel the same. We regret the inconvenience caused to you and assure you of an much better stay experience during your future visit.

We will look forward to your return visit to our hotel in the near future

With Warm regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Address: Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#28 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#29 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#45 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#55 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE METROPOLITAN HOTEL & SPA, New Delhi, a newly renovated Five Star Deluxe full service hotel, is located in the heart of the business and commercial hub of New Delhi, and provides easy access to most of the corporate and financial centres, ministries, embassies and the International Trade Fair grounds. THE MET is the perfect destination for an international traveler looking for easy access to doing business in New Delhi. This urban oasis in its New Avatar with its luxurious ambiance and lush landscaping is an experience in itself. THE MET, a fine blend of style and substance, is a member of Luxury Collection of Great Hotels of The World, an international hotel marketing brand. Each of the meticulously designed guest rooms and suites at the hotel features personalized comfort, luxury and all the necessary amenities to satisfy the modern discerning traveler. The Met houses renowned restaurants to mesmerize guests with eclectic options to choose from distinctive dining and wining experiences. To the global gourmet, The Met offers the award winning Sakura, India's first Japanese restaurant, Chutney, Bar + Tandoor, offering dinners an indigenous fusion of pan–Indian cuisine, Zing, the all-day world cuisine restaurant featuring an international platter set to tantalize the taste buds. The Met has been awarded with Certificate of Excellence 2012 by Tripadvisor, Best Hotel India by International Hotel Awards Asia Pacific and Luxury City Hotel 2012 by World Luxury Hotel Awards.In addition, The Met has a full service Business Center, Club Lounge, stylish Banquet Halls and Meeting Venues, Neoveda Health Spa with Swimming Pool to provide the extras that our corporate business traveler expects. The hotel is home to Craft House a luxury lifestyle store, with its exclusive range of Indian handicrafts, pashmina, jewelry, Ayurvedic spa products and the most unusual and unique Indian tea selections. The Met’s passion for excellence endeavors not only to satisfy, but also to surpass all the needs of its guests to ensure that they LIVE MET SMART. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel And Spa New Delhi
Metropolitan New Delhi
Hotel Metropolitan Nikko New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel Nikko Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.