We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Long Island Ice Teas - and the hospitality!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Out of The Box

Out of The Box
9A, Hauz Khas Village, New Delhi, India
9650177778
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #439 of 8,224 Restaurants in New Delhi
Cuisines: American, European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Mumbai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Love the Long Island Ice Teas - and the hospitality!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Extremely good cocktails,. The terrace is the best place to sit and I highly recommend the non veg platter.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    49
    19
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding yet again..!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was the 2nd time me n my girl were at OTB and needless to say it was amazing!!
We were at OTB a night before the Valentine's.. enjoyed the sheesha, Cosmopolitan, LIIT and Bloody Mary.. all 3 were during the Happy Hours so we enjoyed an extra drink for the price of one! The Chilli Chicken and the Grilled Prawns were amazingly delicious.. the Grilled Prawns come with Lemon butter sauce and are a definite must-try. We were served by Pratap who was very enthusiastic with suggestions.. I tried the Cucumber Chiller which is a cocktail with Cucumber n Vodka but had to retuen it after a sip coz I didn't quite like it.. swapped it with the Cosmo.. Pratap also suggested the Chicken Biriyani which was farely good too..
Will we be back.. that question has a definite answer.. YES!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fun time n nice hangout place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Out of the Box is such a nice place to chill out. Loved the roof top area where you can see the scenic beauty too.ts probably one of the few places left in Hauz Khas village that have an outdoor terrace seating.very nice music i loved it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Decent outdoor seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Spread over three floors, the ambiance has its own feel. Beautifully decorated with artistic things with raw wood all around. A small terrace with a bar is available for outdoor sitting and during winters its fun to have a dinner there.
The music is not very loud. So if you wanna party, choose some other place.
Try out a Sunday morning brunch with your love [in winters], it would turn out to be an amazing experience.
The terrace overlooks the Hauz Khas Village Forest and the Lake.
Weekdays isn't that crowded. On weekends they have reservations.
Food is not on the best side but is always good.
Recently they have stopped serving hookah like others.
Overall it is a good place if you want to try something new and nice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Top location and excellent food; But Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Pros
1+1 on beers
food is very good

Cons
Slow service
Food price is a bit on the higher side. Beer is WAY EXPENSIVE.

Went there in 2nd week of Feb 2014. Its probably one of the few places left in Hauz Khas village that have an outdoor terrace seating. We were two couples, and chose the outdoor seating. The place is great. Even though we could not get the lake facing outdoor seats, the set up overall is lovely. The best part is that they have heat lanterns on the roof, which was perfect in the cold Delhi weather.
Chicken Peri Peri is really good. The dressing was pretty un-even though, more spicy in the middle and less at the corners. Chicken pizza was also pretty fresh. QTB Veg sandwich is pretty heavy, so beware before ordering two.
The service on the other hand is pretty slow, so be ready to wait (and not angry) after placing your order.
The food is a bit on the expensive side. Pizza was around Rs.500 (which is moderate relative to the places in Hauz Khas) but peri peri chicken was expensive (over Rs.500 as far I remember).
The liquor is very expensive. One beer pint is Rs.375 without tax. thank god they have 1+1 on beers. You could get a 1+1 at a lesser rate in many other restaurant in hauz khas.
Could've given a perfect 5 if not for the slow service and expensive liquor rates.

Worth going though

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Out of The Box also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Out of The Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Out of The Box, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.