We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, good restaurants, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi to your Saves list
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
djmarty2002
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, good restaurants, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Metropolitan during the last week of December and had a great experience. It is in a really good location and close to shopping and Central New Delhi. There is a great government emporium complex just a 5 minute walk from the place where you get great deals on clothing and souvenirs and great prices without the need for bargaining. The rooms are comfortable and clean. All of their restaurants are great...the Indian restaurant has great food, the Japanese one is one of the best in India and their breakfast is ample and delicious. The spa was an average experience but overall, I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The Club Rooms have wi-fi included in the cost and either one way or round trip airport transfers in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to share your experience with rest of the world. We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us.

We strive to go above and beyond in terms of service & hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    365
    106
    22
    12
See reviews for
138
214
73
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow,Middx
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent hotel and friendly staff. The rooms were better than expected. Clean and well managed hotel. Made a mistake of eating the buffet meal at the hotel restuarant in the evening without checking out the prices - Got burnt badly. Should have gone to "Chutney Bar" which seemed better valued and more choice. Learnt a lesson. Other than that great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to share your experience with rest of the world. We are overjoyed to read that you had such a Great stay with us.

Regarding prices in restaurant please be rest assured as we do conduct a regular price comparison exercise to ensure we stay in line with the price trend in the local area among our category of hotels.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Met is very good hotel, rooms are clean, restaurant very good and SPA very nice. The experience was very good, all the staff was very helpful and the waiters in all the restaurants were very nice guys. The location is okay, I chose because it is next to Connaught Place which looks like hell now because is being rebuilt, so it looks like a boom fell on it and it was destroyed. So, location doesn't matter for now. Hotel can look a little cold, but the people can make it warm for you.

Room Tip: Choose front view room because on weekends the pool may have party and they make a lot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

“Very Good Hotel.” Wow, what a compliment, thank you! We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us.

We at The Met strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is centrally located, and the rooms are very nice and comfortable. There is a Sikh temple around the corner and it’s a 10-15 min walk to Connaught Place. There is a nice gym and spa with steam room. Service is cheerful and competent. Everything went smoothly and there were no issues. As in many Indian hotels, wifi is a chargeable service and is rather expensive. This really should change. Anywhere else in the world wifi is a free amenity even in budget motels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

“Very Nice Hotel.” Wow, what a compliment, thank you! We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us.

We at The Met strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kesgrave
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I booked two club rooms for two nights at the beginning of December for some meetings I had in Delhi. I stayed here about a year ago and no significant changes to report.

The hotel is central and if you want to walk to Connaught Place you can do it in about 15 min or around 50 INR in an auto-rick so it is reasonably central.

I had an airport pick-up included in the room rate and although I called before leaving Mumbai to give my flight details there was no driver waiting when I arrived. I called the hotel and 25min later the driver was there.

Check in no problem and with club rooms there is access to the club lounge with soft drinks and snacks and a happy hour with alcohol at some point in the evening.

I did have another issue with the free internet access in the club room package which after referring the management team to hotel website we resolved and I received for free but apart from that no other issues.

The hotel is showing it's age in places but is a reasonable standard and the guests are a mix of international business travellers and tourists. Rooms are ok with flat screen tv, mini bar etc. You do get a fair bit of noise through the windows and during wedding season that can keep you tapping along to the band until the early hours of the morning.

I would probably say here again as it is relatively good value for a central Delhi hotel where international hotels cost about the same as London.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback here. We are happy to note that you found our hotel as Reasonably priced & well located. Regarding your experience with the airport pick up and free wifi we regret the inconvenience caused to you and the team has been briefed to be very very careful.

We will look forward to your return visit to our hotel in the near future

With Warm regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel is well appointed well fitted out. We were delayed in arriving for a 3 night stay and when I informed the staff they fixed it all up. No hassles.The staff are very helpful and I would certainly stay here again. One of the benefits is that it is close to a small shopping area for Indian sweets, snacks and liquor if you want to have a night in.
Just across the road is the government shopping emporium for those who don't want to be harrassed on the street when they want to pick something up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to share your experience with rest of the world. We are overjoyed to read that you had such an excellent stay with us and thank you very much for rating our location as good and staff very helpful.

We strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed there for 3 days during my visit to Delhi. The room is excellent , great bathroom ,well fitted and equipped. I liked the breakfast and the very patient and friendly waiter there. I definitely recommend staying in this hotel. A great little day spa equipped to meet all of your spa needs. The spa is clean and up to date with many nice spa amenities. A wonderful full body massage which highlighted all of my "trouble" spots. My massage therapist was excellent. She found all of my knots and did not stop until she got rid of them. Honestly, one of the best massages that I have ever had!! I would highly recommend this spa to anyone looking for a skilled massage therapist.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank a lot for such an wonderful review. We are excited to read it

The Met team is committed to extend the world class hospitality and excellent services with brand new rennovated products to its guests. Your recognition of our efforts motivates us.

The Met team will look forward to welcome you again

Thanks & Regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Address: Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#30 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#42 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#58 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE METROPOLITAN HOTEL & SPA, New Delhi, a newly renovated Five Star Deluxe full service hotel, is located in the heart of the business and commercial hub of New Delhi, and provides easy access to most of the corporate and financial centres, ministries, embassies and the International Trade Fair grounds. THE MET is the perfect destination for an international traveler looking for easy access to doing business in New Delhi. This urban oasis in its New Avatar with its luxurious ambiance and lush landscaping is an experience in itself. THE MET, a fine blend of style and substance, is a member of Luxury Collection of Great Hotels of The World, an international hotel marketing brand. Each of the meticulously designed guest rooms and suites at the hotel features personalized comfort, luxury and all the necessary amenities to satisfy the modern discerning traveler. The Met houses renowned restaurants to mesmerize guests with eclectic options to choose from distinctive dining and wining experiences. To the global gourmet, The Met offers the award winning Sakura, India's first Japanese restaurant, Chutney, Bar + Tandoor, offering dinners an indigenous fusion of pan–Indian cuisine, Zing, the all-day world cuisine restaurant featuring an international platter set to tantalize the taste buds. The Met has been awarded with Certificate of Excellence 2012 by Tripadvisor, Best Hotel India by International Hotel Awards Asia Pacific and Luxury City Hotel 2012 by World Luxury Hotel Awards.In addition, The Met has a full service Business Center, Club Lounge, stylish Banquet Halls and Meeting Venues, Neoveda Health Spa with Swimming Pool to provide the extras that our corporate business traveler expects. The hotel is home to Craft House a luxury lifestyle store, with its exclusive range of Indian handicrafts, pashmina, jewelry, Ayurvedic spa products and the most unusual and unique Indian tea selections. The Met’s passion for excellence endeavors not only to satisfy, but also to surpass all the needs of its guests to ensure that they LIVE MET SMART. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel And Spa New Delhi
Metropolitan New Delhi
Hotel Metropolitan Nikko New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel Nikko Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.