We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
The Imperial Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Grand hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

It was our brief visit to Delhi, stayed 2 nights and wished we had stayed longer. Very beautiful and grand hotel in the colonial style. Large room and we'll equipped with all modern amenities. Beautiful garden. Great service. Breakfast was pretty amazing with a variety of food offering. Highly recommend.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
It’s extremely satisfying to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and I am grateful to you for acknowledging the same.

Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Executive Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    312
    105
    52
    25
See reviews for
226
634
144
420
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The Imperial is a truly beautiful hotel set in well tended grounds in the middle of Delhi. It is ideally placed for sight-seeing and business, or just escaping for a few days into the lap of luxury.
The room was elegant, the beds sooo comfortable and all the little extras, lovely flowers, daily paper, water, really nice toiletries etc were there.
The staff are welcoming and attentive, we felt like royalty! The restaurants and food to die for catering for all tastes. The Spice Route, in particular, is amazing, the food, the service and the ambience. The Health Spa offers a sauna, steam room and jacuzzi and a range of treatments administered by great practitioners with lovely little touches, like the beautiful robes, which can be purchased and the tea, nuts and dried fruits, that complete the experience. There's a gym, a brilliant pool and, my favourite, yoga classes (not strenuous but calming!). Definitely not a cheap option but a couple of nights count as a real life experience in an oasis away from the noise and madness for which Delhi is so famous! If you're on a tight budget this would need to be considered as part of experiencing life in India, get in there and don't move out until you check out!

Room Tip: We had a twin room on the ground floor with a view onto the gardens which I could recommend, room 41...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice president & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
It’s a pleasure to note that you had a memorable stay and we are grateful for your kind acknowledgement of the same.

I'm glad that you enjoyed each and every bit of your stay and appreciated the same in such fine detail. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Executive Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Just a one night stay, but enjoyed the friendly and very helpful service. Check-in quick and very welcoming, spacious room, feels very homely. Excellent beds, great bathroom, separate walk-in closet. Reliable, free "regular" internet. Breakfast is average for a 5star deluxe, nothing to complain, but no highlights. Real colonial bar is a must, the "Brasserie" great for a casual dinner with excellent food, try the Himalayan trout...:)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
It’s extremely satisfying to note that you had a memorable stay and we are grateful for your kind acknowledgement of the same.

I'm glad to note that you enjoyed the friendly and warm service and appreciated the spacious rooms and décor. We have recently introduced ‘free’ normal speed internet which is much appreciated by our guests. I do regret to note that you did not relish the breakfast spread as much and would like to extend my apologies for the same. Though the menu varies every day, I have communicated the same to our chef who shall look into further scope of enhancement.

Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Executive Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

"One of the few non-multistoried hotels in the heart of New Delhi’s Jan Path, The Imperial, as the name suggests, is stately. Laid out spaciously, the hotel is nestled amidst gardens and boasts of a nice pool. The rooms are, of course, royal. The spread of cuisine is there but prices run too steep. The location is simply superb and you are able to visit Jama Masjid, Rajghat, India Gate and Red Fort easily as they are just within six kilometers from the hotel.
If you are a single lady on a business tour or seeking solitude, then the hotel is just for you. Apart from all the safety features provided for the single lady guest, the lady would be able to quickly hop across to Chandni Chowk, nearby, and feast on the myriad of products on sale. "

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
It’s extremely satisfying to note that you had a memorable stay and we are grateful for your kind acknowledgement of the same. I'm glad to note that you enjoyed your stay in the Eliza room which has been specially designed for our single lady guests.

Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Executive Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

So after 3 weeks traveling in India, we thought it would be fun to have high tea at the Imperial. What a mistake! Tea in tea bags, not even a pot on the table. No cake stand. Buffet style. However the scones were delightful. But for a world class hotel the Imperial needs to take a look at the Peninsula in Hong Kong, Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok or Gleneagles in Scotland.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I have noted your feedback and am surprised to note your disappointment.

Please be assured that we offer highest level of high tea experience to our guests, and the same is much appreciated all around the world. With regards to your feedback, I would like to inform you that we do high tea in buffet style for the weekends and it has been appreciated by lots of guests and has wide variety to choose from along with the hot snacks. However, we do high tea on stands on week days. We don’t leave the tea pots on table for high tea orders because the staff is instructed to refill it with hot tea and there are instances when guests like to change the tea and try another variety. I do regret that you did not appreciate this format of service and do hope that you come back on a weekday and experience the usual high tea experience as you had expected.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Senior Executive Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Love heaps of thing about this hotel.

New Dehli is more organized than our expectation, it's a green city. The hotel just a few minutes walk to local market. If you can, take a trip to Old Dehli to see the real India.

I love everything about hotel decoration, I feel like staying a museum. Many staff are friendly and helpful. The reception could be a bit better, they are not so friendly as others, I guess coz it's busy but we love an old guy who always walk around the lobby helping with newspapers, he was really nice.

Cheers

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
It’s a pleasure to note that you had a memorable stay and we are grateful for your kind acknowledgement of the same. I'm glad to note that you appreciated the hotel décor and its proximity with the local market.

I regret to note that you found our reception staff less friendly as they were busy. Let me assure you that each and every staff member is warm and helpful alongside being professional and responsible. I do hope you will consider this as an exception and not let it influence your perception.

Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Executive Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I enjoyed this hotel because it has personality… from the age of the structure, to the uniforms of the staff, to the layout of my hotel room, and the historical art and photos that adorn most interior wall spaces. This hotel is a nice change from the high-rise, overly commercial hotels that I usually stay at.

The excellent level service was very impressive.

I’m looking forward to staying there again the next time I travel to New Delhi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VWanchoo, Sr. Exec. Vice President & General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Imperial.
It’s a pleasure to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and we are grateful for your kind acknowledgement of the same.

I am glad that you have noted details like the uniforms, layout and the décor. We derive encouragement from appreciative guests like you.

Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Best regards,

Vijay Wanchoo
Sr. Executive Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial Palace Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial New Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.