We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
The Imperial Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel. Everything gleams and there is a lovely jasmine scent everywhere. They upgraded us one category (from the basic Imperial room to a Heritage room) and it was gorgeous. Exactly like in the hotel's photos (in fact it was even better! ) and how often can you say that ? Room #30 was spacious enough that I don't think there is any need to book a suite. Yes, there was no view and the fruit plate was tiny, but that's about it for the negatives. The hotel is an amazing museum of art from the East India Company period, and we thoroughly enjoyed strolling the corridors viewing the many pictures. The Spice Route restaurant is fabulous to see, but I didn't find the food particularly special (but then, we have great Asian food in Vancouver). The buffet breakfast in the 1911 restaurant was fine, and not expensive for a 5* hotel. The service in both restaurants was adequate, though nowhere near as good as the Rambagh Palace (Jaipur) or the Amarvilas(Agra).
Locationwise, the Imperial is great for tourists, very central for all the sightseeing, and only 5 min. from the New Delhi railway station, therefore easy to catch the 6 am Shatabdi express (highly recommend !) to Agra & the Taj Mahal.
I chose my accommodations in India with a bias towards historical significance, and the Imperial did not disappoint. For the price of a highend, cookie-cutter chain hotel room in North America I got a unique, stunning hotel full of Old World charm with luxury to boot. I would happily return to this Delhi landmark.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,386
    355
    120
    58
    26
See reviews for
271
723
151
457
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

My wife and I started our visit to India with three nights at the Imperial. The name fits the place. The hotel is elegant and sophisticated, with a well-developed air of the old British era in India. We were booked in a very spacious suite, with a very large living room, bedroom large enough to hold a very comfortable king bed and some additional small pieces of furniture, a small sitting area with desk near the closet, and a pleasant and good-sized bathroom. While very comfortable, the room didn't strike us as really "special." The furnishings were perfectly fine but "unexciting", less interesting and attractive than we found in most of our other hotels. There were two minor drawbacks: We had only a single, relatively small window, and it looked out toward another wall of the hotel; and the plumbing was such that water going down the drain made a loud sound as it exited our room. Staff were very pleasant and attentive (true everywhere we visited). The breakfast buffet was outstanding, something we found to be characteristic of the 5-star hotels at which we stayed, and we enjoyed both the Asian and Indian restaurants. Our meal in the Spice Route (Asian) was quite good if not as outstanding as we might have expected, given its reputation. Our meal in the Indian restaurant actually wasn't that tasty, although I attribute that to the selections we made (selected actually by our guests, a colleague from New Delhi and her husband). The atmosphere in both was outstanding. The hotel is filled with drawings from the British era, many quite interesting, plus several remarkable floral arrangements, including in the lobby. Incidentally, a tip for touring in Delhi: When in Old Delhi, make sure to take a bicycle-drawn rickshaw ride through the market area. The crowds, the colors, the noise, the smells - it all combines into a seemingly well-orchestrated chaos, a truly memorable assault on all the senses. That was one of the major highlights of a great trip to India, filled with highlights.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

We stayed at the Imperial for a blissful week. It is a beautiful 1930s hotel which is well run and in excellent condition. There are many delightful architectural features (e.g. internal courtyards with fountains) and the jasmin-scented corridors are decorated with delightful pictures - our corridor had tinted prints of rock-cut temples in the south of India which gave us the idea for another trip!

Breakfast was excellent and a real pleasure to enjoy on the shaded terrace. We ate at all of the restaurants: the 1911 (Brasserie), San Gimigniano (Italian), Daniell's Tavern(Indian with music) and the famous Spice Route (South-East Asian). All were good, with the Italian restaurant particularly enjoyable.

The staff everywhere were very pleasant and helpful.

We visited a number of other 5 star hotels for drinks and meals (including the Taj) and never felt that we had stayed at the wrong place. All in all, good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

Disappointing room: Dark,smelly and overlooking a construction site! Yes, on arriving from London at 3am we were shown to our twin-bedded room on the 1st floor, which really stank of stale tobacco smoke. We immediately asked for a transfer to another room, which was across the corridor; this seemed smaller than the first one but it did not stink. In the morning in the light of day, we pulled back the curtains to see that or room overlooked a construction site, with huts, earth moving machinery and rubble. Of course we asked to be moved again, but were told (despite insisting several times) that there were no other rooms available. (This I do not believe). Only two nights later, just before the day we were due to leave were we told there was another room available.
For the record, all the windows in The Imperial appear to be small. Perhaps it was
built as a fort in the 19th century but the effect is to let in very little daylight and the bedroom was dark and dingy. All very disappointing for my wife as it was her first trip to India and I had told her about my previous 3 stays at the Imperial with its lovely old-fashioned neo colonial atmosphere and historic 19th century ambiance. Unfortunately, since my last stay in 2003, the hotel has undergone a complete refurbishment and although they have retained most of the features as they were before, somehow much of
the old somewhat-faded atmosphere appears to have been lost. Before, The Imperial was truly unique, now it is more like any other luxury hotel and something of the former charm has been lost in the process.
One final thing. If you look forward to a nice cup of coffee or tea with your breakfast, forget it! Both my wife and I agreed that the coffee and breakfast tea was the most disgusting we had tasted anywhere, ever. So bring your own instant and tea bags
if you want a half decent cuppa.
David S Baber, London March 5th 2009

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

I stayed at the Imperial Hotel while visiting Delhi in transit to Bhutan...The hotel is very centrally located...Close to the Red Fort and Parliament...The hotel is very traditional and finished in a colonial fashion...It has all modern amenities (small gym and business center) as well as very good restaurants...The Spice Route restaurant was excellent and regarded as one of the best restauarants in India...The staff are very friendly, particularly the Sikh doormen,and the concierge was responsive to our pre-arrival requests...While in Delhi we also ate at the restaurant Bukhara, located at the ITC Sheraton, and thought that it lived up to its reputation as one of the best restaurants in Asia...Bukhara had the best Indian food we have eaten, particularly if you like grilled meats...If you are looking for a traditional hotel in Delhi, the Imperial is your choice.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

My husband and I, and another couple, stayed at the Imperial Hotel for 3 nights in February. The hotel exceeded our expectations in all respects. The king beds were so comfortable, the rooms were elegantly decorated, and the bathrooms were modern and spacious. One of our favorite parts of the hotel was the amazing breakfast every morning. They had everything from an omelette station to a smoothie and cereal bar, to delicious pastries and breads.
One of the nights, we ate at the Spice Route in the hotel. Again, delicious food, impeccable service, and quite the decor.
We all highly recommend this hotel for many reasons, and without a doubt, we would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

My husband had a conference in Delhi, so I came with him for a leisurely vacation. The room was beautiful, with marble floors and a great, big double armoire instead of a closet. All the sleeping rooms, as well as lobby and hallways are floral scented from oil burners (I think to counteract the smell from air pollution). There is fresh fruit in the room as well as complementary bottled water.

My first time in India, and I got sick as a dog. The room service staff was very good to me, taking my requests for specific food items not on the menu and suggesting things that would be easy on my stomach.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Priceline so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial Palace Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial New Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.