We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but food not impressive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien New Delhi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien New Delhi to your Saves list
Le Meridien New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Windsor Place, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location but food not impressive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stay is overall comfortable. Staff was helpful in finding the nearby speciality restaurents. The food was not very impressive and seemed repetative during the stay of 4 days. The location is fantastic and would recommend walking around the parliament / rajpath as time permits.The view of Delhi from higher floors is spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meenabhatia, Vice President-Operations & Marketing at Le Meridien New Delhi, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent stay at our hotel and for sharing your valuable review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, being in the heart of the Indian capital, not only do our guests enjoy the breathtaking view of the city's iconic buildings and monuments, but also our guests feel well connected to the main shopping areas, commercial centre and the places of interest.

We do regret your disappointment with the food. Our Chef takes your feedback constructively to ensure that more choices are made available for our guests in future.

We hope that you will return to enjoy our services and facilities; we look forward to offering an enhanced dining experience

Best Regards

Meena Bhatia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    537
    140
    39
    28
See reviews for
200
304
125
570
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have travelled professionally to Delhi and india for the last 10 years and have tested many hotel alternatives there. Le Meridien Delhi is one where I have stayed many times the last year. So far and for different reasons i have not written any review. Now is time for one, which I hope will help both travellers and Le Meridien's management.
Le Meridien has been a good hotel with Indian standard, but competition is getting tough with newer hotels or re-furbished ones.
Below are examples of issues the management should address:
Cleanliness:
Cleaning in the rooms definitely needs improvement. During my last visits, there were stains on the walls, on the mirrors and the bathroom floor. These remained for the time of my visit, though i informed the staff. One could also see the corridor was not vacuumed for five days, with same dirt on the rugs.
Breakfast and food:
Everywhere, from the ground level restaurant to the lounge on 20th floor, you will get your clothes impregnated with that breakfast food smell of fried eggs. Breakfast choice is ok, but the environment at ground level is very stressful and unpleasant. Furniture etc. Are not wiped after each customer remaining quite unclean.
The lounge offers smacks and beverage to whom gets access which is usual in Delhi. However, lounge is dull and depressing with very odd music played at a high level. Even when very thirsty, you will not look forward to a visit there... Breakfast is also served there in the morning, which is the best alternative.
A last critical point is the quality of the air inside the hotel. In India, you cannot avoid certain smells in the urban areas. Most of the hotels seem to find creative solutions to diminish the inconvenient.
In Le Meridien, the air is quite bad, with very strong smells, sometimes from cookery and sometimes of burning garbage. I woke up several times of the smell.
I realize I have just written a rather negative review of a place I used to appreciate. May this Le Meridien to improve and live up to its somehow surprising new status as traveller's choice 2012. Currently, there seem to be a number of better alternatives for the same price, with better comfort, amenities and quality in general. I will probably stay in one of them the next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meenabhatia, Vice President-Operations & Marketing at Le Meridien New Delhi, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having been a guest at our hotel for over a decade. Thank you also for sharing your valuable feedback through this review on Tripadvisor.

We truly appreciate your comments and suggestions, we understand that being a well wisher of our hotel, and you share this in good spirit. We assure you that we view your feedback very positively and assure you of our immediate attention to this.

We have made a note of your suggestion about the lounge, its ambience and service. Additionally we have reviewed your feedback about the air quality and we are working on a suitable solution to overcome this. We have internally also reviewed your feedback about the maintenance and cleanliness standards.

We take great pride in our design and style, subsequent to our renovations the Hotel interiors and ambience have received great reviews from our guests and well wishers like yourself..
We assure you that we will keep up the service standards that we have been delivering in the past. We remain committed towards excellence in service delivery and I am sure that you will experience a truly enhanced and inspiring service

We await your visit.

Best Regards.
Meena Bhatia
Vive President-Marketing & Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have just returned from a pleasant stay at the Le Meridien Delhi. The hotel is set in a green leafy area of Delhi and offers many facilities for tourists and business travellers alike. The restaurants and bars are modern and the staff pleasant. The Indian restaurant Monsoon was particularly good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Le Meridien International features limo/town car service. Wireless Internet access is complimentary in public areas. The staff can provide concierge services, tour assistance, and currency exchange. The 39 air-conditioned guestrooms at Meridien international include complimentary newspapers and ceiling fans. Rooms are equipped with LCD televisions with premium satellite channelsAdditional amenities include 24-hour room service, dry cleaning/laundry services, and a porter/bellhop. For a surcharge, guests receive transportation including a roundtrip airport shuttle (available on request) and a train station pick-up service.

Room Tip: Take the Rooms that have city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigantine, New Jersey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

beautiful, ultra modern, stylish. peaceful roooms are a great retreat to recover from the super stimulation of a day on the tourist circuit.

Buffet food was delicious and had both western and eastern choices.

Nice shopping arcade with high end choices

Bar had smoking room; so non smokers could have a pleasant experience.

Hotel security superb.

