We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Le meridian I’ve stayed at.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien New Delhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien New Delhi to your Saves list
Le Meridien New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Windsor Place, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Abu Dhabi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Worst Le meridian I’ve stayed at.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2006

Depressing, gloomy, and dirty. We stayed there for 3 nights and it was just awful. I wouldn’t stay there ever again, and to be honest I don’t think I’ll ever go to Delhi ever again either.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    460
    120
    35
    28
See reviews for
164
260
118
517
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2006

Where to begin? I booked a $170 club level, non-smoking room. When I arrived, I was informed that there were no non-smoking club level rooms available. So I was placed in a regular room ... at the club level price. No negotiation.

Then there was the construction. Currently, the hotel is undergoing renovation, and construction lasts until 9 or 9:30 depending upon who you ask. Regardless, if you like listening to drill and hammers until 9:30 at night, this is the hotel for you. When I complained, the staff offered to move me to a room that is out of earshot of the construction. When I complained to the duty manager, then the manager, I received no reply. Customer comfort is not important to the staff here.

Finally, I was appalled to find the the hotel gym is smaller than my room. Three running machines, an exercise bike, and a weight set. That's it. Oh, and the pool was closed.

STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE! I have visited 29 countries, and this is the worst so-called "luxury hotel" experience that I have ever had. THE WORST.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2006

We were booked into stay at one of the 2 bedroom suites - my brother, his wife, my wife and I - for USD750per night (brekkie included) it was extremely average - huge! but straight out of the 80's. Was also cold!! - no heating. When I asked reception and the hotel manager they claimed that none of the 5 star hotels in New Delhi were centrally heated - I found this very surprising!

In any case after complaining about how disappointed we were they moved us to the recently renovated wing in the hotel but into two separate suites - very nice club suites indeed - plasma screens, polished floorboards, sep lounge, huge bathroom. But again no heating! - but for some reason the rooms seemed warmer - I figured probably because they were on the side of the hotel that got the sun! - they did give us a couple of small electric heaters!

The bathroom - first shower my wife had the drain got clogged and I had to call maintenance!

Overall - quite disappointed given what we were paying!!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2006

spent two nights in Le Mer, New Delhi, then away for five days and back for two more nights. Lobby is very stark, simplistic, New Age. rooms are spartan, but nice: hardwood floors, shimmery tile in baths, sparse furniture, good electronic outputs/inputs (42 inch flat screen TV for World Cup games !!)

breakfast buffet (in fact all meals in 24-hour coffee shop) was very nice. a little NON-western....where's my crisp bacon ? ... but excellent service and variety. staff was superb. had a burnt out light bulb....called downstairs, replaced in 10 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2006

This is a modern, comfortable large hotel. It is very well situated. The lobby is huge, very contemporary, always busy. The rooms are very well designed, with all the mod cons. The service is excellent. The breakfast is fine - not amazing.
The Indian restaurant is absolutely brilliant. Much, much better than the ridiculously touristic, over priced, hugely over rated Sehraton's Bukhara. And much cheaper, too!

We loved the light wooden floors, the comfy slippers, the central control console next to the bed, the large plasma TV and the well equipped mini bar. There is no bath yub, just a shower, but a very nice one!
One complaint would be, that it ws not possible to change the room temperature, which, albeit airconditioned, was not as cool as we like it. Having said that - it was quite pleasant.

Thr Business Club is nicely done but too dark for our liking. Some more lights there would be nice.

If you like character and old world feel, and price is no issue, choose the Oriental. If you like contemporary "business like" hotel - choose Le Meridien.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien New Delhi

Address: Windsor Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#27 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien Delhi
New Delhi Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.