We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and close to airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colonel's Retreat At The Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colonel's Retreat At The Airport to your Saves list
Colonel's Retreat At The Airport
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   27-B Sector 23 A,Near Sector 23 Police Station | Dwarka, New Delhi 110074, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 919 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and close to airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

If you want to stay in or near the city, don't stay here. If you are in transit or just in Delhi for a day or 2, it's actually quite comfortable and only a short drive to IG airport. Getting here was a bit tricky, as it is in a sprawling outer suburb called Dwarka, which is divided into sectors that are very tough to navigate - make sure your taxi driver knows where he is going before setting off.
Once here, it doesn't look like much from the outside, but the inside is very comfortable, with air-con, cable TV, and good clean beds and bathrooms. Breakfast is free which is a nice touch, and Viktor was very helpful in arranging cabs and providing advice about Delhi, as well organising a very decent meal for us after a long day in transit. He is the only one who speaks any English, so if you are struggling to communicate with staff on duty, ask for Viktor.
We were only here for the night, but I'd be happy to stay here again in the same circumstances.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghori90, Owner at Colonel's Retreat At The Airport, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Actually if you use the Airport Express Metro we are remarkably close to the city center as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    23
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
36
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in this property as we had flights scheduled in and out of Palam airport. The taxi driver had difficulty in finding it -but we got clear instructions over phone from the hotel.The rooms are neat and clean and bed comfortable. I have to make special mention of Mr.Victor who was the custodian of this property-he was very helpful and went out the way to help us. Though not a family run bread and breakfast- the staff almost make you feel that you are staying in one!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

On my second trip to India, I stayed in this gem of a place and it is a fabulous place to stay in for all the comforts of home away from home in the big city when you want to be close to the airport. The manager Victor is always very helpful and kind and considerate. The rooms and clean and comfortable and the wifi is awesome. As a single woman travelling alone, I felt very safe and secure and well looked after. Excellent food served also. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghori90, Owner at Colonel's Retreat At The Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear well traveled guest,

a delight to read your review. Makes all we do so much fun. Thank you again , what more can i say.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nothing is 'near-by' at Delhi, almost everything is far. But this home-stay at Dwarka is pretty close to the airport. Though it still takes a minimum of 20 minutes to reach the airport, but its not on crowded streets or in traffic jams raising BP. Its location is very good for transit stay. One should avoid staying at Gurgaon & stay here, as you will easily save on extra 30 min kept for traffic snarls at Gurgaon road!

We were a couple with 2 kids, staying for 12 hrs between 2 flights. We were given a 3 bedded neat & tidy room with an AC and a fan (both required in May heat), drinking water, good floor space for lots of luggage, 3 built-in cupboards with hangers & a locker, a spacious & clean attached bath with bath tub. It had all the homely comforts.

A small ceiling fan in the bathroom would be great for the summers.

The staff is helpful & available at all hours as the access road is slightly confusing. Even the google map doesn't take you to the right location!

We requested veg Indian breakfast for us & the aalu paranthas provided were very tasty. Thank you for that! Hot milk/bed tea etc. can be ordered separately, it is better to inform the previous night.

Overall a great stay!

Room Tip: Please talk to the owner & convey your requirements. He can help you best for room selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghori90, Owner at Colonel's Retreat At The Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear well traveled guest,

thank you for your nice review. It is best to follow our directions and you can never get lost. The most important landmark is the Sector 23 Police Station- its only 300 meters away. Just insist the driver finds this first. From then on its easy. Or call us - we can easily explain the driver - our no is 011-28050702.

Just remember - sometimes taxi drivers enjoy getting lost before they take you to your destination. Fix them by sternly asking for the Sector 23 Police Station- it works !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerala, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Good cooperation from staff, though a little far from city centre, calm and less noisy and a homely place.
Use GPS to find hotel as roads are a little confusing in Dwarka.
Manager Mr. Victor was very helpful with info and arranging transport for visiting places in Delhi.
Worth visiting again due to helpful staff. Rooms were basic but clean and good. air cond was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro, Portugal
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

WOW, what a difference a place makes. Our arrival here could not have been more friendly and hospitable. It is a modern purpose built hotel in a quiet suburb less than 1KM as the crow flies from the airport, but it does take about 20 minutes to reach by taxi because one has to circumnavigate the whole airport before arriving. Every mod con has been provided and we were asked if we wanted to dine in the Colonel’s Retreat or go to a local restaurant down the road. We opted for the Colonel’s Retreat and the chef went out to buy the fresh ingredients for our family style evening meal – which turned out to be one of the best on our tour. We were shown to our room on the 2nd floor – yes, via a lift, our first in almost two weeks (luxury) – which was large, light, spacious and airy, the air con to perfection and silent, with tea making facilities, TV with English speaking as well as Indian and fast free wi-fi connection. The bed was large, firm and comfortable. The bathroom had a wonderful granite textured wall surface AND a bath with shower and modern facilities, including a hairdryer. It really did appear that somebody had put a lot of time,thought and effort into producing what a visitor requires, a comfortable bed, a good shower, wi-fi and a good breakfast. After that, life in a hotel is a bonus. The owners were asked to organise the taxi by our tour operator from the airport and again to take us back to the airport for an early morning flight which they did cheerfully, and advised us to have breakfast at 6.00a.m. which would leave plenty of time. We can highly recommend The Colonel’s Retreat for arrivals, departures to Delhi Airport, especially useful if arriving after long flights or departing early morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghori90, Owner at Colonel's Retreat At The Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest,

all i need to do is to copy and paste your entire review on our website and our hotel will sell itself.
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to painstakingly write every detail - i could not thank you more.

We do pride ourselves in being a simple , clean place at an honest price. No more and no less.

Thank you again for making us feel so wonderful
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This place is tucked away in a residential area on opposite side of airport access and could be difficult to find even for some taxi drivers. However if one phones the manager Victor, he will arrange pickup from the airport ( about Rs5-600 ) or even cheaper ( Rs ~ 100 ) from Dwarka 21 Metro station which is close by. This station is very close to the airport and is the best transport solution.

Victor and the boys who staff 'The Colonel's Retreat at the Airport' are great. They make terrific, cheap, wholesome food. The room was modern, clean and with good ensuite. I would definitely use them again. We had to leave at 3.30 a.m to get a flight to Egypt. Staff laid on taxi etc. No problem!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonel's Retreat At The Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonel's Retreat At The Airport

Address: 27-B Sector 23 A,Near Sector 23 Police Station | Dwarka, New Delhi 110074, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 919 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonel's Retreat At The Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just picture it. 15 minutes after leaving Terminal 3 of the Delhi Airport you'll be in your clean and comfortable Hotel Room .With a free pickup and drop to the Metro Station - which is only a 2 minute metro ride from Terminal 3 of the Delhi Airport , you could not get a more convenient location and a better price.Whether you are in Transit, or visiting Delhi for Work or Sightseeing, Colonels Retreat is ideally located and a great value.Just remember the directions- 1 km from Dwarka Sector 21 Metro Station, 300 meters from Dwarka Sector 23 Police Station, 100 meters from Syndicate Bank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Colonel's Retreat At The Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonel's Retreat At The Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.