We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money ..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonel's Retreat At The Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colonel's Retreat At The Airport to your Saves list
Colonel's Retreat At The Airport
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   27-B Sector 23 A,Near Sector 23 Police Station | Dwarka, New Delhi 110074, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 921 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hyderabad
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Value for Money ..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is the property you should select in Dwaraka in New Delhi ..
If you are staying in Dwaraka this gives you an excellent Home feel atmosphere with spacious rooms and spacious bathrooms with standards to that of any 3 Star property.
You can get good homely food cooked and there is shopping area nearby which you can walk around and buy eatery and all stuff...
I will always stay and recommend to stay in this place if you have to stay in Dwaraka..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    23
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
37
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here in November 2012 and would be delighted to stay here again. The reception area is lacklustre, but where it counts, this place gave us excellent value for our money: great food, nice bathroom and bedroom, friendly host. We saw a ping pong table in the bottom floor / reception area and were thrilled to find out that guests could use it. We played for at least half an hour. Perfect for getting some oxygen back into our systems after a long plane ride.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Alright stay, rooms are quite cold. Average clean.. We found quite alot of "body hair" in our bed, but compared to what we have seen then it's alright.
They take high commession for ordering you a taxi. The area seems very unsafe for tourists...
Breakfast was below average...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
664 helpful votes 664 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

While going to Shrinagar on 31st September , 2012 my wife and myself were compelled to stay overnight at New elhi due to cancellation of our Jet Airways flight from Vadodara to Delhi and we were rerouted via Mumbai. I had to hurriedly scout for the nearby hotel to the Airport and I chanced upon Colonel's Retreat at the Airport in Sector 23 A , Dwarka .

Our flight to New Delhi was rerouted twice on 30th September , and hence I had to request Mr Victor , Manager twice asking him to provide us a pick up car at the Airport , which he readily did. Though the property is near the Airport as a crow flies , it takes about half an hour by car to reach the destination .

We were highly impressed by the elegant common loungeto which allthe equally impressive rooms open. We never imagined such luxurious tastefully decorated rooms with attached bath, colour T V , free wifi , electronic safe , will be available so cheap. In addition we could savour tasty dinner and healthy breakfast.

Victor was kind enough for arranging our drop at the Airport on31st morning.

The entire crew of the property deserve whole hearted praise for making our overnight stay really comfortabl and enjoyable.

We highly recommend this property. Even though one has to pay for taxi , overall the stay is very cheap .

Dr Dilip Shete

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guayaquil
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I chose this hotel because of its so called proximity to the airport as I had to be there for a 5am checkin. Like other reviewers there was confusion about taxis. Although I had written to confirm arrival on 2 occasions in the week preceding my stay I received no reply to my question about taxi cost and there was no taxi waiting. I took a prepaid taxi and was horrified to see that it was the same cost as when I had taken a taxi from Central Delhi to the airport a couple of weeks previously and took almost the same amount of time. It takes ages to get into the city if you want to do this. I complained about the misleading information and like with other reviewers it was explained that the 2km is from the (non-working) Metro, not the airport itself! Victor and the staff were charming and helpful all the way through and the room was spotless and comfortable but the hassle about pickups etc put a damper on my stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghori90, Owner at Colonel's Retreat At The Airport, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
We are about 1 km from the Western boundary wall of the Airport . On the Airport Metro , restarting soon, we are only 2 minutes away. However by road we are about 15 minutes away. It costs $8 to reach us and $ 13 to get dropped from our place. On the Metro however it will cost less than $1.

We are ideal for an early morning or late night departure because it takes less than 15 minutes to reach the International Terminal at any time of the day or night. Whilst it would take atl east 45-60 minutes from anywhere in Central Delhi.

We are normally very prompt on Taxi requests . I cant fathom why your requests did not reach us.

I am glad you found our hotel clean and pleasant- i hope you give us another chance to make a favorable impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel is really a collection of several service apartments that the owner is in the process of being converted to a B&B. We stayed in Room 201 for 6-7 hours in December on our way back home after a month long tour of India and had an excellent experience.

Pro:
+ clean rooms
+ excellent living space for every 2/3 rooms
+ high-speed internet (keep it that way)
+ clean living space
+ quiet location
+ close to a shopping center

Cons:
+ hard to find (get a sign board, perhaps near the syndicate bank also)
+ it may be good to mention that it is near Vardhman Mall in the address
+ some parts of the bathroom in 201 looked like it was being updated
+ unwelcoming lobby (it may be good to invest a bit in the lobby)
+ etc...etc.. you could contact for more suggestions.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a family, call ahead to have them assign rooms on a single floor for your gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
münchen
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

As already mentioned in some other reviews, this place is not at all close to the airport. we chose this hotel because we had to go to the airport early in the morning the next day. they charged us 500 rupees for the taxi and it took over 30 minutes to get there. this is absolutely ridiculous: you get charged less (300 rupees) and need almost the same amount of time if you start from any hotel in new delhi, where you can find a bunch of better quality hotels for the same price. also they had no hot water and only looked at me confused when I asked about it. breakfast was ok.
very very misleading!! wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghori90, Owner at Colonel's Retreat At The Airport, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We are 2 minutes from Terminal 3 by Airport Metro and about 15 minutes by Car since it has to go around the 6 km long runway.

From the Airport a cab should cost Rs 350 (prepaid taxi). From our place back to the airport is Rs 500 because we have to pay for it both ways.

I am sorry your hot water was not right, we normally have lots of hot water at high pressure and bath tubs too. Again sorry about that.

We are a clean place with European bathrooms at a price below $ 50. And really only 15 minutes from the Airport. The city is about an hour away at most times and if you have a quick transit i think we are ideal. I hope you give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonel's Retreat At The Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonel's Retreat At The Airport

Address: 27-B Sector 23 A,Near Sector 23 Police Station | Dwarka, New Delhi 110074, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 921 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonel's Retreat At The Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just picture it. 15 minutes after leaving Terminal 3 of the Delhi Airport you'll be in your clean and comfortable Hotel Room .With a free pickup and drop to the Metro Station - which is only a 2 minute metro ride from Terminal 3 of the Delhi Airport , you could not get a more convenient location and a better price.Whether you are in Transit, or visiting Delhi for Work or Sightseeing, Colonels Retreat is ideally located and a great value.Just remember the directions- 1 km from Dwarka Sector 21 Metro Station, 300 meters from Dwarka Sector 23 Police Station, 100 meters from Syndicate Bank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Colonel's Retreat At The Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonel's Retreat At The Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.