We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chance to see the real life of people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indomania Pottery Village Tour

Indomania Pottery Village Tour
FD-6, Pitampura, New Delhi 110034, India
(91) 88602 23456
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 303 Activities in New Delhi
Type: Walking tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This half-day tour takes you to a Pottery Village on the outskirts of Delhi, where hundreds of Rajasthani potter families create magic with clay. Appreciate their art, learn about their culture, interact with them, and make pots with them.
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A chance to see the real life of people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Me and my girlfriend hated the way people were around Delhi always trying to get your money in one way or an other. But this tour with Indomania was really refreshing. Just getting to the neighborhood in this area of Delhi is interesting, you really enter a different world. You see how people live in this area and they are very friendly and happy to see you.
I surely recommend it.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kumhaargram - a pottery village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I only can agree with the reviews of the other writers on this page - a tour absolutely worth to go, to see, to enjoy. Be introduced to real indian life! Enjoy great hospitality (homemade Rajasthani snacks and great tea). Learn very interesting things about pottery and try to produce your own "master piece" (fun!!). Meet very friendly people. The villagers are just as curious about visitors as visitors about the villagers. And the children are amazing.....

Piyush, the organiser and also our tour guide, is a great personality and he has extensive knowledge. He can answer all the questions you may have during the tour!

I did the tour together with 9 ladies (we are all living in Delhi and surrounding areas) and we all did enjoyed this 1/2 day tour very much. We are looking forward to our next tour with Piyush ("Story of a bed sheet" and "Delhi's Little Tibet").

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent - informative and a real insight into the life of the village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This tour was a highlight of our trip to Delhi.
It was an unforgettable opportunity to meet potters and their families, and to buy their work if you want to.
Piyush, is a very knowledgeable and insightful guide. We were accompanied by the head man of the village on the tour and visited several potteries making a variety of objects. The fee you pay will be distributed among the workers you meet. But there will be something to to suit your taste if you want to buy.
It was great fun to meet the children and the rest of the community, try our hand at throwing pots and to experience the delicious hospitality of one family.
The environment is very dusty, so wear strong shoes and appropriate clothing.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An experience that you'll remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I had to choose between Taj Mahal and the Pottery Tour. I ended up with the Pottery Tour because of time constraints. And I was not the least dissappointed. The guide was excellent and village certainly worth to see. I can recommend this to anybody who is interested to see more than the usual guide-book stuff about India. Wear clothes that you don't mind getting a bit dirty and sturdy shoes. You can make pottery yourself and will learn about the village life. Expect chilren who are as curious about you as you are about them. You will have a chance to buy pottery made in the village, but you don't have to if you don't feel like it.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the best tours in Delhi area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I have been on the Pottery Tour twice, but have helped organized several more. This tour provides a wonderful, intimate glimpse into life in a Rajasthani village, with only a 45 minute drive from the center of Delhi.

Piyush offers quiet, yet informative dialogue during the tour, but allows the residents of the village to really shine through. The children are magical, the parents intriguing, the potters amazing. A true favorite of mine after three years of living in Delhi.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indomania Pottery Village Tour also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Indomania Pottery Village Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indomania Pottery Village Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.