We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel; good location but expensive!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lalit New Delhi

Save Saved
You added The Lalit New Delhi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lalit New Delhi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barakhamba Avenue | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel; good location but expensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed at the lalit for 2 nights a few weeks ago when visiting India for a wedding. It is in a great location with most shopping areas within reasonable reach. Great breakfast with plenty of choice but service very slow & unpredictable. All in all not a bad place to stay but rooms are a little dated & overall an expensive hotel for this part of the world.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLalit, Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Namaskar from the Lalit Hotel New Delhi!

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at The Lalit we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,
Debashish Banerjee
Rooms Division Manager
The LaLiT New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    587
    476
    211
    55
    48
See reviews for
209
288
126
589
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abeokuta, Nigeria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Was in the Hotel for 2 nights to attend a Conference. Very good security system in place. Transfer to and from the Airport was very prompt. Check in was very quick. Room was very big, comfortable with good pillows. No free Wifi however. Restaurant service was also very good. Very expensive but worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLalit, Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Namaskar from the Lalit Hotel New Delhi!

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at The Lalit we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,
Debashish Banerjee
Rooms Division Manager
The LaLiT New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Maybe it's just the cost of doing business in New Delhi instead of S. India where I normally visit, or maybe because much of the hotel was booked for a conference I was attending, but I found the cost of staying at the Lalit New Delhi a little more than expected -- almost to the point of asking myself, is this New Delhi or New York? That being said, however, the service was absolutely top notch, on-property Indian restaurant very nice and I enjoyed the suitably equipped fitness center almost entirely to myself. The staff didn't even blink an eye when I asked to change some of the oddball Middle Eastern currency that I had carried with me (in case such an opportunity presented itself); even the rate was competitive... now that's service.

My room was spacious and modern, though built to typical standards that overlook the sort of finish details that would go on a contractor's 'punch list.' It was fine. Internet service was pricey and speeds were swift during non-peak usage times, but came to a crawl after the close of the normal business day and again after dinner as guests returned to their rooms. The location really is excellent if you want to be in the bullseye of this strangely circular one-way city.

The trains are an issue... well, probably the train horns more than the trains themselves, but they are hard to ignore. Despite being up on a floor in the teens, I was awakened at early hours by blaring horns a few times each night (more like a NHL hockey goal horn than train horn in my mind, which led to some unusual dreams). The alternative to a train-facing room seems to be a traffic-facing room and anyone who has spent time in Indian traffic knows that horns are used as a form of echolocation for drivers in that country, so I'm not sure that would be much better. Bring earplugs.

Nevertheless, the experience was overall very positive and I would certainly stay at the Lalit again if ever in New Delhi on business.

Room Tip: Train or traffic. Choose wisely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLalit, Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Namaskar from the Lalit Hotel New Delhi!

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at The Lalit we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,
Debashish Banerjee
Rooms Division Manager
The LaLiT New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Good: Staff are friendly, attentive and courteous. The rooms are spacious and reasonably well appointed. The location is good and there is a good choice of restaurants on site.

Not so good: If you're unfortunate to get a room overlooking the railway, be prepared for some sleepless nights. Especially if you're on one of the lower floors.
The rooms are a bit outdated and in need of some TLC; if you're staying more than a couple of days, there's really nowhere to store folded clothes, socks etc.
One of the supposed advantages of this hotel is that it has a 24/7 restaurant (called 24/7) which is widely advertised as being open at all times. It isn't! I had an early meeting and wanted breakfast (or any food, for that matter) at 5:30am only to be told 24/7 didn't open until 7:00am.
A/C in room worked intermittently - I roasted one night.

On balance, I'd stay there again but demand a room as far from the railway as possible.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can and away from the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLalit, Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Namaskar from the Lalit Hotel New Delhi!

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at The Lalit we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,
Debashish Banerjee
Rooms Division Manager
The LaLiT New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

excellent food, beautiful rooms, staff controlling all the details and servings clients with sophistication, a perfect place to enjoy peace.

Room Tip: go to the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLalit, Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Namaskar from the Lalit Hotel New Delhi!

