We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service from concierge (Rahul Satmukhi)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lalit New Delhi

Save Saved
You added The Lalit New Delhi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lalit New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barakhamba Avenue | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional service from concierge (Rahul Satmukhi)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed at Lalit for 4 nights in January 2013, the concierge (Rahul Satmukhi) went out of his way to ensure that we were comfortable and taken care off, he organised our trip to Agraa (Taj mahal) and guided tours in Delhi as well. Overall a wonderful stay made even better by Rahul. The food at the hotel resturants were also excellent. The Lalit is an excellent choice and the service and staff are great, ask for Rahul and he will sort everything out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    587
    477
    212
    55
    48
See reviews for
209
288
126
590
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

You feel the title of my review if you are an indian ..... you feel that the staff is just inclined on welcoming and warming the foreign nationals.... They stay was ok...just have a bit of wow factor... over my long stay found the buffet menus repetative and not so appealing.... In your rooms just feel to see a lot alot and yes alot of suris only..... TVs have limited channels. Overall not worth it...

Room Tip: All rooms are same....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar!!

At the outset let me thank you for your feedback wherein you have outlined the dissatisfying experience you had at The Lalit New Delhi during your stay with regards to the hotel services.

Pease accept our most sincere and profound apologies for the annoying and dissatisfying experience caused to you.

This incident is unfortunate and regrettable and we understand the anguish and dissatisfaction experienced by you. The entire team of The Lalit New Delhi joins me in extending their sincere and profound apologies. I have taken up your feedback seriously with the concerned Head of Departments for immediate corrective action.

We hope you will not hold this experience against us and will offer us another opportunity to look after you in a manner that you expect and so rightfully deserve.

We remain firmly committed to the ethos and values of hospitality and customer centricity and in accordance we look forward to working towards regaining your faith and confidence in our brand.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

I hope to welcome you back to The LaLit New Delhi in near future.
Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very professionally run modern hotel. Just what you want for a first visit to India. Nice heated swimming pool. Attentive staff and good choice of meals at breakfast and dinner. Good location for walking to nearby restaurants if you want a change.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hotel is good, clean and offers comfort for business travelers. Check in usually is swift. Coffee shop is okay .Restaurants can be better. Certainly below the mark. However , I have found service levels getting worse day by day. Rooms stink, basic amenities often not available..needs follow up to the front desk to get things done. Room service certainly needs a re-haul. However the biggest let down is network connectivity. If you are using any of the national network carriers..prepare yourself for poor cell connectivity, drop calls. Is a let down and frustrating for any business travelers. Repeated feedback to hotel management does not seem to improve .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar!!

At the outset let me thank you for your feedback wherein you have outlined the dissatisfying experience you had at The Lalit New Delhi during your stay with regards to the hotel services.

Pease accept our most sincere and profound apologies for the annoying and dissatisfying experience caused to you.

This incident is unfortunate and regrettable and we understand the anguish and dissatisfaction experienced by you. The entire team of The Lalit New Delhi joins me in extending their sincere and profound apologies. I have taken up your feedback seriously with the concerned Head of Departments for immediate corrective action.

We hope you will not hold this experience against us and will offer us another opportunity to look after you in a manner that you expect and so rightfully deserve.

We remain firmly committed to the ethos and values of hospitality and customer centricity and in accordance we look forward to working towards regaining your faith and confidence in our brand.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

I hope to welcome you back to The LaLit New Delhi in near future.
Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

HI, I stayed here for a night 20feb'13

A very Plesant Hotel..With A huge Lobby !!



Very Diffrent From All Hotels

Cos the Owner Mr Lalit Suri Made it his way !!

Which is the USP, And you would feel very comfortable

cos of his personal touch to the hotel with his taste !!



The live Piano and Water fall the lobby is just awesome..

The HOtel Displays A lot of art, Even at the pool level they

have a live gallery , Where purchase is avaliable too !!


Pool Is beautiful..



The tallest Hotel In Delhi - 28 Floor's

I was on floor 24..

The view Was Amazing

Very Friendly Staff, All of them Would Greet you..

