We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 5 Star Hotel that lives up to its name” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lalit New Delhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Lalit New Delhi to your Saves list
The Lalit New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barakhamba Avenue | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent 5 Star Hotel that lives up to its name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My first trip to India this year - India has been amazing but i've had the opportunity to stay in one of the best hotels in Delhi. Excellent service from the reception to point of check out
amazing hotel, with excellent services. Am extremely impressed with the customer service experience well done to an extremely well managed establishment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !

It wont be an exaggeration to say that I am ecstatic to read your review about The Lalit New Delhi ! I am glad that our efforts to provide exceptional customer service have brought joy and satisfaction to you

Thank you, and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Warm Regards
Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    535
    242
    59
    51
See reviews for
246
329
136
663
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Rooms are well furnished with wooden flooring to keep away the cold winters of Delhi. Food was excellent...one should try the North Indian cuisine. My children loved the Dals and lamb dishes at the restaurant. As the hotel is meant more for business travellers, the personalized service was missing. We got a good deal at the hotel as we booked through a travel portal, about 120 USD a night. Book the non smoking rooms as some of the floors were smelling of smoke. Spa facilities are slightly expensive. We liked the fitness centre and my husband enjoyed his morning workouts before we stepped out to go sight seeing!

Room Tip: Non Smoking - should be specified while booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !

Thank you for your most kind words of appreciation ! However, I am concerned that you did not experience personalized service. We at The Lalit New Delhi are committed to providing exceptional service to all our guests, especially, since we are a bustling business hotel.
Please write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com, the next time you are coming to Delhi and we will ensure you have a fantastic stay
Warm Regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is nice, if not a little over the top. Food is good and rooms clean and well maintained. Staff very helpful in organising airport transfers etc. Pool is really nice if you get a chance to use it! Good location for both the airport and Central Delhi. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !

I am delighted to learn you had a great time with us. We hope to be of service to you and your friends again in the future
Thank for for choosing to stay at The Lalit New Delhi !

Warm Regards
Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The service at the restaurant was excellent. Special thanks go to Mr Sachet Seth and Mr Heramani Pokhriyal for their quick services. They helped me with the choice of the best kind of local food and deserts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !

Thank you for the lovely review. We are committed to provide exceptional service to all our guests and hope to be your preferred choice in Delhi

Warm Regards
Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Hi, This was the start of our trip of a lifetime to INDIA, The Lalit was a business, hotel in a commercial district, our bedroom was adequate, but with blanked out windows, obviously,not able to enjoy the view from 10th floor, a trip to the 28th was well worth it, staff and booking in was fine, an OK place

Room Tip: as if you can nave a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !

Thank you for taking out the time and giving us your valuable feedback. Please write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com, the next time you are coming to Delhi, India and we will ensure you get a room with a view !!
We are celebrating 25 years of The Lalit New Delhi and thankful to you for being part of a landmark year with us

Warm Regards
Vivek Shukla

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel from the Dec 01 to Dec 05 in their Club Premier rooms. The fun begins when you get your luggage for screening at the entrance, it is almost 'self service' and you need to tug pull huff and put the luggage in, there are bell boys around but they are totally lost and directionless. Then the bell boy appears and tries juggling 8 pcs of luggage and manages to successfully break apart my pull out handle of a baggage no apologies nothing ! Such a big establishment no trolleys ??

Then comes the check in, lot of people trying to draw the attention of the front desk staff, when they finally look at you no smile, no courtesy , nothing they watch you like a trespasser and conduct their business, what a brilliant handling of customers !! This is an absolute putoff ! just 2-3 at the front desk ? with 6-10 people waiting The front desk refuses to accept a PAN card as an ID !!??, may I please know why ?

The room advertised as 435 sqft isn't the size it is smaller but cozy enough. House keeping looks lost with just cursory cleaning no change of replacement of toilet papers, did not change pillow covers. Check out is very slow painful and you could miss your flight ! I nearly did, be at the check out counter atleast 30 mins before your scheduled departure.

The saving grace is their absolutely delightful breakfast spread ! and a very nicely managed CLUB LOUNGE , special mention goes to Wasim at the lounge he really takes care of everything and makes you feel welcome The breakfast and the Club lounge save the day.

