We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi to your Saves list
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well situated hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Spent 4 nights at the Metropolitan Hotel while on business. This hotel is not particularly amazing in any way, but is clean, central and has all the amenities one requires when on a business trip. I was dissapointed that we had to pay for WI FI, one expects this service to be free in a business hotel. The rooms are very nice, we were on the 8th floor with a pleasant view over Delhi, had the windows been clean we would have enjoyed the view even more! General service in the hotel was good although the service in the Breakfast Restaurant was absolutely pathetic. We waited one day for 15 minutes for some boiling water, eventually I charged into the kitchen to try and find a waiter to assist us. The staff in this restaurant were quite surly and unpleasant. On the whole though I would recommend this hotel to business travellers, I don't think it is a great family hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors are nicer, and have pleasant views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback here. We are happy to note that you found our hotel as well situated, clean & with all the amenities which a business traveller needs, rooms very nice, general service good.

Regarding your experience at our coffee shop we have briefed the entire team so that none of future guests experience the same. We regret the inconvenience caused to you. In summer special promotion we have also started offering free wifi to our customers on our hotel's website so you can avail this offer during your next visit.

We will look forward to your return visit to our hotel in the near future

With Warm regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    365
    106
    22
    12
See reviews for
138
214
73
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

A lot of the guests seem to be staying just one or two nights at the most. Everything is slick enough but the personal touch is not always there which is a common grouse in this sort of place with so much coming and going. The Chutney was nice if expensive so after giving it one go we took to strolling down to Connaught Place to take pot luck at the many places down there. Rather too many spivs and touts hanging around the general area of the hotel for my liking but that's Delhi for you.
In the hotel my main moan was the chaos every breakfast time - they just do not seem to have a system for clearing down and laying up with waiters robbing the crockery and cutlery from one table to lay up another. How they know for sure that an item definitely hasn't been used before was not clear. Getting a refill of coffee is a major operation sometimes. Why oh why in this class of hotel do they serve such rubbish, day-glo jam? I would have killed for one of those little pots of Tiptree!
On the plus side the big shop tucked away in the basement is very good - nice stock and not too inflated prices.

Room Tip: The street outside is noisy so go for the back although you then get a rubbish view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review. I am very sorry to note that your experience was not as positive as that of others on this site but thank you for sharing this with us.

We will work hard on the areas mentioned by you & all needful will be done on highest priority and we assure you of an much better stay experience during your future visit.

Will look forward to welcome you again at The Met.

With warm regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

A previous reviewer has pointed out that the staff’s approach at ‘The Met’ is one of merely ‘doing their job’ and I agree completely. No one was rude or unpleasant but there was zero enthusiasm with mechanical smiles and greetings and a general attitude of indifference from the staff.

Room was a bit cramped, with weird ‘reading lamps’ hanging from the ceiling above our bed that you could easily collide with getting in and out of bed and oddly decorated. Bathroom was nice though, with a powerful shower. We ate in the Sushi Restaurant which was very good and offered more personable service as well.

Overall though, one night was enough in this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback here. We are happy to note that you found bathroom in our room as nice with powerful shower, sushi & service at our authentic Japanese restaurant Sakura as very good.

Regarding your experience at the front desk and your other observations, we have actioned all the needful and assure you of an much much better stay experience during your future visit at our hotel. We regret the inconvenience caused to you.

We will look forward to your return visit to our hotel in the near future

With Warm regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Metropolitan is a great hotel, located just a 15 minute walk to the city centre of Connaught Place. The sights in Delhi are spread out across the city, but this hotel is ideally situated right in the middle of everything. I stayed there for four nights, and would definitely consider staying again when in Delhi.

The Metropolitan lacks the pretentiousness of other hotels of a comparable price. The staff are very professional, but also quite conversational, which I prefer over stilted formality.

What really elevates this hotel though is the food. According to tripadvisor, this hotel contains two of the top ten restaurants in Delhi: Chutney (Indian); and Sakura (Japanese). I ate at the former twice and found all the food amazing. The breakfast buffet and room service were also excellent.

One caveat: I would describe the Metropolitan as a very good four-star hotel with first-rate food, but I would not consider it a five star hotel, because it lacks some of the five star luxuries. For instance: the gym is average; reception was occasionally understaffed; there were marks on the walls in my room, etc. I am not complaining, just pointing out that if you want to be pampered 24/7, this is not the right hotel for you.

If you're coming by plane, don't order an airport transfer, which costs ~1900 IRP. You can get a taxi for under 500 IRP (all taxi drivers I encountered knew of this hotel.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback here. We are happy to note that you found our hotel as highly recommended great hotel with ideal central location, staff very professional & quite conversational, Buffet breakfast and room service excellent. We also thank you for your special mention about our Chutney Bar + Tandoor Restaurant. We have noted all your observations and everything has been actioned.

