We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable hotel stay but needs one improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien New Delhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien New Delhi to your Saves list
Le Meridien New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Windsor Place, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 606 Hotels in New Delhi
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Enjoyable hotel stay but needs one improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed at the Le Meridien New Delhi for three nights in February 2013. Instead of hallways with rooms on both sides, the rooms were arranged in a circular fashion on each floor with the other side exposed/opened. The room was spacious and clean, with all the usual modern amenities for comfort. I especially like the device on the nightstand to control the lighting in the room. I liked the spacious shower.

The hotel is centrally located close to Connaught Place (called CP by the local people), which was just about a mile away. I didn’t walk to the nearby attractions (i.e. India Gate) but the hotel website indicated that they were quite close.

I had breakfast buffet at the casual restaurant. The international food was delicious with a good selection of items to choose from. I also dined at the same restaurant for dinner twice. The dinner buffet was quite expensive, and the selection was not as good as the breakfast one, although they had a variety of dessert items. On the second night, I ordered the mushroom pizza that tasted a bit sour, perhaps it was the variety of mushrooms (I believe the waiter said enoki) they used that do not quite complement pizzas.

The staff was efficient and friendly. The only person who didn’t appear to have experience working at a hotel of this caliber is Sunil who supposedly was the manager of drivers at the Tour Desk, which I was told by the reception desk is the Concierge Desk. He needs training in customer service. I had wanted to use the car service again for a pick up at 11pm the next night. I felt safer arranging transportation in advance for that time of the night. He tried to discourage me from using the private car services a second time by indicating that it wasn’t worth it for the hotel to take me to/pick me up from CP for just 375 rupees each way, which actually is more than three times more than using just a regular taxi for a five minute drive to a place about a mile away. It’s unbelievable that a manager would prevent a customer from using the hotel’s car services. Perhaps the hotel should not offer the car services to CP in the first place or hire a person who understands customer service. I was surprised that a Starwood hotel of this type doesn’t appear to have a bonafide Concierge desk. I had wanted to book some city tours through the hotel but decided not to based on Sunil’s unprofessionalism.

Aside from that one incident, I enjoyed staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meenabhatia, Vice President- Operations & Marketing at Le Meridien New Delhi, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for sharing this detailed, meaningful and truly valuable feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are very glad to hear that you like the interiors and the hotel architecture; we take great pride in this and are recognised for our modern and contemporary styling. Our Atrium lobby allows a sense of open space, this is what our valued guests, like yourself, really appreciate.

Our associates gratefully acknowledge your kind words of appreciation for their service delivery, we feel proud by that you mention this. Likewise your appreciation of our shower, bedside control panel and other in room features , is really very meaningful to us as it is through these touch points that we ensure that our guests stay is comfortable and relaxing. Our Chef is also very happy to learn that you enjoyed food at "The One" our all day dining restaurant. And of course he has made a note of your concern about the Mushroom Pizza, he encourages this feedback as it provides him an opportunity to enhance and upgrade on a regular basis.

We truly regret your experience with our Travel services associate, we are glad that you address this and bring it to attention. I also regret that you were not rightly directed to our Concierge, we have a highly experienced concierge team in addition to the travel services team to assist our guests. We have noted your feedback with great concern and assure you that this has our immediate attention.

We hope that you will return again and give us an opportunity to serve you.

Thank you once again

Best Regards

Meena Bhatia
Vice President-Operations& Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    449
    113
    33
    27
See reviews for
160
251
116
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Like many Meridian hotels, this one also fulfills all the requirements announced on their amenities page. Confortable, staff friendly and cooperative. Although Indian Cuisine is rather heavy and spicy, you have plenty of choice to have a digestable food. ( with the abundance of various spices, you may have some digestion problem any time in India ). Both breakfast and dinner were very satisfactory.

The major issue for us was the air conditionning. In cold winter days, you need some heating in rooms but even you bring the termostate to its maximum, AC blows only fresh (!) air. Instead, they suggest you to bring an electrical heater. For a 5* hotel of that reputation, this sounds a bit funny !

The hotels is well located in a clean and centrally located area (10 mn. to walk to Connaught Place) and you have plenty of restaurants around. Unless you expect the standard of any Meridian hotel in EU countries, you may stay in this hotel without any worry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meenabhatia, Vice President- Operations & Marketing at Le Meridien New Delhi, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for sharing this valuable review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed the hotel services, location and amenities.

We regret that you found most of the food spicy; we also have on offer an array of lightly seasoned international cuisine, we regret that our associates did not guide you on this. Our Chef notes this with concern, and will be happy to review this internally.

We also do regret that your room temperature was not comfortable; the temperature control was not effective. We completely understand your concern and value your feedback; this certainly has our immediate attention.

We hope that you will return and enjoy a more enhanced experience next time. Do allow us the opportunity to serve you better.

Thank you once again

Best Regards
Meena Bhatia
Vice President
Operations & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights early January 2013. The hotel is quite busy, and has a modern design with lavish interior decoration. Breakfast and dinner buffets were great with tons of variety and a mix of cuisines. We paid good rates through a travel agency, but am not sure how expensive it is. It is certainly worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meenabhatia, Meena Bhatia Vice President Operations & Marketing at Le Meridien New Delhi, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor

We are very happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay, thank you for your appreciation of our hotel design and style. We take great pride in our contemporary and chic interiors and feel delighted that you liked it too.

