We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lalit at Delhi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lalit New Delhi

Save Saved
You added The Lalit New Delhi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Lalit New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barakhamba Avenue | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 594 hotels in New Delhi
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lalit at Delhi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I was in Delhi in Feb 2013 for a meeting and booked into the Lalit .
I reached late evening there from Kolkota,the drive to the hotel was a little long due to the evening traffic in Delhi.This was the first time I was staying here and was pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome and the spacious lobby with paintings and statues ,well lit and artistically placed(picture).
The checkin was smooth.The room was spacious and very comfortable,goood bed,
The breakfast spread was good.The meeting room had good layout and acoustics.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    530
    439
    204
    54
    47
See reviews for
192
271
119
552
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Lalit is in a great location, a 10 min walk to CP and 5 mins from a metro station. What I liked was the awesome breakfast, location and hospitality. I was disappointed with the amenities though and expected better for a 5 star propert;, no room slippers, no toothbrush, nopaste, no earbuds etc. The iron-board provide was stained and so was the iron itself.

Also not sure how one could get the Loyalty card, have stayed in a few Lalit properties in the past including this one.

Overall a nice hub for tourists

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.

We have also noted your feedback with regards to the amenities and the same has been taken up with the concerned head of department. We apologise for the inconvenience caused to you.

Request you to provide your contact details to send the Lalit loyalty information.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I loved this hotel! I only stayed 2 nights but i wish i could have stayed longer. The rooms were lovely and the service was impeccable. The staff were very friendly and helpful, without being overbearing. The range of services they offered was quite impressive, especially the fitness centre and the restaurants. I had room service one night and tried the Indian restaurant another night - the food was excellent and delivered with exceptional service. The only complaint i might have is the hefty price tags on everything but, you get what you pay for. I would definitely recommend this hotel, for a 2 or 3 night escape and indulgent holiday it's just perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at the Lalit recently and we impressed only by the lobby!.The doormen are very attentive, however service in general could do with improvement. The room was nice, but as another reviewer said, cleanliness, or should I say maintenance of the rooms needs IMPROVEMENT. for a 5 star hotels there needs to be greater attention to room/bathroom maintance.
As we left the hotel early in the morning, I watched staff of the housekeeping department shining the floors in the impressive foyer. This same attention needs to be paid throughout the building.

The 24/7 restaurant leaves room for significant improvement. I noticed that the HOT breakfast items were being laid out before 4 am...hardly fresh for the start of a breakfast service that was hours away.

Can someone please tell the staff that female guests should be addressed as madam or miss and NOT SIR!! This should be part of staff training.
Finally, if the hotel really needs to charge for internet use, include it in the room rates or since the hotel obviously has 24/7 internet for business purposes, make it free for their guests.

The buffet is just average, for a hotel that claims to be 5 star, it should have a better

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

We have noted your feedback with regards to cleanliness and maintenance of room, buffet breakfast being laid at 4 am and charges being levied for internet. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this may have caused you. I will be addressing each of these issues as highlighted by you with my concerned depratment head.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Hotel has undergone another change of owner. The Lalit group. This hotel is a 5 star, but complaints about extortionate wifi are accurate. Why charge for it in 2013. Most 2 and 3 star hotels have it in India now, so the Lalit charging very silly money just leaves one feeling.. erm...cheated. Food is fine and breakfast good. Staff do their work well. However the $10 small beer in the fridge and only one small bottle of complimentary water is disappointing. Do Lalit expect their guests to drink from the tap? Spa is good pool is good fitness centre likewise. Great location. it is a 5 star hotel with prices that reflect that, so why charge for the internet and water? A cheap policy that just has had its day. Stop it it makes you look bad.

Room Tip: High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

The LaLiT New Delhi has always been owned by the same ownership. We have noted your feedback with regards to charges being levied for internet, water and high rates as conveyed by you for beer. We provide one litre of mineral water with compliments every day in our guest rooms.

While we understand that you found The LaLiT charging high rates, however please be assured that we are charging for services and facilities in line with all 5 star luxury hotels.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Unfortunately the Lalit Delhi became a very disapointing experience.Unfriendly service, questionable cleanliness (directory of services in the room was awfully dirt, dirty ceiling when you are lying in the bathtub, pool surraoundign area not even swept .... ); And if this was not enough unacceptable prices: they are charging 900 roupies (around 15 dollars a day for the internet!, prices in the restaurant are crazy and they ask you 4500 rupies to bring you to the airport (taxi price is 600 rupies).
Just avoid. So disapointing.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar!!

