We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner in the 1911. Not entirely convinced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
The Imperial Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Dinner in the 1911. Not entirely convinced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had dinner here. Of course the hotel has a very colonial and luxury vibe, but, a bit like the post-renovation Savoy in London, there's something rather odd and cosmetic about it. There was a hell of a racket coming from the floor above as they were testing out the sound system for an event with live DJ, but the staff didn't apologise. The food was very good, but not life-changing. The drinks are extremely over-priced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,387
    355
    121
    58
    26
See reviews for
271
725
151
457
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel, great staff and very good restaurants. An excellent experience on both stays each of two days. Including great support from the hotel doctor with a minor medical problem. We would strongly recommend this to anybody visiting Delhi and wanting a luxurious place to stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I can not describe the feeling of walking into the Imperial after a long trip around india. It gave us a glimpse into the luxury of the old days, whilst presenting a contrast of luxury inside a country so well known for it's lpoverty, it's a strange feeling.

The moment you get out of the cab and set foot on those marble floors, you know your in for a treat. Everything was cool, the beds & pillows were amazing, the food was superb, the bar (of course) was amazing, breakfast was a treat, the spa was mind blowing, the pool makes you feel like a king/queen, but more importantly it was the staff that took care of us.

Unfortunately on my 2nd day I notice that I had the deaded 'delhi belly'. Surfice to say after a day or so i was in pain. I happened to mention this to one of the girls at reception, by evening they had the hotel doctor to help me out. They gave instruction to room service to serve me a certain meal every few hours, and also gave me medication to insure i get over it all.

The reception also gave me some great tips on where to find good places for art etc. they know all the pros and cons of delhi and where the quality comes from. They put me in touch with an art dealer who was the real deal. My wife was also directed to the best place for homeware niks and nax etc.

Anyways you will have a pleasant stay at the Imperial guatanteed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a great hotel that deserves its fame. Some travelers guides say the "Silver-Service Breakfast" is among the best in the world. I was booked into an enormous suite where fresh flowers appeared daily and I didn't have the opportunity to see other rooms. In a hotel of this caliber, however, all accommodations are no doubt luxurious. Notice the huge collection of original art displayed throughout the property.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The rooms are amazing, and the public spaces are stunning: well-appointed, carefully refurbished and functional, as well as being historic, The restaurants are top-notch, and the staff could not be more helpful. Finally, the breakfast and the food and beverages are first-class. The hotel is not cheap, but is worth everything you pay; it offers one of the most memorabe stays in India, luxury plus class plus history, plus refinement!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Amazing service
Rich feel,the rooms are great and the ambience is rpyal
I would not mind spending the price,totally worth it
The hotel is convinienrly located and is in close proximity to tyhr heart of the coty,cannaught place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a historic hotel located in a good central location in Delhi. We had a junior suite and it was comfortable. I would give this hotel a 4.75 star rating. It is not the opulence of other hotels, but it does have a beautiful lobby and hotel property. One thing that separates this property from perhaps being a 5 star is that a) amenities in the bathroom are very basic – i.e. soap, shampoo and lotion. What is missing are the shaving kit, dental kit, etc. Also, the lighting needs updating. We could not turn on the bedside lamps without turning on all the overheads. Also, the switch for the bedroom is outside the bedroom door. Although there are switches by the bed, they do not work. This most definitely needs updating. The hotel grounds are beautiful and you can just feel the rich history that makes the Imperial a special hotel to stay in. The checkout was curt and although I gave a tip, there was no thank yous given, and I felt that they just wanted to get onto the next guest. It would be nice to be acknowledged and asked how the stay was and also a thank you for the tip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Priceline so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial Palace Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial New Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.