Our chef is happy that you liked the offerings on the buffet; we do a range of Indian cuisine and international food seasoned lightly to suit varied palates.

We feel encouraged by your feedback and this will definitely drive us to do better

Hope that you will return and enjoy similar and perhaps more enhanced experience in future.
Thank you

Best Regards


Meena Bhatia
Vice President
Operations & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

It was really an amazing experience for us. I stayed at Le Meridien Hotel with my family for 3 nights. The Metro stations are located around the hotel. You can easily reach the hotel. The Rooms were really very good and clean. The food was amazing. The service was very good and staff was very nice. We really had a very good time and enjoyed a lot. Will plan again to go there in future.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and spacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meenabhatia, Vice President- Operations & Marketing at Le Meridien New Delhi, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay here with us with your family.

We are truly delighted to receive this wonderful review, more so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed staying with us. Our City centre location is most certainly helpful, as it not only connects you well to the rest of the city but offers a great view of Lutyen's Delhi and the capital's historic monuments.

Thank you also for your kind words of appreciation for the room and its upkeep, our food & beverage options and the service delivery by our associates.

We feel very encouraged by your feedback; this truly drives us to offer similar and more enhanced guests experiences in future.

Thank you, we await your visit

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Le Meridien Hotel is a centrally place situated Five Star hotel in Delhi.It is situated near the Throne.One can reach any part of the city with not much difficulty.Many Metro Stations are located in and around the hotel i.e. Central Secretariat,Patel Chowk,Mandi House,Rajeev Chowk and of course soon to be opened Janpath Metro.Other modes of transport are inabundance.While staying in this hotel one can not only shop in places like Janpath,Connaught Place,Bengali Market but also can bask in spiritualism in places like Hanuman Mandir,Gurudwara Bangla Sahib and Rakab Ganj,Moti Masjid and Dargah of Hazrat Nizamuddin and some historical churches near Rakab Ganj Road.
Good Architect and spacious rooms are other plus point and Room Service Deptt. of this hotel is fantastic,very well disciplined,thoughtful and helpful to the needs of the guests .The Rooms are fitted with modern gadgets.The guests are being looked after very well.In the evening they are invited for High Tea and also Happy Hours.These facilities are available on the House at 20th Floor of the Hotel.The best eating place which I liked is 'Ole'. 'Monsoon' is also good but not to beat 'Ole'.I donot have a good opinion about 'NERO' bar.Whereas the restaurant is full of smiling faces and helping hands 'NERO' bar gives a guest attitudinal and behaviourial indifference.While in Delhi Le Meridien is the most happening Place.
Regards
Trilok Deep

Room Tip: Every Room is Good and well designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meenabhatia, Vice President- Operations & Marketing at Le Meridien New Delhi, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to have been your choice of hotel in New Delhi and grateful for your review on Trip Advisor.

It is heartening to know that being the best hotel in Connaught Place, New Delhi, our central location proved to be a great experience for you and it enabled you to access a host of popular sights. Moreover we are also glad that you enjoyed our contemporary style and design and the room amenities that we thoughtfully present.

Also, it is great to hear that you enjoyed the food and beverage service during your stay, our restaurants The One, Eau de Monsoon and Le Belvedere are very popular among our guests and visitors.

We do regret your experience at Nero; we note this with a serious concern and will certainly address this.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us and we would be delighted to serve you again.

Best Regards
Meena Bhatia
Vice President- Operations & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for an office party in their banquet hall. The ambience is definitely modern and their lobby is excellent. The space is pretty huge and their interiors are good. The service and food is quite good and the spread at the banquet was filled with choices. Overall, a much enjoyed and peaceful experience at Le Meridien!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meenabhatia, Vice President - Operations & Marketing at Le Meridien New Delhi, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are truly delighted to receive such a positive review from you on TripAdvisor and would like to thank you for sharing your stay experience with us.

It is a pleasure to learn that you liked our Hotel's style and design and enjoyed the services delivered by our associates. Our Lobby, in particular, is popular amongst the local community, especially for its creative settings. Your appreciation of our restaurants is really encouraging too; our chef joins in to gratefully acknowledge your appreciation,

It will be a pleasure to have you at our hotel again and offer you similar and more inspiring experiences.


Best Regards

Meena Bhatia
Vice President- Operations & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frimley Green, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was a really good experience for us. After a gruelling journey in India, staying in some horrible hotels, this hotel was a welcome relief. They upgraded us to a suite which was just gorgeous with stunning views across Delhi. Very clean and comfortable. The staff were lovely and made us feel really special. Complimentary fruit and chocolates in the room.
The reception area is stunning. I would say this is more than comparable to other 5 star hotels I have stayed in elsewhere in the world.
My only criticism is that the wine in the restaurant and bars is very expensive.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meenabhatia, Vice President Operations & Marketing at Le Meridien New Delhi, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay with us and for sharing this wonderful review on Trip advisor

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay here. Your appreciation of the upgrade offered and the amenities served is really kind. Thank you

We feel truly encouraged by your feedback , we assure you of our continued efforts to provide similar experiences to all our guests , and we hope that on your next visit as well you will enjoy a our services.


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien New Delhi

Address: Windsor Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#16 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#25 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#28 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien Delhi
New Delhi Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.