We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely start to India” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
The Imperial Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 648 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely start to India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Cracking hotel with bundles of Colonial charm and Indian Heritage. A lovely bustling hotel with spacious clean rooms - cracking restaurants for lunch and dinner - and a splendid quality of staff more than happy to help. The Pool area is lovely with the echo of
Prayers over the speakers will either relax or irritate - I like on this quick break and the location is perfect for exploring both Old and New Delhi

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am glad to note that you had a lovely stay with us.
The team will be elated and motivated to read your feedback.

Your patronage is valuable to us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,463
    379
    126
    60
    27
See reviews for
289
755
165
478
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My wife and I had spent the last two months backpacking our way round India staying in all sorts of cheap local accommodation. At the end of our adventure we spoilt ourselves with a two night stay at the Imperial Hotel New Delhi.
It was magnificent. We were greeted at reception with a warm welcome and two fragrant chilled hand towels. We were told that we had been upgraded from a Grand Heritage Room to an Art Deco suite free of charge. Wow that never happens to us. The receptionist then showed us to our room giving us a short synopsis of the history of the Hotel and pointed out various items of interest including the various themed restaurants. We reached our room which was just what we had expected and more. We had a separate living room with settee and chairs a large flat screen TV and writing desk. The spacious bedroom had a huge soft bed with sumptuous fluffy pillows. The bathroom had a separate shower room and toilet. There was another separate area with a dressing table for my wife with a film star mirror surrounded by dimmable light bulbs. There was a second bathroom that we had missed on our first look round. My wife found it ten minutes later and shouted we've got two bathrooms .It is a truly magnificent hotel bursting with character and Olde Worlde charm but with slick modern overtones. The staff are very courteous friendly and helpful nothing is too much trouble. It's a pleasure to talk to them.

We spent most of our time relaxing by the beautifully clear swimming pool and did not take advantage of the extensive spa facilities.

The first night we ate in the Spice Route Restaurant which was a very memorable occasion the food and wine was expensive but worth every rupee. The second night we ate in the 1911 Restaurant and there was no problem getting a curry even though it was not on their menu. The waiter quietly said that's on our Coffee Shop Menu Sir let me get a copy for you.

It was a refreshing change from the rest of India that nobody but nobody at the hotel neither asked or even expected a tip.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Yes it's expensive but worth every penny. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a delightful description of your experience at The Imperial. I am elated to note that you had a wonderful stay and cherished every bit of it. Your lovely comments will be a great motivation for the team.

Your patronage is valuable to us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed at the Imperial twice within a week . The first visit great. The second time there was a wedding outside our room and the noise was beyond a joke, so we requested to move at midnight after a long day; we were then placed in a smoking room which had a stale smoking odour. Moved again to a suite where nothing worked properly and the hot taps dosed out filthy brown water. As the final move was to a suite the porter suggested we keep our suitcases to avoid paying tax at which point I nearly lost it.

In the morning I complained to the duty manager who duly offered a full refund . I resisted writing this until comparisons could be made to Oberoi and raj hotels. In conclusion the Imperial failed to care and should of foreseen the noise ; they generally need to provide much better service levels in all departments to match the excellent hospitality we have received throughout the country

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Imperial!

I have noted your feedback about the inconvenience faced and I am deeply apologetic for the same. We at the Imperial strive to ensure that all our guests always experience the best visit possible and our staff does not hesitate in going out of their way for the same. As mentioned by you, we did offer you a refund as a special gesture; I agree that it cannot take back the experience. I do hope that you will treat this experience as isolation to our otherwise high standards of service and not let this influence your original perception of The Imperial.

Looking forward to a chance to make up and ensure a memorable stay.

Sincerely,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014


The Spice Route traces the mystical culture of South East Asia by drawing from not just its cuisine but also from its art and architecture. The minute we stepped into this fabulous restaurant, we were transported into a completely different world of dark wood carvings, colorful wall murals, rounded pillars, painted and carved wooden ceilings and brass lamps; it was truly exquisite! The restaurant is designed like the center of a traditional South Indian home where tiled porch roofs slant into an open courtyard. Seating is arranged under the carved ceilings of the porch and at the center, which is also sometimes used to host live music performances.
The kitchen at Spice Route serves culinary delights from 6 countries, from Sri Lankan curries to Thai noodles and from the state of Kerala. After glancing through the extensive menu we decided that opting for their ‘Tasting Menu’ would be our best bet as it would allow us to sample a bit of all of their signature dishes – it was the best decision ever! Over the course of the evening, we were served with a bowl of Thai soup, 4 different appetizers, 4 main entrees and 2 desserts! A lemon sorbet was served after the appetizers and before the main course to cleanse our palate, which was a nice touch.
It was a large meal that was served beautifully over 2 hours with a lot of care by the wait-staff. We were impressed by their attention to detail and general warmth, which helped us relax and truly enjoy our evening. Looking back, I can easily say that this dinner was one of our finest meals in India!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about the décor, food and service at The Spice Route! I am grateful for your kind words and praise and truly value your patronage.

Your positive feedback is a source of motivation for the team.

Thank you once again. we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for our first two days in India. Opulent surroundings, lovely staff, good food. We enjoyed Spice Route one night and Bhukkara at ITC second night. brilliant food and fun.
Only mark down is the hotel charging for wifi, which is a necessity rather than a luxury for most. They even stopped me at 5am to pay 300 rupees for a few minute connection that morning.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about the décor and service at The Imperial! I am grateful for your kind words and praise and truly value your patronage.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience due to the internet. We offer free internet usage of 512 kbps to all our resident guests unless they select another plan of more data usage.

Your positive feedback is a source of motivation for the team.

Thank you once again. we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

What a lovely stay we had last week. Amazing service and a beautiful hotel with a lot of history .
Each floor was representing a different city in India . The whole hotel smells wonderful , so we bought the same jasmine oil they use and we are enjoying the lovely fragrance at home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about the décor and service at The Imperial! I am grateful for your kind words and praise and truly value your patronage.

Your positive feedback is a source of motivation for the team.

Thank you once again. we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

What an introduction to India.

We were met and charmed by our driver who showed us the sites of his city driving in from the airport. We were upgraded to a suite on arrival. Breakfast was a feat - warmed croissants easily to London standards. for supper, we ate so well in Daniell's - Indian food from the Raj, with live - but not intrusive- Indian music and singing. We had complimentary yoga in the spa - what a wonderful teacher with us, very awkward 60 year olds. The concierge and security staff were exemplary.

And all this on top of the beauty and history of the property so centrally situated.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about the Property, food, service and our staff at The Imperial! I am grateful for your kind words and praise and truly value your patronage.

Your positive feedback is a source of motivation for the team.

Thank you once again. we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 648 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 stars 1,492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#23 of 648 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,583 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Oberoi, New Delhi
The Oberoi, New Delhi
#2 of 648 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#5 of 648 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#37 of 648 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,523 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#9 of 648 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#13 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial New Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial Palace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.