We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing hotel in central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 592 hotels in New Delhi
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing hotel in central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Imperial is beautiful and has more high-quality artworks than the museums we visited in Delhi. Service was efficient and friendly. The Indian restaurant was excellent - although I found the service a little over-attentive - where they seemed offended if you poured yourself a glass of water. Breakfasts were also high-quality.

We began and finished our trip in the Imperial and it provided a great memory as it is full of character. I would definately stay here again if I visited Delhi.

Room Tip: This is a no-smoking hotel including in the grounds (outside there is a smoking hut), so if you do s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,145
    276
    99
    50
    24
See reviews for
206
592
137
375
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed in this hotel twice during a 10-day visit to India, sharing a room with my 9-year old daughter, and traveling with my parents. The Imperial hotel is beautiful and old-school grand, but the service is what makes it unparalleled in my experience. Hotel employees from the person who greets you when you arrive to the front desk to the room service were all friendly & efficient, and even custom requests are executed quickly and pleasantly.

The amenities are also stellar, from the Thai restaurant (Spice Route) to the bar (Patalia Peg) to the main restaurant - and the breakfast buffet was our favorite of the 5 hotels we stayed in during our India visit. My daughter loved the swimming pool, which has a fountain in the middle of it (a first for us), and the gym was perfectly serviceable: Enough cardio machines and weights, and some space. There was a spa and yoga studio I didn't have a chance to visit, but I hope to have the opportunity on a return trip.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have much of a view, so if this is important to you, be specific when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location at CP new delhi. Very nice and courteus staff. Excellent variey of menu and prepared as described. Nice ambience of verdant lawns abd swimming pool. Amazing old photos of British and Indian aristocracy since 1900. Nice pastry shop.Overall a very different experience compared to other city hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My intention in visiting India was to savor the heritage buildings. This hotel is a class apart. Amazing service, impeccable rooms and a lovely breakfast make your stay here delightful. The British heritage is still delicately maintained with all the modern amenities. The service staff are prompt and you are totally pampered with their hospitality. A little expensive but totally worth your money. So if you are a lover of history, comfort and class this is an indulgence you will remember.

Room Tip: Dont miss the breakfast , it is truly a lavish spread.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is amazing. Spa is fantastic, service is also excellent.
I stayed at the hotel for 5 days and everything was excellent.
I just had a problem in my checkout that was not solved yet. I used a debit card for guarantee of expenses and the hotel told me that the money was going to be sent back to my bank account but it did not occur yet. I'm trying to contact the hotel by email but I didn't have any feedback yet from them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

In a seven-week trip all round India we spent our first and our last week at the Imperial.  There is something very special and soothing about its lovely, calm interior - beautiful corridors adorned with fascinating prints from a bygone era, and everywhere fresh flowers, the scent of jasmine and friendly, smartly dressed staff.  

There are four restaurants of very good standard.  The Spice Route is worth visiting just for the decor: slightly variable standard of food but mostly delicious.  The San Gimignano (on a long trip we sometimes felt like a break from Indian cuisine) was so good we found ourselves there more often for dinner than we would have thought - consistently excellent, even to diners who spend a lot of time in Italy, and it is delightful to sit outside.  Daniell's Tavern, newly refurbished, is very attractive and the (enormous) menu harks back to the Raj era with considerable and unexpected humour.   The soothing live traditional Indian music is welcome.  The  1911 is very good for breakfast, lunch and late supper after a show - again consistently good.  The baker produces excellent fresh breads and cakes every day.  A la carte is better value than the buffet, though that is very good.

We found foreign wines overpriced (everywhere) and they don't always travel well.  I suspect they are popular with local residents, but we found Indian wines generally much better and far more reasonable.  If you can't see any on the list then ask for them.  The Sula varieties have improved beyond recognition over the years and are really worth trying.

The spa is wonderful (both the facilities and quality of massages) and the salon the best I used on my travels and extremely reasonable.  The pool is super and a very pleasant place to sit in the sun even when the water is a bit chilly.

Our heritage rooms have always been spacious and really comfortable.  The only downside is housekeeping staff who keep trying to ingratiate themselves so you tip them at the end.

If you need breakfast before the restaurant is open it is free in your room - really good.

Wifi is chargeable, which is poor in this class of hotel, but you may be able to negotiate if you're there for a while.

 It's fun to walk up to the shops at Connaught Place (as long as you can cope with persistent street vendors and the chaos of Connaught Place, and can pick your way through the works around the metro building site - but if you plan to venture further in this wonderful country then you should start learning here!). 

On this and other long trips up and down this beguiling country we have been fortunate (and sometimes not so) to stay in a whole range of places, from the spectacularly beautiful to the quirky but charming to the plain awful, from some of the best Tajs and Oberois to interesting palaces and rundown small town joints.  The Imperial is clearly at the top of this range and manages to deliver excellent service and comfort while avoiding making one (me anyway) feel on edge because they are trying so hard that it ceases to be relaxing.

This has been our preferred choice in Delhi for nine years and I can't see that changing.  When you arrive they say 'Welcome home' and that's really how it feels by now.

Room Tip: Do say if, like us, you prefer a separate shower.  
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed yet again at the Imperial for my first 8 days in India. Love the hotel for its attentive staff and locality to CP, my office and the areas of Delhi I need to go to for business meetings. One problem occurred during my first few days on this trip - a problem with the bathroom which I reported and was assured was fixed. Unfortunately it wasn't and they agreed to move me to another room. Nitin, one of the front of house staff, was extremely helpful and showed me a number of rooms before settling on the one for the rest of my stay. So, all in all a very good stay with some good customer service along the way.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial New Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Palace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.