We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling of a luxury hotel in a budget hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ginger East Delhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ginger East Delhi to your Saves list
Ginger East Delhi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   DDA Community Center (Technopark) | Vivek Vihar, New Delhi 110095, India (Minto Road)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #289 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Guwahati, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Feeling of a luxury hotel in a budget hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This Ginger hotel is located in Vivek Vihar adjacent to Yamuna Sports Complex. Distance of IG Airport is about 25 kms while New Delhi Railway station is about 10 kms away. The check-in was fast. The room is spacious with all necessary facilities like Mini-fridge, LCD TV, Telephone, Smart key etc. The hotel is also equipped with a Meeting Room and a Gymnesium.
Self controlled AC, Tea & Coffe maker. The Room as well as the Bathroom were spotlessly clean. The electrical and bathroom fittings and amenities are of high quality. There is a very good quality restauran at the eighth floor. If you take a seat near the large window, you get a good panoramic view of the city. The Tariff is very reasonable, around 2500 INR. I booked the hotel online through website of the hotel (www.gingerhotels.com). You get value for money if you stay at this hotel. There is a 24 hr. Taxi service (Jhilmil Taxi Service) adjacent to the hotel from where I booked a Taxi for the Airport at 500 INR. The hotel Travel desk will charge you a bit higher. The hotel is suited for family stay as well as for business purpose. I had a nice and comfortable stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    13
    5
    9
See reviews for
9
8
6
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This place is as one of the review says in the middle of nowhere and slightly difficult to locate. Take a meru from the railway station or try to figure out anand vihar metro to reach here. Through out the night there was a lot of noise in the corridor from perhaps the other occupants and there was little sound proofing. For winters there was no heating facility and it got quite bad during the night. Lastly the housekeeping opened the room twice despite putting the do not disturb sign on so not very sure of the security part either. room itself is good value only if it had heating would be meeting the infrastructure requirement,

Room Tip: try taking a room away from the lift to reduce your nearness to the lift commotion
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We booked a room at this hotel by a mistake because the Ginger websites were not very good. We meant to book a room at the Ginger hotel downtown by the train station, but partly because of little knowledge about Delhi districts and partly because of sloppy website we booked a room at this place.

The room was prepaid and there were no refunds even when we called in to explain the mishap. The prepayment did not include some taxes which we found misguiding of the cost of the room. This was frustrating as we had to use a foreign credit card twice for the one stay AND that we assesed the room rate at their website. We would easily stayed at a different hotel if the website stated the total cost.

The room rate also did not include breakfast at the mediocre buffet restaurant.

The hotel is placed right next to a busy road and even though we had a room in the fifth floor the traffic noise woke us up at 6 in the morning.

We arranged a drop off to the airport with the hotel, this resulted in a confirmation call to the room one hour later. This would not be a problem if it was not during the night and it woke us resulting in a very short night for us.

On the positive side the room was clean and the TV, shower and AC worked. No view though as the lift style curtain in the room did not work.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We had a horrible experience in this hotel. We had stayed in ginger panaji, goa and had a good time...
i booked this hotel based on my previous experience...
First of all, this hotel is middle of nowhere for any tourists... we booked this as it is close to my relatives house.
We were given a okay room first and after one night, they asked us to move to another room... which was room no 508 giving the excuse of maintenance in previous room... we accommodated as per request..
But this room 508 was too dirty... bathroom had foul smell of urine... bed sheets were dirty...
we complained to staff and asked them to clean the room or send us back to our original room..
We went out and came back after 6-7 hours and found the same dirty room... they have never cleaned it.. horrible service...
In the end, they charged us hidden taxes which was more than 1000 rs... front desk guys were rude... Breakfast was good...
Totally avoidable at any cost specially room no 508...

Room Tip: Avoid room no 508
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I stayed at Ginger East for a night. Room was clean and the room service was good. But there were not many items on the menu. Hot water was not available in the shower in the evening though the staff kept maintaining that there was hot water supply round the clock.I feel that the room is overpriced given the location, ambience and facilities. Choose to stay if you want a decent accomodation for a day or two. I would not recommend it if you plan to stay for long duration.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Come Tata Group what is this!! I stayed at the Ginger Hotel in Pondicherry (Chennai) a couple years ago and was amazed at the high standard and quality of the hotel - i thought that this is true Tata - changing the hotel game, cheap rooms but high quality and cleanliness...got to Delhi and had the opposite experience. Very disappointed and has made me question staying at any Ginger Hotels when I visit India?? Come on Tata Group why have you set up an amazing Hotel concept and let standards slipped.

I also recommended this the Ginger (Delhi) based on my great experience of staying at the Pondicherry hotel to family, I was so embarrassed when we got there!!!

The Pondicherry Ginger Hotel is fantastic though...they just need to keep the standards consistent across Ginger Hotels in India and people will know what to expect - people should get the same fantastic experience across the chain!! Come on Tata Group you should know better!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Checked in for a day and found the place to be decent. Looked a bit out of place from the outside and can be difficult to find but much better maintained from the inside. Cafe Coffee Day is coming up on the ground floor lobby so lot of construction noise. Check in was smooth and rooms were a bit spacious and well maintained compared to other Ginger near New Delhi Railway Station. Ginger advertises self check in kiosk at almost all of their locations on the site but none of the locations have them. I have always ended up checking in through the front desk. They provide in room dining however it was expensive so did you not give it a try.

Nearest metro station is Kakarduma which is still around 15 minutes away if you travel by Auto Rickshaw. Auto Rickshawas are available outside the hotel itself and around INR 30/- or so should get you to metro station. Saw a mall on my way to the Metro station which has McDonald's. Should take you around 20 minutes if you walk it out.

Check out was smooth too. Overall, it was a decent stay and although a bit on the expensive side, still worth it. It's kind of far away from the main city center (CP etc.) but there's always Metro.

Room Tip: Select their day usage rate if you're not planning on spending the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ginger East Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger East Delhi

Address: DDA Community Center (Technopark) | Vivek Vihar, New Delhi 110095, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Minto Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger East Delhi 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ginger East Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginger East Delhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.