We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi to your Saves list
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 649 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good choice and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed there upon our arrival to India via Delhi airport beginning our one month trip in December 2012 after Christmas.

Pros:
- Good price for 4 star hotel in that location
- very clean
- comfortable rooms and bed
- Rain shower was total bliss after a long flight
- Many choices at included breakfast buffet (good for indian standards)
- Cannaught place is a good location to walk around and start your India experience (10 min walk from hotel)

Cons:
- Room is a bit noisy
- Wifi internet is expensive and charged by the half hour of use (but works well)
- Food in hotel is very expensive but there are a few good restaurant choices around the area that are much more reasonably priced (Try G restaurant for some good Indian food and entertainment)
- breakfast food such as pastries are not always fresh and coffee is very weak (general issue in India)

I recommend this place

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

“Good Choice and Good Location” Wow, what a compliment, thank you! We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us.

We at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa, strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    406
    119
    28
    16
See reviews for
150
228
88
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stamphappy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is an excellent hotel very close to the heart of Delhi.

The staff have been very well-trained and are very eager to please. We asked to move rooms (see the room tip below!) and they were only too happy to help, even though they were very busy with a large number of guests checking-out. When we asked for a map of Delhi, the staff almost insisted on taking a few minutes to point out the major sights on the map so we wouldn't miss any!

The rooms are more than comfortable and feel quite large. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was pristine.

We didn't eat in the restaurant except for breakfast, where the buffet was very extensive, with a wide range of both Indian and Western cuisines. We did order room service, which was very tasty.

An earlier review mentioned "hidden fees and taxes" - note that unlike many Western countries, India lacks a "show the full price up-front" law and so taxes and service are generally not included in the advertised price. India has a "luxury hotel" tax which is a percentage of the rack rate of the room, not the price you're paying - but this will be applicable at pretty much any hotel of this standard.

Room Tip: Avoid room 817, as it backs onto the motor for the service lift which runs all night! The same may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

“High Quality in the Heart of Delhi” Wow, what a compliment, thank you! We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us.

We at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa, strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
356 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in Delhi at the beginning and the end of our trip to India. The two hotels in which we stayed on these two visits provided an interesting contrast. While both The Metropolitan and the other hotel at which we stayed (the Crowne Plaza Rohini) were quite modern, there the resemblance ended. The staff at The Metropolitan was friendly, welcoming and helpful. The comfortable room had an interesting view over Delhi. Most important, The Metropolitan is well located near the center of Delhi, within easy walking distance of several interesting sights, and not far by car or taxi from any of the other sights one comes to Delhi to see. Although the restaurant was modest and not as impressive as the one we enjoyed at the Crowne Plaza Rohini, this factor was not as important to us as the convenience of the location and the friendliness of the staff. The room was also less luxurious than the one at the Crowne Plaza Rohini, but then, we prefer to pay less for our accommodations when we travel. Our purpose is to get out and see the country we have spent time, money and effort to visit, not to luxuriate in expensive indoor surroundings built to accommodate the type of international travelers who want everything to be the same.
We would happily stay at The Metropolitan should be visit this fascinating city again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

“Modern Convenience, Convenient Location .” Wow, what a compliment, thank you! We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us.

We at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa, strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
172 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Met was very modern. The staff was willing to help, the only thing we couldn't get was small bills to be able to tip the bell staff and housekeeping, but we eventually got those. The breakfast buffet was really delicious. We did have a problem with getting into breakfast on a Saturday morning and there was no organized waiting list, which got frustrating. Also, on our last day of our second stay at The Met, we had some miscommunication with the front desk staff about a mini bar bill that we had paid for, but they acted as if we didn't. We even had our receipt, so that was also frustrating. But overall this hotel is amazing and for the most part great experience. The location of the hotel was close to some shopping, but we ourselves didn't go out too much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback here. We are happy to note that you found our hotel as very modern, overall amazing, breakfast buffet delicious.Regarding your experience at the front desk, the front desk team has been briefed so that no future guest experience the same. We regret the inconvenience caused to you.

We will look forward to your return visit to our hotel in the near future

With Warm regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Pros:

V clean rooms

Great facilities (gym, steam room, breakfast buffet, etc)

Great helpful staff

Good place to acclimatise to India for the first time! You're near to all the sights but with all your home comforts!

Cons:
No free internet which is incredible when all the backpacking hotels nearby give free Internet.

Hidden costs and taxes mount up and add at least 20% to the bill

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to share your experience with rest of the world. We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us and thank you very much for rating our rooms as very clean, facilities as great, staff as great & helpful. We do offer free wifi to our repeat customers under repeat customer package on our website. Since now you are eligible to book this package for all your future visits, so kindly book through this package to avail free wifi. Regarding taxes, I would like to state that we never hide these taxes at the time of booking, these taxes are well announced on all our booking channels.

We strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is my first trip to Delhi (and I am comparing the standard to Trident at BKC Mumbai) hence my review might not be a fair one.

1) 5-star rating for this hotel is definitely over-rated.
2) I did not find the same heart warming service that I recieved at Trident. At the MET, people were just doing their work.
3) Room was clean but some maintenance might be required in certain areas such as the shower heads. It was covered by slight greenish 'algae' or rust?
4) Breakfast was quite disappointing with very limited choices and poor quality for bread and pastries. The hot sections offered different food on both days hence its nice for guests who are staying longer.
5) Chutney and Zing were both overpriced restaurants with okay food. I think we spent almost SGD100 for 2 pax at Chutney and at Zing - 1 pesto pasta and 1 glass of orange juice cost Rps1170 (abt SGD30). The staff there were much friendlier to the team at the check in counter.
6) Amenities are good with toothbrush/paste, shaver as well as the usual bath amenities.
7) The water pressure and temperature was not consistent hence be prepared to get extreme hot and cold water during your bath.
8) Bed and pillows were comfortable.
9) No HBO and Star Movies Channel
10) Internet wifi connection is poor. Most of the time, my devices could not detect the wifi network in the hotel. So its quite a waste having 24hr access plan.

Not sure about the location as I was just travelling between office and hotel. I was staying at level 8 and has a view of the nearby construction sites. It was not noisy throughout my stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review. I am very sorry to note that your experience was not as positive as that of others on this site but thank you for sharing this with us.

We will review and do the needful in the areas mentioned by you.

Will look forward to welcome you again at The Met

With warm regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The moment that you enter the foyer of the hotel, you realise that its the epitome of understated luxury. It fully deserves its five-star status. The reception is tastefully designed. The check-in process is swift and courteous. While I was waiting for them to check me in, I visited an art gallery in the basement and had my cultural fix of the day. The rooms are adequately sized, slightly on the smaller size, but that is something that you would expect in a metro city. The wash area is thoughtfully designed. The hotel even has a swimming pool and a spa for those looking for relaxation, though I did not avail of these facilities. The food is excellent. The hotel boasts of three restaurants - an Indian one serving delicious local delicacies, a world food restaurant that serves the typical Chinese and Continental dishes and then there's Sakura, a multi-award winning speciality Japanese Cuisine serving fine dining place. I definitely recommend at least one visit to the latter during your stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to share your experience with rest of the world. We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us and thank you very much for rating our reception as tastefully designed,checkin process swift & courteous, rooms adequately sized, washarea thoughtfully designed, food as excellent. We also thank you for special mention about our Chutney Bar + Tandoor Restaurant, Zing Restaurant & Sakura Restaurant, our art gallery Art Spice.

We strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#63 of 649 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,909 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#24 of 649 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#178 of 649 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,593 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#37 of 649 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,528 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Suryaa New Delhi
The Suryaa New Delhi
#65 of 649 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Address: Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#29 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#31 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#52 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE METROPOLITAN HOTEL & SPA, New Delhi, a newly renovated Five Star Deluxe full service hotel, is located in the heart of the business and commercial hub of New Delhi, and provides easy access to most of the corporate and financial centres, ministries, embassies and the International Trade Fair grounds. THE MET is the perfect destination for an international traveler looking for easy access to doing business in New Delhi. This urban oasis in its New Avatar with its luxurious ambiance and lush landscaping is an experience in itself. THE MET, a fine blend of style and substance, is a member of Luxury Collection of Great Hotels of The World, an international hotel marketing brand. Each of the meticulously designed guest rooms and suites at the hotel features personalized comfort, luxury and all the necessary amenities to satisfy the modern discerning traveler. The Met houses renowned restaurants to mesmerize guests with eclectic options to choose from distinctive dining and wining experiences. To the global gourmet, The Met offers the award winning Sakura, India's first Japanese restaurant, Chutney, Bar + Tandoor, offering dinners an indigenous fusion of pan–Indian cuisine, Zing, the all-day world cuisine restaurant featuring an international platter set to tantalize the taste buds. The Met has been awarded with Certificate of Excellence 2012 by Tripadvisor, Best Hotel India by International Hotel Awards Asia Pacific and Luxury City Hotel 2012 by World Luxury Hotel Awards.In addition, The Met has a full service Business Center, Club Lounge, stylish Banquet Halls and Meeting Venues, Neoveda Health Spa with Swimming Pool to provide the extras that our corporate business traveler expects. The hotel is home to Craft House a luxury lifestyle store, with its exclusive range of Indian handicrafts, pashmina, jewelry, Ayurvedic spa products and the most unusual and unique Indian tea selections. The Met’s passion for excellence endeavors not only to satisfy, but also to surpass all the needs of its guests to ensure that they LIVE MET SMART. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel And Spa New Delhi
Metropolitan New Delhi
Hotel Metropolitan Nikko New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel Nikko Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.