We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carnivore's paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yeti - The Himalayan Kitchen

Yeti - The Himalayan Kitchen
50A, 2nd Floor, Hauz Khas Village, Near District Park, New Delhi 110070, India
+91 11 4067 8649
Improve this listing
Ranked #240 of 4,085 Restaurants in New Delhi
Cuisines: Tibetan, Nepali
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Carnivore's paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great food, lovely view overlooking the Haus Khas ruins and a menu that has lots of North East cuisine including Bhutan, Nepal and Tibet.
The pork curry was good but the buff was cooked too stiff and dry. The serving size is quite small - which does not match the pricing at all.
The restaurant should improve on portion size. And they should book tables in advance - this is a major problem as many guests had to hang around on the steep,narrow stairs while waiting for a table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    59
    15
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“yummy food at the Yeti!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We ate at the Yeti on Sunday, and it was fabulous. It is a Nepalese/Tibetian restaurant, situated in Hauz Khas Village and has some fabulosu dishes. good value for money. The crispy spinach is a must, and so are the Momo's...very good ambience and lovely staff too. It also has the advantage of having a balcony view across the ruins at the dear park.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great variety of dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were taken to this restaurant by my Indian colleague on our first day in Delhi. We ordered the veg platter, the meat platter, the pork cooked in honey and the chow mein. The restaurant had a wonderful atmosphere, although service was a little slow. All the food was very tasty and the neighborhood around this restaurant has some great shops for browsing/buying.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Taste of the Hills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you are in Delhi and feel like going to the hills, one thing you can do is to pick up your car and drive 300 kilometers or more to get to Himachal or Uttarakhand. If you cannot for any reason, you can at least have some taste of the hills, literally. Head to Yeti, this small Nepalese/Tibetan food joint, right next to the gate of the Hauz Khas Monument in the Hauz Khas village in Delhi. The authentic food, prepared the authentic way, is something I bet you would relish even if you are not too adventorous in your food habits. The Yeti special VEG platter, which being a vegetarian I ordered, is a treat. Of course, those who have non-veg have far more to choose from. Besides the food, it is a good place to meet friends and have informal meetings. A small balcony provides a place for smoking and you can have a great view of the Hauz Khas pond from there. The only negative: you have to park outside the village and walk for some 500m. Not a great recommendation for those with small children

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A lovely introduction to North East food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Going to the Yeti is well worth the dusty parking in Hauz Khas village and the two flights of steep stairs. It's bright and pretty, and the staff are utterly charming. I love the food and look forward to going there even though I'm too chicken to sample some of their hit dishes like Goat Lights (lungs). But their dried beef starter, spinach, dumplings, soups and practically everything I've tried is delicious and goes perfectly with gulps of ice cold beer. And I love that fermented paste.

If you're going for dinner, be there by 7 pm though. The place is so popular that you'll find it hard to get a table if you arrive after 8.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yeti - The Himalayan Kitchen also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Yeti - The Himalayan Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yeti - The Himalayan Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.