We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury heritage hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
The Imperial Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amersham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Luxury heritage hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2006

Luxury in Delhi. Vaste room, great service. convenient location for the centre of Delhi - Conaught place and the shops: The tibetan market is 2 min walk from the hotel (great for silk but bargain hard), and from the governemental shop- coutry cottage emporium, where prices are fixed (careful that at the exit of the hotel some guys will tell you that it is closed in order to draw you in his shop!). For food try the South East Asian restaurant but keep away from the Italian one.

  • Liked — Luxury and location
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,386
    355
    120
    58
    26
See reviews for
271
723
151
457
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, London and Ibiza
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2006

Where would one start? One of the finest...worldwide. Service as you can only get in Asia. Massive suites. Superb restaurants ...def. try Spice Route and Daniells. Wonderful atmosphere and renovated to a very high standard. I shall stay no where else when in Delhi.

  • Liked — Grandour
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Hotel car to and from airport and for all excursions.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

Yes, it was overwhelmingly terrible. I'll be the one to push the envelope a bit with honesty and I don't care to be popular. Was in Delhi working for an extended period over the summer. Tried Spice Route a few weeks prior our stay at the Imperial and shouldve taken hint that it was indeed not as hyped-up as we thought--horrible service, maitre d'hotel made us wait with menus out in the foyer for 10-15 minutes after the time of our dinner reservation! Our stay for two nights: booked the heritage room and requested a top floor, instead we were relegated to the ground floor--they claimed all the other suites were booked. Fine. The room was OK, unpolished scratched-up wood parquet flooring--wouldve preferred the marble floors on the upper floors. Area rugs were not vacuumed everyday, even when requested. Our bath water was yellow, called the operator and they sent a plumber who just ran the water to clear the rust from the pipes (had to wait approx 30 minutes after he left for the water to clear). Shower water didn't drain fast enough from the stall, I don't particularly like soaking my feet in shower water. Dry cleaning service was abominable--asked to remove a stain from a newly tailored sari and said item was returned in the same condition. When we approached the laundry guy, he said he could take it back and douse it with kerosene to remove the stain! needless to say, we declined. Dining experience at the other hotel restaurant 1911 was hugely disappointing. Chinese dim sum dumplings stuck onto banana leaf and broke apart at the touch of a fork, hamburger was raw, and lobster bisque smelled of plastic. Manager Bilbao came over and tried to smooth things over--that was the nicest part of our stay but was not enough to undo the damage of an upsetting hotel and dining experience. He owes us dinner should we ever force to bring ourselves to the Imperial. Check out was a disaster: mistakenly charged for water from the fridge--which in fact was the bottled water we bought from outside since there was none when we first arrived. Buffet breakfast is good, though the waitstaff seemed to be in a frenzy and manager tried to show us the farthest table from the buffet in the sunroom and hesitated when we requested to be seated at one of the nearer tables in the main room. Other guests are not so nice and considerate. One family left their room door open to have their matters echo into the hallway. Oh, one last thing, Maria Shriver store me down at the breakfast buffet. How rude!

  • Liked — Nothing at all, really...that includes the dining experiences too.
  • Disliked — This hotel is a sham.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

While living, studying and teaching in Delhi and Dehradun The Imperial Hotel became my haven of calm in the midst of India's seeming chaos.

Between the years 1999 and 2005 I celebrated each of my own or my partner's birthdays there. We both enjoyed the hotel's attention to detail, and the importance of the guest's every pleasure and comfort.

I was always touched by the fact that we were either given the same room from year to year (one we especially loved) or upgraded at no extra charge to a suite if the room we like so much was unavailable.

On our birthdays we always found a birthday cake waiting in our room (no extra charge), plus flowers, our favourite drinks and snacks. This made entertaining friends very simple!

We have used the hotel's fabulous lunch buffet on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the private garden for parties with friends. Each event went flawlessly. Food was/is always delicious and the service is always attentive yet not overbearing.

This winter a trip to India is planned in December, and a birthday party at the Imperial is being looked forward to with much joy and anticipation.

  • Liked — The charming atmosphere and attentive service.
  • Disliked — I can think of absolutely nothing negative!
  • Tips/Secrets — Exhale, relax in the garden and ENJOY the calm.
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2006

This is a truly first-rate hotel, with a beautiful interior, great bars and restaurants, and luxurious rooms. Personal service/attention is top-notch, and I got comfortable (and complimentary) rides both to and from the airport. My only substantive complaints are two: First, the cashier put huge holds on my credit card that lingered even well after I had checked out and settled the bill. This was quite annoying, but may have been a fluke. Second, everything is ridiculously expensive, from minibar to restaurants. Still, if you have the rupees, you cannot do better than this!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2006

This is a lovely hotel; clean, good facilities, excellent service, good food and a brilliant location. It is a great contrast to the hustle and bustle of the city and a good place to relax.

The only downers are the slightly pompous clientele and the enormous prices. The owner of this place must make a fortune!

  • Liked — Excellent service
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
620 reviews 620 reviews
250 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
569 helpful votes 569 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Imperial Hotel in mid-August right after spending two days at the outstanding no-tipping Oberoi Amarvilas, Agra. The Imperial seemed a high class tourist factory by comparison. We can't blame the hotel for their well-heeled but rude guests, but an extended family occupied the room next to ours and left the door open, making the hall an extension of their room for the convenience of their effusively happy guests and well-wishers. The false colonial atmosphere is thin when reality sets in. You'll be sure to experience the costumed doorman's pregnant 90-second car door close for those slow to tip and the ever-helpful bathroom sink faucet turner-oner and towel-hander. The grand hotel show would be charming if the staff were faultless, but there were all-too-human lapses that were never seen at the Oberoi. There was only one bottle of water in the room when we checked in. One staff promised to phone us with information and never did. Another got our order for the boutique wrong. I asked the telephone operator to connect me to Thai International Airways city ticket office (and I told her the name of the building). When she checked and called back, I asked her what was the correct number and she didn't tell me. Instead she connected me to the Thai International airport office, and they kindly told me the number of the city office (of course, I was charged for the call to the airport). A card in the room proudly offers special pillows, but of two kinds that we requested, only one could be located during our 2-day stay. The buffet breakfast is spectacular, and the food in the restaurants is excellent, though not as good a value as Amarvilasi in Agra, Before we checked out, we called for a porter to get our two large suitcases. After 10 minutes, we wheeled them to the lobby ourselves where a porter ran the last four steps to take them from us. Other things, including Internet, did work well, and we can see why others were ecstatic with the Imperial. But we had just come from a hotel with better trained staff and real heart.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The low value per dollar
  • Tips/Secrets — Be sure to tell the Imperial your car/seat number if you arrive by train
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Priceline so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial Palace Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial New Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.