We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price and location in an expensive hotel city” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi to your Saves list
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Kesgrave
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Reasonable price and location in an expensive hotel city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I booked two club rooms for two nights at the beginning of December for some meetings I had in Delhi. I stayed here about a year ago and no significant changes to report.

The hotel is central and if you want to walk to Connaught Place you can do it in about 15 min or around 50 INR in an auto-rick so it is reasonably central.

I had an airport pick-up included in the room rate and although I called before leaving Mumbai to give my flight details there was no driver waiting when I arrived. I called the hotel and 25min later the driver was there.

Check in no problem and with club rooms there is access to the club lounge with soft drinks and snacks and a happy hour with alcohol at some point in the evening.

I did have another issue with the free internet access in the club room package which after referring the management team to hotel website we resolved and I received for free but apart from that no other issues.

The hotel is showing it's age in places but is a reasonable standard and the guests are a mix of international business travellers and tourists. Rooms are ok with flat screen tv, mini bar etc. You do get a fair bit of noise through the windows and during wedding season that can keep you tapping along to the band until the early hours of the morning.

I would probably say here again as it is relatively good value for a central Delhi hotel where international hotels cost about the same as London.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback here. We are happy to note that you found our hotel as Reasonably priced & well located. Regarding your experience with the airport pick up and free wifi we regret the inconvenience caused to you and the team has been briefed to be very very careful.

We will look forward to your return visit to our hotel in the near future

With Warm regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    437
    147
    59
    37
See reviews for
158
283
120
273
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel is well appointed well fitted out. We were delayed in arriving for a 3 night stay and when I informed the staff they fixed it all up. No hassles.The staff are very helpful and I would certainly stay here again. One of the benefits is that it is close to a small shopping area for Indian sweets, snacks and liquor if you want to have a night in.
Just across the road is the government shopping emporium for those who don't want to be harrassed on the street when they want to pick something up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to share your experience with rest of the world. We are overjoyed to read that you had such an excellent stay with us and thank you very much for rating our location as good and staff very helpful.

We strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed there for 3 days during my visit to Delhi. The room is excellent , great bathroom ,well fitted and equipped. I liked the breakfast and the very patient and friendly waiter there. I definitely recommend staying in this hotel. A great little day spa equipped to meet all of your spa needs. The spa is clean and up to date with many nice spa amenities. A wonderful full body massage which highlighted all of my "trouble" spots. My massage therapist was excellent. She found all of my knots and did not stop until she got rid of them. Honestly, one of the best massages that I have ever had!! I would highly recommend this spa to anyone looking for a skilled massage therapist.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank a lot for such an wonderful review. We are excited to read it

The Met team is committed to extend the world class hospitality and excellent services with brand new rennovated products to its guests. Your recognition of our efforts motivates us.

The Met team will look forward to welcome you again

Thanks & Regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

There was a slight complication at first in that I requested a room with a bath (not a shower). But when I explained they immediately changed the room and I got my bath. The staff are super helpful and friendly. My luggage had been lost by Air India and they really helped to get it to me a lot faster than I think I would have been able to have arranged. The lovely staff in the bar insisted we try a dessert (for free) when we were having a night cap at the bar one evening.

The location is very good for visiting the sights and the bell boys extremely helpful in arranging taxis and explaining where and what we wanted to do.

The rooms maybe beginning to show a little wear and tear but were very clean and acceptable particularly as the price we paid was very good. I found the staff really made this hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a bath you get a shower anyway and I think these rooms are probably a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank a lot for such an wonderful review. We are excited to read it

The Met team is committed to extend the world class hospitality and excellent services with brand new rennovated products to its guests. Your recognition of our efforts motivates us.

The Met team will look forward to welcome you again

Thanks & Regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here with a friend in November and we were both disappointed with our experience overall. The staff was friendly and the food was good, however the rooms were just okay, and the spa experience was not good at all-the staff in the spa were not welcoming and the experience was not relaxing. For the price this hotel was definitely not worth the money and we would not consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review. I am very sorry to note that your experience at our Spa was not as positive as that of others on this site but thank you for sharing this with us.

We will do the needful on highest priority

We will look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again

Thanks & Regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

i'm sure that there is many more hotels in Delhi better than this for same price...
Rooms are ok, i booked a room with washbowl they gave me a room without. i asked why it happened, they said because hotel is full and they changed in the evening. Spa is ok but nothing special. But it's near to center... My first and last time...

Room Tip: Pool side is loudy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review. I am very sorry to note that your experience was not as positive as that of others on this site but thank you for sharing this with us.