Room Tip: Take the higher floors and pool facing ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !

At the outset i would like to thank you for taking out the time and giving us your valuable feedback. Please accept my most sincere and profound apologies for the most dissatisying experience during your recent stay at the The Lalit New Delhi.
I have taken up all the points very seriously with my concerned Head of Departments for immediate corrective action.
I hope that will offer us another opportunity to redeem ourselves
Please write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are in Delhi and we will ensure you have a flawless experience
Warm Regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

It was a wonderful stay. I stayed three days. Swiming pool is good. Tempature maintence in pool was ok. Break fast spread was excellant and service was good. The location of the hotel is near heart of delhi cannaught place.

Room Tip: Near to Canaugt Place and can walk down but avoid going alone in late evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Namaskar !

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. It is feedback like yours which keeps us going !
The whole team of the The Lalit New Delhi joins me in gratitude and we await your return.
Please write to me at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are in Delhi and we will ensure you have yet another wonderful experience
Warm Regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lalit New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit New Delhi

Address: Barakhamba Avenue | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#21 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#27 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#49 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLiT Hotels in Delhi, one of the best luxury hotels in Delhi India, stands tall right in the middle of city’s premier business and commercial district – Connaught Place. Being the central luxury business hotel in Delhi, it is located right next to lively shopping centres, office complexes and colourful streets, the hotel is 24 kms from the international airport and just minutes away from government offices, cultural centres and international trade fairgrounds. With the largest room sizes amongst all luxury hotels Delhi, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of 461 five star hotel rooms. The bedrooms are all well tailored to the needs of both a business traveler as well as a vacationer and accompanied by hotels modern amenities and elegant decor. Guests at our luxury hotels, have an option of choosing from a Deluxe Rooms, LaLiT Luxury Rooms and the suites. Serving cuisines from both the world of east and west, The LaLiT, hotels New Delhi offers four fine dining restaurants serving food to suit all types of palate. For those enjoying traditional Chinese food, The Woks serve authentic Chinese food while The Grill serves continental food. And if guests want to taste food prepared in the traditional Indian way, we invite them to try our Indian cuisine at Baluchi while our multi-cuisine restaurant and Bar – 24/7 is the best place for guests who enjoy food while also interacting with chefs of the restaurant. At 24/7 guests have an option of choosing variety of food at the buffet or being selective through the elaborate a-la-carte menu. At The LaLiT, luxury hotel Delhi, guests can be at comfort both at work as well as leisure. Ideal for all types of events, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of six banquet hall. Guests can organize all types of events with us - from small top-notch corporate events to private party events and from big conference meeting to huge wedding ceremony. Enough to accommodate upto 800 people, hotels' banquet facilities are added advantage amongst all hotels in Delhi. So whether the event is corporate or if it is a planning a wedding at hotels, The LaLiT New Delhi hotels offers just the right kind of banquets and meeting space for the hotels in New Delhi. Other world class hotel facilities at this 5 star luxury hotels Delhi include 24 hour Business Centre, Hotels Concierge Desk, Foreign Exchange, Limousine Service, 24 hour In-room Dining, Laundry Service, Valet Car Parking, Shopping Arcade, Doctor on Call, Rejuve – The Spa and a well equipped Gymnasium so that the business traveler feels more productive and rejuvenated. At Connaught Place, the center of the city - is The LaLiT New Delhi - an 18 story edifice with easy access to the city’s commercial complexes, conference centers, shopping hubs and historic sights. Wonderful interiors, immaculate service and fine cuisine combine to make The LaiLiT New Delhi is an eventful address of the city. Amongst other five star hotels Delhi this luxury hotel is within close proximity to historical landmarks like India Gate, Jama Masjid and Red Fort. Located at the city center, The Lalit New Delhi is just 35 minute drive from the airport and is merely 5 minute from the railway station. The city is well connected through air and rail links apart from two of the national highways which connect New Delhi to all the major cities in the country. The Hotel is also 10 minute drive from the trade fair ground and merely 15 minute drive from several embassies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Lalit New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotels Delhi
Hotel The Lalit Delhi
Intercontinental Lalit Hotel
Lalit Intercontinental Hotel
Hotel The Lalit New Delhi
Intercontinental Grand New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lalit New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.