No comment on business services, but would certainly recommend this hotel for vacationing travelers to Delhi

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was not my first trip to New Delhi nor India so I have a fair bit of experience.

I'll get the #1 issue with this hotel out of the way - the wif-fi was horrifically weak, slow, unreliable and over priced. May seem trivial, but if you're there for business and need to work, it's a major major issue. If you just want to do the occasional social email (and pay for it), it's tolerable.

The location of the hotel is great for tourists or business. Lobby & rooms very clean, eating areas generally not clean. Gym is very clean & well equipped. Roof top pool and patio are very good. Didn't use spa nor busienss centre. Elevators fast and relaible. Decor dated - 80's, but fine.

Travel desk can arrange tours for you. Did a quick (8 hour) Delhi tour for fun, was 5000Rs but came with guide, driver and new BMW 520Ci car for 8 hours. You can see lots, but not as much as you may think as points of interest are spaced out and traffic is always terrible. Sometimes queues long. Tour guide wanted to bring me to his shops all the time - very annoying, you need to be firm here or you'll waste time (tours, taxis, etc).

There is a general area behind lobby where you can get a drink and snack - service is very poor, despite 3 ladies working there, and few guests. Not very clean. Polite - but slow. Labour is abundant but ineffective.

Front desk is attentive, can make change for you, if you ask you might be able to get a late check out, 3pm, tell them you have a late flight.

Breakfast buffet (included) was a great combination of Indiaa and Western to change things up, very nice. Service generally polite - but slow, tables, under tables and cutlery rarely clean.

Service in Eau de Monsoon was very polite, but very slow. Food was good, small portions, overpriced (even compared to the AMAZING Spice Route in The Imperial) and you could just have the amazing hotel dinner buffet starting at 7pm for $40/each.

Main floor washrooms nice & clean, there's an attendant, tip him 50Rs and he'll be happy.

Door man polite, will call taxi, will tell taxi where you're going, but up to you to negotiate rate ahead of time. Did very little else during my week there, but at end of week he clearly wanted a tip, didnt get/deserve one.

There is a lot of 'labour' standing around, since it is inexpensive, but they dont do much, polite, but slow. Example - there are security people that walk the hallways, and the hotel has an open courtyard in the middle so all the rooms of all the floors are open, you can see everything to supervise. There were kids running up and down the hallways at 2am screaming and randomly banging on doors. I had to go out into the hall and tell the security guard to do his job, he disappeared and the chaos continued. Lame.

Things on a map seem walking distance, but nothing is due to the dirt, beggars, chaos, construction, etc. Take a taxi.

Mini taxis (open air) are super fun and abundant and to go everywhere (except airport) are about 20Rs but you'll pay the toruist rate of 100Rs where ever you go regardless of distance, period. If you care, negotiate ahead, it's only $2. Most speak English well.

Like many other poor countries, taxi drivers will want to take you to shops on the way to earn gas coupons, just be firm, say no and you want to go directly. They usually get snotty about it, but too bad, otherwise you'll waste A LOT of time and get pressure to buy stuff.

For shopping, go to the Craft Museum. It's really nice, government run and prices are 1/5 of elsewhere, seriously. To try a real market but still safe/tame, go to Dilli Haat. Otherwise Khan Market or the market in Old Delhi is fine - but lots of junk and massive chaos.

If you're looking for a true 5 star hotel, check out The Imperial, 2x the price, 4x better.

Cheers

Room Tip: Higher up = better view, lower down = better wi-fi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meenabhatia, Vice President-Operations & Marketing at Le Meridien New Delhi, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for sharing your meaningful review on tripadvisor

We are glad that found our assosiates polite, willing to assist and attentive. We have made a note that you found the service slow in certain areas, your feedback is really meaningful , we will certainly review it.

We have also made a note of your feedback about the service at “The One”, our all day dining restaurant where we have a buffet for Breakfast, lunch and Dinner, Glad that you enjoyed the servings at the Buffet.

We do apologize also for the disturbance due to the other guests in the corridor, especially children. We will certainly address this issue immediately; we always endeavor that our guests should enjoy the quietness of the rooms.

We hope that you will be a guest at our hotel again, allow us to offer you an enriching and inspiring experience.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had hosted an event here in the month of May. After a dismal experience in Mumbai, the support given by the staff at Le Meridien @ Delhi was a pleasant one. They co-ordinated the lights of the room according to our theme at the last minute at their own initiative. They gave me a complimentary room to host a board meeting. They took many more initiatives on their own which made it a pleasant experience to have the event there. They far surpassed my expectations and would love to host another event there anytime.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meenabhatia, Vice President-Operations & Marketing at Le Meridien New Delhi, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank for using our services for the recently concluded business meeting that you had in the capital city. Thank you, also for sharing your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are really glad that our team could assist in making your event successfull, your kind words of appreciation will certainly encourage them to offer similar and more enhanced guest experiences in future.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your future visits and programs

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien New Delhi

Address: Windsor Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#16 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#17 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#21 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#23 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien Delhi
New Delhi Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.