We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
The Imperial Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 616 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bordeaux, France
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

What a beautiful hotel.
You feel really the atmosphere, cosy, superb.
The staff is really great, and well trained.
The service is nice. The rooms are very beautiful, quiet and clean.
For sure if we have the chance to come back, we will definetly choose the Imperial.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,355
    343
    117
    55
    26
See reviews for
262
699
149
448
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

To start, it's Delhi and prices for finery are expected, so that's not a complaint but a,concern when you consider US $20+ for 2 draft beers (and remarkable cashews) at the bar. Value, no, refined elegance, yes. We spent three nights at the Imperial spoiled by crisp linens, amazing bath suites and impeccable service provided by consummate professionals at every level of hotel service. Not only is the hotel a refuge from the boundless energy and wonderful chaos that is Delhi, it is a culinary castle. We dined one evening at the Spice Route. I have read some concerns about the spicing or comparability of specific dishes to their home country counterparts, but having eaten both the high end and street version of those dishes in their original locales I found the food spot on in all ways. We enjoyed the chefs recommendation, a journey of many Asian/ASEAN cuisines; amazing. Again, caveat emptor, with nice (average price) bottle of wine the journey came in over $300. The 2nd night we dined at Daniels Tavern. Amazing Indian regional cuisine, just the right level of service, awesome live, traditional Indian musician trio and a fair price easy to digest. Breakfast each morning is an elegant affair with both continental cuisine and Indian foods expertly prepared. The one exception, I'd expect a cup of robust, well brewed coffee and received a pale, weak cup all three mornings. Get there early for a solarium seat- the best of inside and out. Final verdict- expected costs and I wouldn't stay any where else. Can you fix the coffee Imperial? ;-)

Room Tip: There seemingly are no bad rooms but look at several booking sites for deals, save a few pence to sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

From the minute you walk in you know this hotel is special! The rooms are big and beautifully decorated. Little things like the complementary fruit platter and endless supply of bottled water are most welcome and the breakfast has everything you could wish for. Staying in the Imperial is like living in an art gallery. The pool is huge and (my husband tells me) lovely for a swim and spa.
I had a massage which was a treat as they turn it in to a real occasion. We enjoyed our stay immensely. My only criticism would be the pressure applied by some of the staff for tips, it can make you feel uncomfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the Imperial. Well located, this hotel features impressive grounds and a grand feel all around. The rooms are very spacious and the service was excellent. Great buffet breakfast every morning in a sunny room overlooking the grounds. And good choices for food

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Oh my goodness, this place was really special. We stayed here during our recent trip to India and started and finished our trip in one of the best hotels we have ever had the good fortune to stay in. This place is an art deco delight with mostly brilliantly preserved architecture and artifacts, as soon as you arrive, the doormen greet you with a 'Namaste Welcome Home Sir/Madam' and it really is mother India at her best. We have stayed in some crackers over the years, but this was very special down to the last detail. We just had the cheapest room on offer and it was still really lovely. The public areas are beautiful, the bars are full of atmosphere and buzzing - you would feel comfortable either on your own or in a group.The restaurant was a lovely setting and nice food (Spice Route), the terrace for breakfast was glamourous and a haven in the middle of the chaos of Delhi. The spa was one of the nicest and the lovliest looking spas I have ever been to and the treatment was first rate. The staff were very kind and helpful and we really appreciated the service. If we were going to Delhi again, we would not go anywhere else, this place delivers on every level providing that you have an appreciation of architecture and history and are not looking for a souless brand new hotel with no character.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This really is a first rate hotel. Rooms are modern. Swimming pool was crystal clear and HOT - I swam in the mist and fog in the early morning. Restaurants - Spice Road is 1st rate - manager even took my 12 yr old back to show him the kitchen as he is a foodie. Also ate at Daniels tavern (which is NOT a tavern but a great Indian restaurant) The sitar players and entertainment were just right - not too loud! Breakfast buffet is the BEST I have ever had!! We stayed 3 nights. Also used the hotel SUV + driver for site seeing one day - great way to see many of ND sites quickly. Truly this is a great hotel - packed with historic prints of India. Security was high but there was a Pan Asian conference going on the same time. Lots of Europeans at the hotel while we were there; seems they are on to a good thing! The concierge really took care of our needs with simply requests - like train tickets to Agra, guide and car waiting etc !!

Room Tip: Rooms are huge and very well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

First base on our first visit to India and it set the pace for all the rest. We were there in early January and it was colder than we expected but the Imperial made up for that with the impeccable service , fine restaurants, and luxurious comfort fo the rooms. We usually prefer smaller boutique hotels but the Imperial managed to create the ambiance normally associated with smaller establishments. Despite the tube works in progress just down the road it was a haven of tranquility. No hesiitation in recommending highly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial Palace Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial New Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.