We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
The Imperial Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

What I liked most:
- Hotel: historic building in a secluded garden in the center of New Delhi
- Rooms: huge, comfortable and luxory
- Atmosphere
- Breakfast and breakfast room

What I didn't like
- Wi-fi service: expensive and complicated to use (login, password...)
- Service not always adequate (the room was cold with AC on and I couldn't switch it off, asked for a check but the problem was never fixed)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    312
    105
    52
    25
See reviews for
226
634
144
420
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
piedmont california
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

From check in to check out service was their motto. They help you with everything. Breakfast was fabulous and the best on our trip. The room was decorated beautifully with a view over the gardens. We ate one night at Daniel's and the food was excellent and enjoyed the live show. The outside grounds are beautiful but we could not use them due to the horrible smog. Avoid Delhi during December and January as the smog is horrible ( they call it fog)

Room Tip: As k for a high floor facing the back towards pool or the garden and away the front of the hotel wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Whenever I am in Delhi I never miss the opportunity to sit in the beautifully appointed atrium and take a pot of tea. The atmosphere and the light are exactly what one needs after tiring days in delightful Delhi. The service is always impeccable, and just entering this wonderful colonial hotel is such a treat. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had dinner @ Spice Route on 27 Dec , 2013 .
Unbelievably Slow Service .. 45 to 60 minutes wait between each course !!
At Dessert Time our waiter was nowhere to be seen ... and we had to call the Manager to take our order ...
Sadly , before we left we saw our waiter elsewhere in the restaurant .
Food .. Decent but No Way worthy to qualify as amongst Top Ten Restos in the world as was told to us by front office.
All 4 of us agreed that it deserves 5/10 for Food and 1/10 for Service .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

In terms of service, and character - The Imperial ranks one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in! Built in 1933 during the English rule this hotel maintains a fabulous sense of colonialism - every corridor and staircase brought to life by pictures from Mughul and British Empires. The service was first class - it seems almost every member of staff knows and greets you by name! Breakfast on the terrace / veranda is the most perfect (and civilized!) way to start a day before you venture out to the manic streets of Delhi for sightseeing. The Imperial was an oasis of calm and luxury to return to every day. DO NOT stay anywhere else in Delhi !!

Liked: Breakfasts were heavenly! Also you have to enjoy afternoon tea here - a wonderful contrast in culture after a day sightseeing in Old Delhi !
Dislikes: Nothing! One of very few hotels that I have been unable to fault.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed pretty good - we upgraded and felt it was well worth the money for very large r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Beautiful decor, super comfortable beds and great central location with good security make me keep returning when am in Delhi as a lone female traveller.
On my last visit in November 2013, the food in the Indian restaurant was a highlight and I also ate at the Italian restaurant for the first time and was very impressed by the quality of the food and the wine by the glass.
The airport pickup and drop-off services are great especially if you arrive weary or are new to India - the route to the hotel is like a mini sightseeing tour in itself. The concierge services are too notch and nothing is too much trouble when it comes to help with luggage, transportation and shopping.
One small issue that seems to have remained unchanged in years though is that the buffet breakfast items are almost stone cold within 10 mins of the restaurant being opened. As a vegetarian this is unlikely to have serious health implications but hot food should be served hot. Also I have witnessed a gradual erosion in the range of breakfast buffet items over the past years such as no bottled water now offered as part of the express breakfast.
I note that free wifi is now being offered to all guests. However, my latest booking confirmation said free wifi for 2 hours per day. Perhaps management can clarify this?
I can't stop myself from returning to the Imperial and tomorrow I will be checking in again, on this occasion with my partner on his very first visit to India. We are both looking forward very much to this.
The only reason that I sometimes elect to stay at another hotel in Delhi (other than if I need to be in a specific location) is the lack of a club lounge facility at The Imperial. I appreciate that the hotel structure might not lend itself to such an arrangement but for me that would bring it up to 6 stars.

Room Tip: The staff are wonderfully accommodating and will gladly show you other rooms if the hotel is not ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We spent one night at the beautifully appointed Imperial Hotel.
We chose this hotel in order to visit the National Museum, which was a 15 minute walk from the hotel. The found the hotel staff extremely helpful, friendly and well informed.
The food was excellent, and our room was spacious and extremely comfortable.
We would not hesitate to recommend the Imperial Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial Palace Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial New Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.