I apologise for the inconvenience caused to you due to delay in providing you the room with wash bowl. We will be more careful in future.

We look forward to welcome you back to the hotel so we can prove ourselves to be better hosts.

Thanks & Regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Arrived at the hotel met on the 1st Dec, after looking online I'd advise not booking airport cab through the hotel unless you're not worried about the cost. Think its 1500rps though hotel, cost us 500 from the stand at Delhi airport. Anyway that aside first thing you notice about the hotel is the security on the way in, gated etc, cars checked and security on the door, all good.

Hotel is pretty impressive inside, all very clean throughout; staff everywhere, and they were very very helpful. We stayed on the third floor, room 306, decent twin room, not overly large and no balcony but it was the cheaper of the rooms so all good. Nice and clean, decent tv and not overly priced mini bar, compared to some of the better hotels in delhi.

Bathroom very clean, they cleaned daily & changed towels, made beds etc. We also had another bed put in our room last couple of nights, they were very quick to do all this and deliver us plug adaptors at 2am; again the staff here could not be more helpfull. I would say the shower in the spa downstairs was much better than the shower in our room (ours didnt have great pressure when on full heat), just a small niggle.

We ate breakfast once in the hotel which is included; its okay, nothing spectacular; the japanese restaurant on the other hand is fantastic, its not cheap by any means, three of us with a few beers cost around £180 but we ordered a large selection of sushi and sashimi. I think you could eat there much cheaper if you went for a couple of bento boxes without the alcohol.

Highly recommend this hotel, staff are great, rooms very clean, spa excellent (but not cheap, restaurants the same. A couple of words of warning, tax is around another 25%, room tax, luxury tax, food tax, room service etc etc, you end up paying quite a bit more, just make sure you budget for it. Also I secured the booking online with a debit card, I didn't realise when we arrived that they took 30,000rps deposit on the card; this took two weeks to be refunded; in hindsight I should have used a credit card to secure the booking.

Overall had a great stay here, I thought the staff (like everyone in India) were extremely friendly and helpful; the hotel location is great (you cna get a tuktuk outside into connaught place for about 20/50rps - if you see an older driver called justone on the opposite side of the road, he's very good and honest, charged us 100rps an hour for a mini tour of Delhi.

Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Apparently the higher the better, top two floors are the club & delux rooms I think, not sure wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

“Great Location,Affordable clean rooms, lovely escape in this crazy city" .” Wow, what a compliment, thank you! We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us.

We, at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa,, strive to go above and beyond in terms of service and hospiltality and for you to feel compelled to post your experience of this on to Trip Advisor is much appreciated.

We will look forward to welcome you back again

With warmest regards

Sanzeev Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Address: Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#28 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#28 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#46 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#56 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE METROPOLITAN HOTEL & SPA, New Delhi, a newly renovated Five Star Deluxe full service hotel, is located in the heart of the business and commercial hub of New Delhi, and provides easy access to most of the corporate and financial centres, ministries, embassies and the International Trade Fair grounds. THE MET is the perfect destination for an international traveler looking for easy access to doing business in New Delhi. This urban oasis in its New Avatar with its luxurious ambiance and lush landscaping is an experience in itself. THE MET, a fine blend of style and substance, is a member of Luxury Collection of Great Hotels of The World, an international hotel marketing brand. Each of the meticulously designed guest rooms and suites at the hotel features personalized comfort, luxury and all the necessary amenities to satisfy the modern discerning traveler. The Met houses renowned restaurants to mesmerize guests with eclectic options to choose from distinctive dining and wining experiences. To the global gourmet, The Met offers the award winning Sakura, India's first Japanese restaurant, Chutney, Bar + Tandoor, offering dinners an indigenous fusion of pan–Indian cuisine, Zing, the all-day world cuisine restaurant featuring an international platter set to tantalize the taste buds. The Met has been awarded with Certificate of Excellence 2012 by Tripadvisor, Best Hotel India by International Hotel Awards Asia Pacific and Luxury City Hotel 2012 by World Luxury Hotel Awards.In addition, The Met has a full service Business Center, Club Lounge, stylish Banquet Halls and Meeting Venues, Neoveda Health Spa with Swimming Pool to provide the extras that our corporate business traveler expects. The hotel is home to Craft House a luxury lifestyle store, with its exclusive range of Indian handicrafts, pashmina, jewelry, Ayurvedic spa products and the most unusual and unique Indian tea selections. The Met’s passion for excellence endeavors not only to satisfy, but also to surpass all the needs of its guests to ensure that they LIVE MET SMART. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel And Spa New Delhi
Metropolitan New Delhi
Hotel Metropolitan Nikko New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel Nikko Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.