We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An elegant retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
The Imperial Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 607 Hotels in New Delhi
Basel
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An elegant retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

THe Imperial is a most relaxing oasis in Delhi and a perfect starting off point for a tour of Rajastan. Service is the very best and the rooms a good size.
Prices in the main restaurants are not cheap but the choice at breakfast leaves nothing to be desired.
It is certainly a hotel to which we would happily return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,222
    302
    103
    52
    25
See reviews for
222
624
144
403
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

There is no question that the Imperial is an excellent hotel. A fabulous building, excellent restaurants, friendly helpful staff, lovely rooms.
My one complaint is about the delhi metro excavations to the front of the hotel.
We had heard about this before we booked, so checked with the hotel whether this would cause any disruption to our stay - they replied no.
However, please be advised the buliding work takes place all through the night, so if you are a light, jetlagged sleeper, this may not be the best hotel choice for you.
After complaining following a sleepless night we got moved to a much nicer room at the other side of the hotel.
Top tip - Avoid room 025 - the smell of damp is horrid! Even the oil burner couldnt disguise the stench.
Rooms on upper floors are probably preferable to those on the ground floor

Room Tip: Avoid room 025 - the smell of damp is horrid! Even the oil burner couldnt disguise the stench. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel was an excellent choice for us: the property is beautiful, with a lush garden and great interior decor. The location is unbeatable, in the hearth of New Delhi tourist hub. Restaurants are really good. Only downside if you do not book early you won't find rooms there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at this excellent hotel. Food was superb (Spice route and Daniel's are exceptional). Staff friendly and their drivers very helpful. We had a great stay and would recommend the Imperial if you want a slice of luxury when visiting Delhi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at The Imperial. I have to say that this hotel is a real gem. It's architecture is perfectly matching the style of the time when it was built and everything looks in tune. The hotel was completely restored a few years ago and the architects have done a great job.
I look at every detail of this hotel and all those "glamorous" hotels in modern skyscrapers become utterly meaningless. The feeling I get walking and dining in this hotel is that of history.
The service is very good. The staff is careful and accomplished, the breakfast quality and variety to my full satisfaction, both restaurants highly recommendable.
I have absolutely no negative comments. Just avoid rooms 109 and 111 as they are just above a terrasse where people enjoy their evening and the windows do not dampen the sound enough. I couldn't complain as the guests' chatter was not loud, but I like complete silence when I have to sleep. If you do too, then ask for other rooms or have earplugs.
There is a massive subway construction site nearby. The works only go on during the day.
In conclusion, staying at The Imperial hotel is a really rewarding experience.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel lives up to its reputation. It was our first time in India, so after flying half-way around the world (from Los Angeles), we wanted something super-comfortable and special awaiting us. The Imperial fit the bill perfectly. It is a step back in time to a more elegant era. If one is going on to Rajasthan, the Imperial definitely "sets the mood".

Great staff. Excellent restaurants. My only very minor gripe was the (too warm) temperature they served their red wines in both the restaurants and the bars. Of course, I quickly realized that India's superb Kingfisher beer was the way to go anyway, so this is a tiny complaint.

We booked a "Heritage" room which seemed a much better value than the standard rooms. After a long flight, having extra room to spread out is a plus.

Bottom line: I would definitely stay at the Imperial on my next visit to New Dehli.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

A colleague and i stayed here for 1 night on a stopover between flying into India and flying onto Bhubaneswar in Orissa. Given that we were landing after midnight, we asked for an airport pick up and that is where the perfect experience started. We were greeted with our names on a board and a polite and smiling hotel representative greeted us by name, introduced himself and our liveried driver. The car was a Toyota Land Cruiser- air conditioned, comfortable and of course we were served with small bottles of water in case we were thirsty- we were.
Once at the Imperial we were greeted by the smiling and ever courteous staff at the gate; check in was effortless. Our luggage was brought up immediately and we were shown our rooms by a woman member of management staff. My colleague and I were in Eliza rooms. Two corridors are dedicated to rooms reserved soley for single women travellers. There is a CCTV camera in the corridor that beams an image to a small bedside screen so you can see exactly who is outside. These rooms are serviced by women staff unlike the other rooms where service is provided by men. In short everything has been thought out from a woman's safety perspective.

My room was wonderful- probably the size of my sitting room and dining rooom together- with huge comfortable bed, sofa, tables and all amenities. Lovely bathroom.

In the morning after a delicious buffet breakfast in the 1911 room I was turning into my corridor when I was approached by a woman member of housekeeping staff who knew my name and asked me if I required anything.

We stayed on to have a simple but delicious lunch of dhosa on the terrace before leaving for the airport.

On the return journey back to the Uk we returned to the Imperial for dinner. A lovely meal where we ordered starters and a main course but were served an amuse bouche, starter, sorbet, main course and a tiny glass of a rich chocolate mousse. A perfect end to a very productive businss trip.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful. The decor and art works in The imperial are what you need to look at , not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial Palace Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial New Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.