The breakfast is Really Good With Great options..I loved the grilled FIsh

We stayed at the Executive club room, Which gave us


access to the Executive lounge too,

Where the cocktails & Snacks Were nice too..

Bed - Very Comfortable,, American Style SOft beds..


I was there with my wife !! she liked it too..


Will be BAck soon..

Room Tip: HI, I stayed here for a night 20feb'13 A very Plesant Hotel..With A huge Lobby !! Ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here in November... and again this month (February)- both times for business. I hate to say it, but the place is on it's way down. The rooms- at first glance are pretty good. I like the wood flooring... But my first night back here, I had several complaints- most of which went unattended to.

The rooms are very noisy- you can hear everything from the hallway.

The shower head was impossible to move- so when you turned it on, it was at face level- shooting directly out... no way to swivel it or change the level. Best I could do was use it as a hand held- seems petty? Maybe... but after a day trekking around India... all I want to do is come back and take a long relaxing shower... not have a high pressure shower shooting cold and hot water right in my eyes.

The hair dryer is from the '80s... it seems... blows cold air... and not very fast. Oh, also- it wasn't in the room- I had to call TWICE for it... A "luxury" hotel without a hair dryer? Unacceptable.

There was an ironing board- (old, stained, and smelly) but no iron... had to call for that, too.

The Wi-Fi... is quite expensive... and if you need to use it in the business center- to say, print anything- you have to pay for the internet AGAIN- they wont just let you log in using your credentials that you've already paid for....

The staff in the business center don't know how to work their technology... They couldn't turn on the computers.. they couldn't get anything to print... they fumbled around with the printer for ever... a colleague spent over an hour trying to print 3 articles off the web. He was livid... and he missed breakfast over it.

When I called to complain about the issues in my room- the manager didn't even listen to all of the issues- he just said, "we can move you"- at this point it was extremely late... the last thing I wanted to do was pack up all of my things and be moved... I wanted someone to listen to the problems... and then i wanted them to be fixed the next morning when I left for my meetings... and if they COULDNT be fixed.. THEN i wanted to move... Suffice it to say- nothing had changed when I returned... Sigh- I gave up.

The breakfast staff one morning was overly attentive... I coudlnt have a normal conversation with my colleagues without being interrupted to be asked if i wanted coffee or tea. It was literally every 3-4 minutes. At first it was funny... then it was annoying. The SECOND morning was an entirely different story. I sat at an empty table next to my colleagues (after checking with them that no one was seated there...) and then a hostess came up to me and rudely said someone was seated there and i had to move... When my colleagues verified that no one was there again, she stormed off... annnnnd then both of our tables proceeded to get ZERO service for the rest of the time there. I had to walk up to a group of servers and ask them THREE times for coffee....

If I find myself in Delhi again... I will do everything I can to not stay here...

Room Tip: The best rooms.... are in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar!!

At the outset let me thank you for your feedback wherein you have outlined the dissatisfying experience you had at The Lalit New Delhi during your stay with regards to the hotel services.

Pease accept our most sincere and profound apologies for the annoying and dissatisfying experience caused to you.

This incident is unfortunate and regrettable and we understand the anguish and dissatisfaction experienced by you. The entire team of The Lalit New Delhi joins me in extending their sincere and profound apologies. I have taken up your feedback seriously with the concerned Head of Departments for immediate corrective action.

We hope you will not hold this experience against us and will offer us another opportunity to look after you in a manner that you expect and so rightfully deserve.

We remain firmly committed to the ethos and values of hospitality and customer centricity and in accordance we look forward to working towards regaining your faith and confidence in our brand.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

I hope to welcome you back to The LaLit New Delhi in near future.
Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stay at The Lalit, Delhi frequently and after sampling several of the other Business hotels in Delhi I keep coming back. Although there may be other hotels which are fancier in the city the Lalit provides all the amenities required at what is usually a very reasonable price. The staff are great and always look after me. Including getting taxis for me and looking after my luggage. As a woman travelling alone I always feel safe there.

The rooms are spacious and really clean. The best rooms have baths and are a little bigger.
One side is near the train station and can be a little noisy but I don't really notice it.

