We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elma's Bakery, Cakes and Tea room

Elma's Bakery, Cakes and Tea room
24/1, Hauz Khas Village, New Delhi, New Delhi, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #633 of 4,097 Restaurants in New Delhi
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Elma's bakery is a delightful little bakery and tea-room, in Hauz Khas village, based on the English tea-rooms. The furnishings are lovely and cosy with only four tables. Delicious scones, breads and cakes are served here. Also, sandwiches, toasties and soups for light lunches.
India
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Delicious Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were 4 adults and 2 children who went there for breakfast on a monday morning.
The deco and ambiance is very nice, cozy and cute. The menu is quite long and the food is delicious.
We loved the bread that they served and all the 2-3 egg preparations we ordered were simply mouth watering !
The children loved the fresh orange juice and the waffles with bananas, chocolate and cream on the side.
A bit on the expensive side, but a delicious breakfast nevertheless.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Elma's Tea Room , Hauz Khas, New Delhi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Quaint, warm and friendly were some adjectives that came to mind. Service seems ow but it really isn't, considering how busy the place is. Bakes were excellent and the teas are allclose to perfection Any more feedback and it old look like Iwn the place... Overall peopleare warm,friendly d helpful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The food is decent, and the tea room offers a unique experience by Delhi standards. But then you certainly pay the price for it. Having been to several tea rooms in the English countryside, and having had afternoon teas in five stars, I feel Elma's offers the experience of the former at the price of the latter. Infact, strictly speaking, its menu resembles that of a cafe more than that of a tea room, so Elma's to me is a glorified cafe. And I definitely don't want to be paying New York/ London/Paris restaurant prices for the experience of a cafe, so sadly I probably won't be going very often.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious cake!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was a bit disappointed that there was some problem in the kitchen that meant I couldn't have a toasted sandwich - as I really wanted one! But I had a cold finger sandwich (BLT). The bread was proper, substantial bread, and overall the sandwich was good.

But I really enjoyed the cake - I had a chocolate/apricot/brandy cake which was delicious gooey and a decent sized slice, served alongside a pot of very nice tea (can't remember the name, but it was one of the organic ones described as champagne coloured). My friend said she had one of the best croissants ever here.

I love the big windows with all the trees outside - it reminds me a bit of teahouses in the hills near my home. It is very small, so although it would be a nice place to lazily spend some time, I suspect you would get moved on after a while. I don't remember the prices now, but it was quite expensive for a sandwiches, cake and tea in comparison to what we had been spending on meals - but I did enjoy it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Yum-experimental cakes, unique tea blends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The previous reviewer mentioned "smell of ghee", I think they meant unsalted butter which may be used for baking. Who wouldn't love to go to a bakery where they actually bake fresh cakes! This is a quaint, cute lil place that I love to go. Their tea collection and blends are better than those at Oxford bookstore. The scones can compete with their English counterparts and the almost all the breads, cakes and croques are yummy. Chef Shelly went to Cordon Bleu, lil wonder then! It is a lil cramped but so are most places in HKV.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elma's Bakery, Cakes and Tea room also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Elma's Bakery, Cakes and Tea room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elma's Bakery, Cakes and Tea room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.