At the outset let me thank you for your feedback wherein you have outlined the dissatisfying experience you had at The Lalit New Delhi during your stay with regards to the hotel services.

Please accept our most sincere and profound apologies for the annoying and dissatisfying experience caused to you.

This incident is unfortunate and regrettable and we understand the anguish and dissatisfaction experienced by you. The entire team of The Lalit New Delhi joins me in extending their sincere and profound apologies. I have taken up your feedback seriously with the concerned Head of Departments for immediate corrective action. Request you to endow with your contact details for further information.

We hope you will not hold this experience against us and will offer us another opportunity to look after you in a manner that you expect and so rightfully deserve.

We remain firmly committed to the ethos and values of hospitality and customer centricity and in accordance we look forward to working towards regaining your faith and confidence in our brand.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

I hope to welcome you back to The LaLit New Delhi in near future.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Particularly if you have just flown in from the States, The Lalit offers a very comfortable place to regain your energy and venture out to explore the city. Rooms are well designed and very attractive. The restaurant is very good, serving an excellent breakfast. Room service is prompt. There is a charge for Internet service, but that is the case in most hotels in India.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lalit New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit New Delhi

Also Known As:
The Lalit New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi Hotel
Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotels Delhi
Hotel The Lalit Delhi
Lalit Intercontinental Hotel
Intercontinental Lalit Hotel
Hotel The Lalit New Delhi
Address: Barakhamba Avenue | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#30 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#52 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit New Delhi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLiT Hotels in Delhi, one of the best luxury hotels in Delhi India, stands tall right in the middle of city’s premier business and commercial district – Connaught Place. Being the central luxury business hotel in Delhi, it is located right next to lively shopping centres, office complexes and colourful streets, the hotel is 24 kms from the international airport and just minutes away from government offices, cultural centres and international trade fairgrounds. With the largest room sizes amongst all luxury hotels Delhi, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of 461 five star hotel rooms. The bedrooms are all well tailored to the needs of both a business traveler as well as a vacationer and accompanied by hotels modern amenities and elegant decor. Guests at our luxury hotels, have an option of choosing from a Deluxe Rooms, LaLiT Luxury Rooms and the suites. Serving cuisines from both the world of east and west, The LaLiT, hotels New Delhi offers four fine dining restaurants serving food to suit all types of palate. For those enjoying traditional Chinese food, The Woks serve authentic Chinese food while The Grill serves continental food. And if guests want to taste food prepared in the traditional Indian way, we invite them to try our Indian cuisine at Baluchi while our multi-cuisine restaurant and Bar – 24/7 is the best place for guests who enjoy food while also interacting with chefs of the restaurant. At 24/7 guests have an option of choosing variety of food at the buffet or being selective through the elaborate a-la-carte menu. At The LaLiT, luxury hotel Delhi, guests can be at comfort both at work as well as leisure. Ideal for all types of events, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of six banquet hall. Guests can organize all types of events with us - from small top-notch corporate events to private party events and from big conference meeting to huge wedding ceremony. Enough to accommodate upto 800 people, hotels' banquet facilities are added advantage amongst all hotels in Delhi. So whether the event is corporate or if it is a planning a wedding at hotels, The LaLiT New Delhi hotels offers just the right kind of banquets and meeting space for the hotels in New Delhi. Other world class hotel facilities at this 5 star luxury hotels Delhi include 24 hour Business Centre, Hotels Concierge Desk, Foreign Exchange, Limousine Service, 24 hour In-room Dining, Laundry Service, Valet Car Parking, Shopping Arcade, Doctor on Call, Rejuve – The Spa and a well equipped Gymnasium so that the business traveler feels more productive and rejuvenated. At Connaught Place, the center of the city - is The LaLiT New Delhi - an 18 story edifice with easy access to the city’s commercial complexes, conference centers, shopping hubs and historic sights. Wonderful interiors, immaculate service and fine cuisine combine to make The LaiLiT New Delhi is an eventful address of the city. Amongst other five star hotels Delhi this luxury hotel is within close proximity to historical landmarks like India Gate, Jama Masjid and Red Fort. Located at the city center, The Lalit New Delhi is just 35 minute drive from the airport and is merely 5 minute from the railway station. The city is well connected through air and rail links apart from two of the national highways which connect New Delhi to all the major cities in the country. The Hotel is also 10 minute drive from the trade fair ground and merely 15 minute drive from several embassies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lalit New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lalit New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.