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at The Lalit we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,
Debashish Banerjee
Rooms Division Manager
The LaLiT New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Perhaps, for local standards, it would be alright but I found it a big disappointment.
Positive:
* bell staff and club lounge staff were very helpful and friendly
Here are the main reasons why it was a big disappointment:
* I specifically asked for a quiet room but I was assigned to a room that faced the train tracks where horns/beeping were going off during late night/early morning. Even my ear plugs couldn't block the noise.
* I asked for a non-smoking room, but I got a smoking room
* The two rooms I stayed in were very tired
* The beds were uncomfortable
* The front desk staff moved painfully slow

Room Tip: Make sure you ask that your room is not facing the train tracks. It's very loud and if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLalit, Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Namaskar from the Lalit Hotel New Delhi!

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at The Lalit we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,
Debashish Banerjee
Rooms Division Manager
The LaLiT New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es salaam
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the lalit for a few days.. We all loved it...the staff were very helpful and attentive...the breakfast was delicious and had a good variety....they are also very particular about security and our bags had to be screened every time we came back to the hotel..didn't mind it as it's for our own benefit..all in all enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again..

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLalit, Manager at The Lalit New Delhi, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
Namaskar from the Lalit Hotel New Delhi!

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at The Lalit we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,
Debashish Banerjee
Rooms Division Manager
The LaLiT New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lalit New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit New Delhi

Address: Barakhamba Avenue | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#28 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#48 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit New Delhi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLiT Hotels in Delhi, one of the best luxury hotels in Delhi India, stands tall right in the middle of city’s premier business and commercial district – Connaught Place. Being the central luxury business hotel in Delhi, it is located right next to lively shopping centres, office complexes and colourful streets, the hotel is 24 kms from the international airport and just minutes away from government offices, cultural centres and international trade fairgrounds. With the largest room sizes amongst all luxury hotels Delhi, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of 461 five star hotel rooms. The bedrooms are all well tailored to the needs of both a business traveler as well as a vacationer and accompanied by hotels modern amenities and elegant decor. Guests at our luxury hotels, have an option of choosing from a Deluxe Rooms, LaLiT Luxury Rooms and the suites. Serving cuisines from both the world of east and west, The LaLiT, hotels New Delhi offers four fine dining restaurants serving food to suit all types of palate. For those enjoying traditional Chinese food, The Woks serve authentic Chinese food while The Grill serves continental food. And if guests want to taste food prepared in the traditional Indian way, we invite them to try our Indian cuisine at Baluchi while our multi-cuisine restaurant and Bar – 24/7 is the best place for guests who enjoy food while also interacting with chefs of the restaurant. At 24/7 guests have an option of choosing variety of food at the buffet or being selective through the elaborate a-la-carte menu. At The LaLiT, luxury hotel Delhi, guests can be at comfort both at work as well as leisure. Ideal for all types of events, The LaLiT New Delhi offers a total of six banquet hall. Guests can organize all types of events with us - from small top-notch corporate events to private party events and from big conference meeting to huge wedding ceremony. Enough to accommodate upto 800 people, hotels' banquet facilities are added advantage amongst all hotels in Delhi. So whether the event is corporate or if it is a planning a wedding at hotels, The LaLiT New Delhi hotels offers just the right kind of banquets and meeting space for the hotels in New Delhi. Other world class hotel facilities at this 5 star luxury hotels Delhi include 24 hour Business Centre, Hotels Concierge Desk, Foreign Exchange, Limousine Service, 24 hour In-room Dining, Laundry Service, Valet Car Parking, Shopping Arcade, Doctor on Call, Rejuve – The Spa and a well equipped Gymnasium so that the business traveler feels more productive and rejuvenated. At Connaught Place, the center of the city - is The LaLiT New Delhi - an 18 story edifice with easy access to the city’s commercial complexes, conference centers, shopping hubs and historic sights. Wonderful interiors, immaculate service and fine cuisine combine to make The LaiLiT New Delhi is an eventful address of the city. Amongst other five star hotels Delhi this luxury hotel is within close proximity to historical landmarks like India Gate, Jama Masjid and Red Fort. Located at the city center, The Lalit New Delhi is just 35 minute drive from the airport and is merely 5 minute from the railway station. The city is well connected through air and rail links apart from two of the national highways which connect New Delhi to all the major cities in the country. The Hotel is also 10 minute drive from the trade fair ground and merely 15 minute drive from several embassies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Lalit New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit Hotel New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit New Delhi
Hotel The Lalit Delhi
Intercontinental Lalit Hotel
Lalit Hotels Delhi
Lalit Intercontinental Hotel
Intercontinental Grand New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lalit New Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.