We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad time at Hotel Lalit Delhi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lalit New Delhi

Save Saved
You added The Lalit New Delhi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lalit New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barakhamba Avenue | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Bad time at Hotel Lalit Delhi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Hotel is good, but service is very poor.
Quality of food is below Zero.
It is all about repetition of food/menu/taste/falour/colour.
Break fast is huge spread, but it kills by poor service at Coffee Shop.

Room Tip: less distrerbation on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar!!

At the outset let me thank you for your feedback wherein you have outlined the dissatisfying experience you had at The Lalit New Delhi during your stay with regards to Food & Service at Coffee Shop.

Please accept our most sincere and profound apologies for the annoying and dissatisfying experience caused to you. I have taken up the points with the concerned Head of departments for immediate corrective action.

We hope you will not hold this experience against us and will offer us another opportunity to look after you in a manner that you expect and so rightfully deserve.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

I hope to welcome you back to The LaLit New Delhi in near future.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    587
    475
    212
    54
    48
See reviews for
210
289
126
592
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Booked three nights at this hotel and the service was at its best. Food was delicious, rooms were spacious, location is good. Definitely recommend this hotel if in Delhi. The only negative comment i can make is that its a bit pricey to the other hotels i stayed in India but you expect it as being in centre of the hub of all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here twice in September and October 2013. The rooms are compact but comfortable and very clean, though the showers could use an upgrade. The housekeeping staff are very attentive and do a great job. The service was pretty good throughout the hotel.
The Indian restaurant was outstanding, though can get noisy, and has a great selection of wine too, well kept in a temperature controlled cellar.
If internet service is not included in your room, then it can get expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

As always the lalit has delivered its best service and top class accommodation
From check in to check out our stay here was fabulous
The hotels is beautiful in its decor and the staff are well mannered and polite
We had a club room on the 24th floor with a fantastic view of Delhi
I have stayed at the Lalit in Mumbai a number of times and this hotels chain is by far the
Best in India
Only complain is the internet is very expensive and so is the mini bar
Would recommend this to anyone
If you are going to Delhi.. Stay here

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.

We have also noted your feedback with regards to Internet and Minibar pricing and the same has been shared with the management.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was happy with my stay at the Lalit without any problems with the service or restaurant. I would have rated it higher but I stayed at another Lalit (newer) and gave it a better rating. This was my first experience with the Lalit hotel chain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar!!

At the outset let me thank you for taking out the time and giving us your valuable feedback about your stay at The Lalit New Delhi.

The team at The Lalit, New Delhi strives harder every day to surpass our guest expectations.
We hope you will offer us another opportunity to look after you in a manner that you expect and so rightfully deserve.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

I hope to welcome you back to The LaLit New Delhi in near future.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed just one night but thoroughly enjoyed the good service. The restaurant has a very wide range of Indian and international dishes on offer. The rooms are of good size and, as the hotel is one of the tallest buildings in the city, the higher you go, the wider the views.

Room Tip: Aim for a room above the 20th floor for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamihara-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The foods at the restaurant is just the same as every day and no tasty at all.
Compared to the expensive price, the quality of staying is just poor.
My room was located at 11th floor and the wall had been painting a whole week while I stayed.
It was just dirty and smell strange, I could not feel good about the security as well due to
such a situation always under the construction

Room Tip: go to the other hotel for the better stay value for the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar!!

At the outset let me thank you for your feedback wherein you have outlined the dissatisfying experience you had at The Lalit New Delhi during your stay with regards to the food & paint smell.

Please accept our most sincere and profound apologies for the annoying and dissatisfying experience caused to you. Let me assure you that your safety & security is our top most priority.

We hope you will not hold this experience against us and will offer us another opportunity to look after you in a manner that you expect and so rightfully deserve.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

I hope to welcome you back to The LaLit New Delhi in near future.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lalit New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit New Delhi

Address: Barakhamba Avenue | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#21 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#26 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#48 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit New Delhi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLiT Hotels in Delhi, one of the best luxury hotels in Delhi India, stands tall right in the middle of city’s premier business and commercial district – Connaught Place. Being the central luxury business hotel in Delhi, it is located right next to lively shopping centres, office complexes and colourful streets, the hotel is 24 kms from the international airport and just minutes away from government offices, cultural centres and international trade fairgrounds. With the largest room sizes amongst all luxury hotels Delhi, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of 461 five star hotel rooms. The bedrooms are all well tailored to the needs of both a business traveler as well as a vacationer and accompanied by hotels modern amenities and elegant decor. Guests at our luxury hotels, have an option of choosing from a Deluxe Rooms, LaLiT Luxury Rooms and the suites. Serving cuisines from both the world of east and west, The LaLiT, hotels New Delhi offers four fine dining restaurants serving food to suit all types of palate. For those enjoying traditional Chinese food, The Woks serve authentic Chinese food while The Grill serves continental food. And if guests want to taste food prepared in the traditional Indian way, we invite them to try our Indian cuisine at Baluchi while our multi-cuisine restaurant and Bar – 24/7 is the best place for guests who enjoy food while also interacting with chefs of the restaurant. At 24/7 guests have an option of choosing variety of food at the buffet or being selective through the elaborate a-la-carte menu. At The LaLiT, luxury hotel Delhi, guests can be at comfort both at work as well as leisure. Ideal for all types of events, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of six banquet hall. Guests can organize all types of events with us - from small top-notch corporate events to private party events and from big conference meeting to huge wedding ceremony. Enough to accommodate upto 800 people, hotels' banquet facilities are added advantage amongst all hotels in Delhi. So whether the event is corporate or if it is a planning a wedding at hotels, The LaLiT New Delhi hotels offers just the right kind of banquets and meeting space for the hotels in New Delhi. Other world class hotel facilities at this 5 star luxury hotels Delhi include 24 hour Business Centre, Hotels Concierge Desk, Foreign Exchange, Limousine Service, 24 hour In-room Dining, Laundry Service, Valet Car Parking, Shopping Arcade, Doctor on Call, Rejuve – The Spa and a well equipped Gymnasium so that the business traveler feels more productive and rejuvenated. At Connaught Place, the center of the city - is The LaLiT New Delhi - an 18 story edifice with easy access to the city’s commercial complexes, conference centers, shopping hubs and historic sights. Wonderful interiors, immaculate service and fine cuisine combine to make The LaiLiT New Delhi is an eventful address of the city. Amongst other five star hotels Delhi this luxury hotel is within close proximity to historical landmarks like India Gate, Jama Masjid and Red Fort. Located at the city center, The Lalit New Delhi is just 35 minute drive from the airport and is merely 5 minute from the railway station. The city is well connected through air and rail links apart from two of the national highways which connect New Delhi to all the major cities in the country. The Hotel is also 10 minute drive from the trade fair ground and merely 15 minute drive from several embassies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Lalit New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit Delhi
Intercontinental Lalit Hotel
Lalit Hotels Delhi
Lalit Intercontinental Hotel
Intercontinental Grand New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lalit New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.