Regarding the charges for airport pick up we do charge INR 1900 as we offer the airconditioned toyota innova cars for airport transfers & the charges include airport parking fee & airport entry fee and keeping in mind the safety & security lot of our guests prefer using our airport transfers over metered taxis.

We will look forward to your return visit to our hotel in the near future

With Warm regards

Thanks & Regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I chose "The Met" because it has been refurbished and Lalit was TOO expensive. However, the reception staff never gave me messages and generally were below the standard of other departments of the hotel. The waiting staff and the concierge team were very good. Rooms are large, lighting excellent and it is a very comfortable property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback here. We are happy to note that you found our hotel as very comfortable, rooms large, lighting excellent, our concierge and service staff very good.Regarding your experience at the front desk, we have briefed the entire team so that none of future guests experience the same. We regret the inconvenience caused to you and assure you of improvement in their services too.

We will look forward to your return visit to our hotel in the near future

With Warm regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had booked by the travel agent .We stayed here as a group of six people, total of 40 nights.We were very comfortable and treated very well. I particulerly enjoyed the 24 hrs restaurent most, which serve delicious food .Others in the group enjoyed at the spa.The Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Complimentry bottle of water is always available. The reception desk is very effeciant and has a huge team of very competent staff .Service and all the facilities are execellent at the met .The Place is very clean and whole team is very friendly.I also organised an event for 65 guests.The met organised every thing for me.The Met is a very good base to travel from for the rest of india.I found the front desk manager , Mr Saurabh most helpul and vey competent. The stay of a combined total of 40 nights was only possible because of the kind hospitality offered by Mr Saurabh and team. We will definately come back again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

“Best Second Home.” Wow, what a compliment, thank you! We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us .

We at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa, the winner of Best Hotel India 2012-13 award from International Hotel awards asia pacific and Luxury City Hotel 2012 award from World Luxury Hotel awards, Certificate of Excellence for the year of 2012 from Trip Advisor, strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

i visited the chutney restaurant in the metropolitan hotel and i must say that the food is excellent.I personally recommend the chicken starter and the butter chicken with the small size breads that were served was really tasty.
i would like to thank the manager of the restaurant as i was with my American friends and the manager suggested us all the correct dishes which were less spicy and extremely tasty..
I would recommend that all guests and people wanting to eat good , clean, authentic indian food to visit Chutney..

Anshuman Soni
New Delhi

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to share your experience with rest of the world. We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic dining experience at our Chutney Bar + Tandoor restaurant. We also thank you for special mention about few of our most popular dishes alongwith your special thanks to our restaurant manager.

We strive to go above and beyond in terms of quality, service & hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Address: Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#30 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#42 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#58 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE METROPOLITAN HOTEL & SPA, New Delhi, a newly renovated Five Star Deluxe full service hotel, is located in the heart of the business and commercial hub of New Delhi, and provides easy access to most of the corporate and financial centres, ministries, embassies and the International Trade Fair grounds. THE MET is the perfect destination for an international traveler looking for easy access to doing business in New Delhi. This urban oasis in its New Avatar with its luxurious ambiance and lush landscaping is an experience in itself. THE MET, a fine blend of style and substance, is a member of Luxury Collection of Great Hotels of The World, an international hotel marketing brand. Each of the meticulously designed guest rooms and suites at the hotel features personalized comfort, luxury and all the necessary amenities to satisfy the modern discerning traveler. The Met houses renowned restaurants to mesmerize guests with eclectic options to choose from distinctive dining and wining experiences. To the global gourmet, The Met offers the award winning Sakura, India's first Japanese restaurant, Chutney, Bar + Tandoor, offering dinners an indigenous fusion of pan–Indian cuisine, Zing, the all-day world cuisine restaurant featuring an international platter set to tantalize the taste buds. The Met has been awarded with Certificate of Excellence 2012 by Tripadvisor, Best Hotel India by International Hotel Awards Asia Pacific and Luxury City Hotel 2012 by World Luxury Hotel Awards.In addition, The Met has a full service Business Center, Club Lounge, stylish Banquet Halls and Meeting Venues, Neoveda Health Spa with Swimming Pool to provide the extras that our corporate business traveler expects. The hotel is home to Craft House a luxury lifestyle store, with its exclusive range of Indian handicrafts, pashmina, jewelry, Ayurvedic spa products and the most unusual and unique Indian tea selections. The Met’s passion for excellence endeavors not only to satisfy, but also to surpass all the needs of its guests to ensure that they LIVE MET SMART. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel And Spa New Delhi
Metropolitan New Delhi
Hotel Metropolitan Nikko New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel Nikko Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.