Foodwise the buffet is really good and both the Chinese and Indian restaurants are very good (if a little pricey). I also find it irritating to have to pay for WiFI but this still seems to be standard across the 4/5* Indian hotels.

It has a nightclub which I have been told is really cool although I have never made it there yet. Unlike other hotels I have stayed at (The Park for example) there is no issue with the noise from this.

Its just a shame that they don't have a points card!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivek-Shukla, General Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay with us at The LaLiT New Delhi, India.

Your kind words of appreciation about the various hotel services and facilities would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are more comfortable and well looked after.

Request you to provide your contact information in order to send you the details of our Lalit Loyalty program.

Please write me a mail at vshukla@thelalit.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

We look forward to your support and patronage to The LaLiT New Delhi and also welcome you back to your home.

Warmest regards

Vivek Shukla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lalit New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit New Delhi

Address: Barakhamba Avenue | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#28 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#48 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit New Delhi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLiT Hotels in Delhi, one of the best luxury hotels in Delhi India, stands tall right in the middle of city’s premier business and commercial district – Connaught Place. Being the central luxury business hotel in Delhi, it is located right next to lively shopping centres, office complexes and colourful streets, the hotel is 24 kms from the international airport and just minutes away from government offices, cultural centres and international trade fairgrounds. With the largest room sizes amongst all luxury hotels Delhi, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of 461 five star hotel rooms. The bedrooms are all well tailored to the needs of both a business traveler as well as a vacationer and accompanied by hotels modern amenities and elegant decor. Guests at our luxury hotels, have an option of choosing from a Deluxe Rooms, LaLiT Luxury Rooms and the suites. Serving cuisines from both the world of east and west, The LaLiT, hotels New Delhi offers four fine dining restaurants serving food to suit all types of palate. For those enjoying traditional Chinese food, The Woks serve authentic Chinese food while The Grill serves continental food. And if guests want to taste food prepared in the traditional Indian way, we invite them to try our Indian cuisine at Baluchi while our multi-cuisine restaurant and Bar – 24/7 is the best place for guests who enjoy food while also interacting with chefs of the restaurant. At 24/7 guests have an option of choosing variety of food at the buffet or being selective through the elaborate a-la-carte menu. At The LaLiT, luxury hotel Delhi, guests can be at comfort both at work as well as leisure. Ideal for all types of events, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of six banquet hall. Guests can organize all types of events with us - from small top-notch corporate events to private party events and from big conference meeting to huge wedding ceremony. Enough to accommodate upto 800 people, hotels' banquet facilities are added advantage amongst all hotels in Delhi. So whether the event is corporate or if it is a planning a wedding at hotels, The LaLiT New Delhi hotels offers just the right kind of banquets and meeting space for the hotels in New Delhi. Other world class hotel facilities at this 5 star luxury hotels Delhi include 24 hour Business Centre, Hotels Concierge Desk, Foreign Exchange, Limousine Service, 24 hour In-room Dining, Laundry Service, Valet Car Parking, Shopping Arcade, Doctor on Call, Rejuve – The Spa and a well equipped Gymnasium so that the business traveler feels more productive and rejuvenated. At Connaught Place, the center of the city - is The LaLiT New Delhi - an 18 story edifice with easy access to the city’s commercial complexes, conference centers, shopping hubs and historic sights. Wonderful interiors, immaculate service and fine cuisine combine to make The LaiLiT New Delhi is an eventful address of the city. Amongst other five star hotels Delhi this luxury hotel is within close proximity to historical landmarks like India Gate, Jama Masjid and Red Fort. Located at the city center, The Lalit New Delhi is just 35 minute drive from the airport and is merely 5 minute from the railway station. The city is well connected through air and rail links apart from two of the national highways which connect New Delhi to all the major cities in the country. The Hotel is also 10 minute drive from the trade fair ground and merely 15 minute drive from several embassies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Lalit New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit Delhi
Intercontinental Lalit Hotel
Lalit Hotels Delhi
Lalit Intercontinental Hotel
Intercontinental Grand New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lalit New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.