We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“..worth a true Imperial!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
The Imperial Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
new york city
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“..worth a true Imperial!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I spent 2 nights and 3 days at the Imperial hotel with 2 friends last fall when I won a contest and got that fabulous stay for free!
Since all 3 of us belong to the city, the Imperial was just an excuse to get away and see the city in luxury and style!
The first thing that caught our eye was the beautiful architecture of this exotic boutique hotel!
We felt like we were walking down Victoria's palace itself!
The concierge and staff was friendly and took great care of us.
The room redefined luxury! state of the art electronic gadgets and the most comfortable bed. the best thing had to be the variety of pillows one could order :wheat, mixed grain, feather and beauty pillow.
It was definitely nothing short of an emperor's suite! the bathtub was huge and offered a variety of shower gels and bubble bath soaps.
After a comfortable night's sleep (courtesy beauty pillow) we went for a swim. The gym was unfortunately under renovation but there was a makeshift gymnasium which..well didn't quite measure up.
The breakfast was good and the buffet spread was definitely elaborate.
We also spent a long time (amidst VVIP guests) in the Chanel boutique which the hotel exclusively houses.
The hotel is situated in Janpath, the heart of the city and we were able to commute very easily to CP, Janpath market and nearby places.
All in all it was one of the most relaxing experiences I have ever had! If you are upto splurging a bit do not miss this one. sure the city has one of the best hotels in the world- Taj, Oberoi etc, but the experience of a night in the Imperial is unparalleled!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    312
    105
    52
    25
See reviews for
226
634
144
420
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in a Grand Heritage room and it was excellent. The only minor thing that spoilt is was that the pool was closed for renovation. Staff were superb and looked after my wife when she became ill ensuring she had plenty of bananas and curd, a traditional cure for an upset stomach (and it worked a treat).

Yes the place is expensive but you get what you pay for. Would stay here again, no problem.

Watch out for the barber on the ground floor, I went there for a wet shave and came out cut to pieces...

JTS-7

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed at Imperial for 2 nights and 3 days. The front desk staff were very helpful, We got a early check-in & a late check out on request.

The rooms are very cozy, with living area, a royal bed, neat bath with all their amenities. The shower area needs some improvement, along with the bath tub, there was a small glass section with a shower - the water pressure is too high & the water leaks out making the entire bath room very messy.

The hotel has great lawns and a great pool. loved the art work & artefacts everywhere. Fresh flowers in the lobby were a nice touch.

The breakfast at 1911 restaurant is amazing! great variety & they even have "breakfast on the go" option if you are in a hurry. We tried the "Spice route" restaurant on the last day for lunch since it is supposed to be one of the top 10 restaurants on some list - the ambience is great, good service, howver the food did not live up to the promise. it was overpriced and I have tasted better Thai & kerala food in other places in India.

If you are staying here and looking at renting a car to commute in Delhi - my suggestion is to come out of the hotel and look for a Black & yellow taxi - they charge you approx. 1300 rs for 8 hrs whereas at Imperial the price is 5X!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Honestly, I do not understand all the rave reviews.
At check-in, after a long trip, we got a miniscule room with a shower that was clogged. So we called the reception and they said that they will send someone up to fix it. We waited for half an hour and nothing happened. So we decided to change rooms to get a room with working shower and toilet too, preferably. We got another super small room and this time the bathroom worked.
The rooms are pretty, with nice sheets and all, but, is this not a 5 star property? And the bathroom is not working?! Come on....!
The grounds of the hotel are pretty, the pool is nice, nothing special.
At breakfast the food selection was really good and delicious, but service was, unfortunately not on the same level. Sometimes I had to wait for coffee for 5 minutes or more and I had to ask the waiters several times.
It's not a bad hotel, don't take me wrong. To me, it's a 4 star pretending to be a 5 star. After spending about 2 hours at the Imperial, my husband summed it up nicely. He asked: Honey, don't they have a Taj in this town?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

The hotel is in a great location for both business and pleasure. Service is very good, rooms exquisite, food delicious in all restaurants - and the spa is one of the best i have been to. A real downside however is the fact that they are having private functions on the lawn facing the terrace of the restaurant - which apparently happens regularly as it was the case both times i stayed at the hotel. This involves works that are extremely noise and make the terrace, which is really one of the nicest place in the hotel to relax, totally off limits. it is also a shame that they do not use the lawn as a terrace itself, and have not arranged for guests to be able to sit there. it is also a shame that they destroyed the ld swimming pool which was really charming and special - the new one is over the top, and looks like being in any resort.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing the terrace and lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyd, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

The Imperial has a certain old world charm to it that distinguishes it from Delhi's array of 5-star offerings. The buildings are short and sprawling, which makes it not imposing. The outside walls are painted pure white.

Room interiors are spacious and bathrooms large. Beds very comfortable.

The layout of the main hall with open sitting areas in front of restaurants is well thought through. The Spice Route, in particular, is an excellent restaurant. The breakfast buffet is splendid also with tremendous variety. Fresh-baked croissants are a surprising bonus.

Complimentary seasonal fruits are almost always on offer and available in room on request.

The gym is perhaps a touch small, but whenever I visited it wasn't very crowded. The Imperial also has a squash court, but the price for playing is very high (1,500 per hour). One would expect that it be cheaper for guests.

One annoying fact was a surprisingly large bill for ironing. We requested about 10 items to be ironed (not washed, just ironed) and were a little taken aback to see a charge of INR 2,000 for these on our bill. One knows to expect to pay a lot for things at 5-star hotels, but this seemed excessive even by such standards.

The hotel is located within walking distance from Connaught Place.

We had free internet because of a corporate deal, but expect to pay normally.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

this hotel is the most b'ful hotel of the delhi. when a person enters he feel like that he is entering inside the palace where the people are waiting at the entrance with soft drinks. this is really very b'ful hotel of delhi. food is really awsome.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial Palace Hotel
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial New Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.